- Medical Program
56 g Can possess more further from dispensaries
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Only medical cannabis is legal in Utah. Non-medical use is prohibited.
House Bill 105 (HB 105) was signed by Governor Gary Herbert, legalizing possession and use of low-THC CBD oil by registered patients with a physician’s recommendation and intractable epilepsy. The bill included no provision for patients to legally acquire the oil, however.
In February 2018, the Utah House of Representatives passed HB 195, a bill to legalize the “right to try” and grow medical marijuana plants for terminally ill patients.
Provisions must be set by the state for dispensaries to open by January 2021.
All patients must hold a valid medical cannabis card in order to legally purchase and possess medical cannabis products.
Adult-use, or recreational, cannabis is not legal in Utah. Although many in Utah favor federal legalization, there are still stringent laws against its use in the state.
The Utah law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
With Leafwell, you can renew your Utah Medical Cannabis Card with Leafwell simply and easily, by following these 3 steps:
You must be at least 21 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Cannabis Card in Utah (renewals only at this moment in time for online applications). 18 – 20 year-olds may qualify if the Compassionate Use Board recommends approval (e.g. terminal or chronic illnesses). Those aged under 21 will need a caregiver. Caregivers must be 21 years of age and complete a criminal background check.
There are no laws specifying whether or not a child can legally use medical cannabis when at school. Current laws prohibit possession or use of cannabis anywhere near a school or school property.
Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.
Yes, telemedicine is legal in Utah but only for renewals for existing medical cannabis patients.
It is illegal to grow cannabis in Utah.
Utah has medical marijuana reciprocity, and so recognizes medical marijuana cards issued by other state MMJ programs.
A Utah medical cannabis card is recognized by other states with a medical marijuana program and reciprocity.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is fine) – just that you are protected by the state’s medical marijuana laws to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and you intend on purchasing medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also beholden to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing a visiting patient application to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
Utah’s legislature clarified that anyone with an MMJ license — including medical doctors and school teachers — will be allowed to use medical cannabis without fear of losing their jobs. However, if use affects performance or the safety of others, then employers may still seek action. Similarly, employers may prohibit use at work.
Utah tests its cannabis products extensively, and lab testing for mold, mildew, pesticides, solvents, mycotoxins & microbials, heavy metals and other pollutants, and cannabinoid content is all a requirement.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy, or another legally designated space to purchase cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can actually do so.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals or any other such healthcare space is also illegal. Private members club and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense and generally keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.