Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!
Register online with Leafwell
Create a profile and book an appointment with a Vermont-licensed medical marijuana physician.
Establish Relationship With a Qualifying Physician
Attend your appointment, bringing relevant ID and medical records/clinic notes with you. This is your initial consultation and will give you the chance to speak to your qualifying MMJ doctor. Once approved, the qualifying physician will upload your details to the state – you will need to fill out a separate application form to get your medical cannabis card. Please note: except in certain circumstances, you will need to have a minimum 3-month relationship with the healthcare professional you are seeing for medical cannabis.
Apply for a Card with the State of Vermont
Get qualified for medical cannabis by applying online to the Vermont Cannabis Control Board (CCB). You will also need to designate a dispensary and state whether or not you intend to cultivate cannabis. The same application form allows you to designate a caregiver as well. Vermont’s Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) will process complete applications within 30 days of receipt. Once you have your card, you can legally purchase from a dispensary.
Trusted by 200k patients
Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.
Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!
Fast, easy application process.
Benefits of Getting a Vermont Medical Card
Getting certified for medical cannabis in Vermont brings with it several benefits.
- Recreational users are also expected to pay 20% tax on their purchases, so medical marijuana patients have lower taxes.
- Lower legal age of consumption – 18 rather than 21.
- THC restrictions apply to recreational cannabis – this is not the case for medical marijuana patients.
- Higher possession limit – 2 oz. compared to 1 oz. for recreational adult use.
About Medical Marijuana in Vermont
Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana laws and legislation in Vermont:
2004 – Governor James Douglas passes the "Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness," alongside Senate Bill 76 (SB 76) and House Bill 645 (HB 645). This removed state-level penalties on the use and possession of marijuana for those with debilitating conditions.
2011 – SB 17 is passed, providing a framework for registering up to 4 medical marijuana dispensaries for the state of Vermont. This is known as "An Act Relating To Registering Four Nonprofit Organizations To Dispense Marijuana For Symptom Relief."
2013 – Two medical marijuana dispensaries open.
In 2015, Senate Bill 95 and House bill 277 were submitted, proposing regulated recreational cannabis sales; however, neither bill passed during the 2015 legislative session.
2017 – 2018 – In May 2017, the Vermont House approved a bill to allow personal possession, use, and cultivation of cannabis but not commercial sales.
Information for caregivers
- Caregivers must be aged 21 or over in the state of Vermont.
- The caregiver will need to fill out their personal information (name, address, social security number, etc.) and will also need to provide a digital photograph and valid ID as part of their application to the state.
- Caregivers must pay $50 to register, which is additional to the patient fee.
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Nausea & Vomiting
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
Possession and Growing
As an MMJ cardholder in Vermont, you are permitted to possess 2 oz. on your person, and no more than the yield of two (2) mature plants in your home.
In addition, there are also these possession limits:
- 5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
- Medical cannabis patients are permitted to grow cannabis. The "Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness" legally allows registered patients and registered caregivers to collectively cultivate no more than two (2) mature plants and four (4) immature plants.
Recreational cannabis is legal in Vermont. Non-medical cannabis users may possess up to one ounce of cannabis flower, 5 grams of concentrate, and grow up to two plants. Those growing their own may not possess more than the yield of two plants in their own home.
Their details (name, address, DOB, email, etc.)
A digital photograph.
Proof of ID and address.
$50 Application fee, payable to the state.
Vermont does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards, recommendations, or physician’s certifications at this time.
However, others states with reciprocity may recognize a valid Vermont MMJ ID card.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Georgia (Low-THC only)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- US Virgin Islands
- Washington, D.C.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card Online Step By Step
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor?
Frequently asked questions in Vermont
- Crohn’s Disease
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), provided the Department confirms the applicant is undergoing psychotherapy or counseling with a licensed mental health care provider
- A disease or medical condition or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome, chronic pain, severe nausea, or seizures (such as those characteristic of epilepsy).
- Register with Leafwell and speak with a Vermont licensed physician – this is to set up a bona-fide relationship with your qualifying medical marijuana doctor or other healthcare professional
- Return after 90 days for a follow up appointment
- Get approved and download your Health Care Professional Verification immediately
- Submit your application to the state online and receive your card in 30 days
- A patient has been diagnosed with a terminal illness, cancer, or AIDS.
- A patient is currently under hospice care.
- A patient was diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a while living outside of Vermont, and the diagnosis has been confirmed by the health care professional completing the Health Care Professional Verification Form.The new health care professional must complete a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, including a personal physical examination.
- A registered patient who is renewing his or her ID card switches medical providers three months or less before their renewal date.The new health care professional must complete a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, including a personal physical examination.
- A patient is referred by his or her health care professional to a specialist, and the specialist conducts a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, including a personal physical examination.
- A patient’s debilitating medical condition is of recent or sudden onset.
- Click on the Registered Caregiver Application form on this page –https://medicalmarijuana.vermont.gov/applications-and-forms
- Complete the form and send it to the state by mail
- Pay the $50 for the caregiver application
- Apply online here: https://medicalmarijuana.vermont.gov/online-services
- Download your Health Care Professional Verification Form – this will be emailed to you after your second appointment with Leafwell. Please check all information is correct before submitting it to the state.
- Complete all parts of the application form
- Pay the $50 application fee
- Upload a photo which will be used for your card
- If required, complete the caregiver application too – this can be found on the same page as the patient form
- The state will process complete applications within 30 days and mail you your card.
How much does a Vermont Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
Medical marijuana certificate letter on its own = $199 at Leafwell
Vermont application fee = $50
Renewal fee = $199
Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont?
In Vermont, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Vermont online?
There are four simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Vermont:
Vermont’s medical marijuana program is run by the Cannabis Control Board (CCB). You can submit your application online or via a print form. Application forms and the patient portal login page can be found here.
The three-month relationship requirement doesn’t apply if:
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont?
You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont. Caregivers must also be 18 years of age.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Vermont?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Vermont can have a caregiver. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:
How do I apply for the state program in Vermont?
Once you’ve been approved by a Leafwell physician, here’s what you need to do: