Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

You’re applying for

Connecticut

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 200k patients

Apply now


How to get a medical card in Connecticut.

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    Book a medical marijuana consultation and undergo an evaluation with a CT-licensed physician. It’s quick and easy! Plus all of your data and medical records are secure on our state-of-the-art telemedicine platform.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor

    You can speak about medical cannabis in relation to your healthcare needs.

    This consultation fee is $199 for an examination, subject to change.

  3. 3

    Receive Your Certificate From Leafwell and Complete Your Application

    In order to complete the application, you’ll need to create a DAS Business Network Account to access the online certification system. See the Connecticut Patient Registration Process reference card here.

    The application fee, payable to the state, is $100. The application fee and the physician’s fee (mentioned above) are separate. There is an additional $25 fee for caregivers.

  4. 4

    Get your Card with the State of Connecticut

    Once approved, a temporary certificate will be emailed to you by the state. Temporary certificates are valid for up to 60 days.

    A physical copy of your card is usually sent to the address given on your application form in between 7 and 31 days, depending on the backlog.

Trusted by 200k patients

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Benefits of Getting a Connecticut Medical Card

There are several advantages to having a medical marijuana card in Connecticut. These include:

  • Lower taxes
  • Lower legal consumption age
  • Potentially greater possession limits, depending upon doctor’s recommendations
  • Medical patients get priority in terms of products (i.e. they get first selection of a greater choice of products)
  • Only medical marijuana card and certificate holders can legally grow cannabis plants in Connecticut

About Medical Marijuana in Connecticut

Governor Malloy signed into law a medical marijuana program for his state in 2012, following a 21–13 vote in the Senate.

There is little if any difference in medical cannabis laws between different Connecticut jurisdictions. Whether you live in Bridgeport, Stamford, New Haven, Hartford, Willimantic, Bethel or elsewhere in Connecticut, you can take advantage of Leafwell’s telemedicine platform to obtain your MMJ certificate.


How to qualify

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut you must be a legal resident of Connecticut State.

Patients must be aged 18 or over in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card in Connecticut, or have a caregiver who can access cannabis if the patient is a minor or adult who cannot buy/grow for themselves.

Those who are prison inmates or under the supervision of the Connecticut Department of Corrections are not eligible for a CT medical marijuana card, regardless of their medical condition.

  1. Information for caregivers
    • Connecticut medical marijuana caregivers must be aged 21 or over.
    • Minor patients must meet or have telemedicine appointments with two physicians: one, the patient’s primary doctor and the other, a board-certified specialist in the field of treatment for the patient’s qualifying condition.
    • One of these physicians will submit a certification to the DCP, while the other must provide the parent or guardian caregiver with a letter confirming medical cannabis use being in the patient’s best interest.

Medical Conditions

In Connecticut, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana recommendation:

For patients under the age of 18 years, the following conditions will effectively qualify:

Cerebral Palsy
Cystic Fibrosis
Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
Muscular Dystrophy
Osteogenesis Imperfecta
Severe Epilepsy
Terminal Illness Requiring End-of-Life Care
Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder

Possession and Growing

The law in Connecticut permits the carrier of an MMJ to possess, transport and consume 1 month’s supply of cannabis.

This is extremely ambiguous at first glance and could be different for every card holder. Therefore, the amount is to be determined by physician’s recommendations from your initial appointment and according to your condition. The maximum allowable monthly amount is 2.5 ounces unless your physician indicates a lesser amount is appropriate.

Registered patients may purchase flowers, edibles, concentrates, topicals, and tinctures, as well as consumption accessories from licensed dispensary facilities. Registered patients may consume flowers, edibles, concentrates, topicals, and tinctures, as well as possess and use consumption accessories. State law prohibits the manufacturing of edibles.

Note that when you apply for your card, you will be asked to designate a licensed dispensary in your local area. There are dispensaries located across the state.

As of October, 2021, it is legal for medical marijuana patients to grow their own cannabis. Individuals are allowed to grow up to 3 mature and 3 immature cannabis plants in their own home, with a maximum of 12 plants per household (the equivalent for 2 medical marijuana patients).


Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Connecticut can have a caregiver.

Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under the age of 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.

The caregiver must be at least 18 years old and cannot be the patient’s physician, or be convicted of a controlled substance violation. Caregivers can only be responsible for one patient at a time unless there is a parent, guardian, or sibling relationship with each patient.

  1. 01

    Create an account and register with the Connecticut medical marijuana program here.

  2. 02

    Login using the email address and password you gave during registration. Select the "I am a Caregiver" option. Give your date of birth and email address

  3. 03

    Upload proof of identity. If you do not have proof of ID, you may upload a photograph. You will also need proof of residency, and be listed as a Caregiver on the patient’s initial application

  4. 04

    Pay the $25 fee for your application fee and card. The card expires 1 year from the patient physician’s certification date

Reciprocity

Connecticut does not have medical marijuana reciprocity, and does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards.

Some other states with a medical marijuana program recognize Connecticut medical marijuana cards (i.e. they have reciprocity).

The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:

  • Arizona
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Washington, D.C.

However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is fine) – just that you are protected by the state’s medical marijuana laws to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and you intend on purchasing medical marijuana.

Connecticut Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts

Frequently asked questions in Connecticut

    How much does a Connecticut Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

    Medical marijuana certificate on its own = $199 at Leafwell

    State application fee = $100.

    $25 for caregivers.

    Renewal fee = $199

    Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

    What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut?

    In Connecticut, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

    • AIDS/HIV
    • Alzheimer’s Disease
    • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
    • Autism
    • Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy – inc. minors
    • Chronic Debilitating Migraine
    • Chronic Neuropathic Pain Associated with Degenerative Spinal Disorders
    • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), Type 1 and Type II
    • Crohn’s Disease
    • Cystic Fibrosis (CF) – inc. minors
    • Epilepsy – inc. minors
    • Glaucoma
    • Hydrocephalus with Intractable Headache
    • Intractable Headache Syndromes
    • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity – inc. minors
    • Muscular Dystrophy (MD) – inc. minors
    • Neuropathic Facial Pain
    • Osteogenesis Imperfecta – inc. minors
    • Parkinson’s Disease
    • Post-Herpetic Neuralgia
    • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
    • Rheumatoid Arthritis – Severe
    • Spasticity or Neuropathic Pain Associated with Fibromyalgia
    • Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder – inc. minors
    • Terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care – inc. minors
    What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Connecticut online?

    There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Connecticut to obtain your medical marijuana card:

    1. Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choosing a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (Leafwell is required by law to verify your identity). You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
    2. Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit). (You will receive a text message to your cell phone when the provider is ready to see you.) During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.
    3. If you are approved for a medical marijuana card, the provider will submit your details to the state website. After that, you can then complete the patient side of the application and pay for your card.
    How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut?

    You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut. Caregivers must also be 18 years of age.

    Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Connecticut?

    Yes, medical marijuana patients in Connecticut can have a caregiver.

    To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

    1. Patient or physician must identify Caregiver on their initial application form.
    2. The caregiver must create an account with the DAS Business Network to access the online certification system. Use the following link to register for an account: https://www.biznet.ct.gov/dcp-mmrp.
    3. Caregiver must provide a passport-sized photograph or valid ID, proof of address, valid email address, telephone number and undergo a criminal background check. If mailing documents, please send to:
      Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
      Medical Marijuana Program
      165 Capitol Ave,
      MS# 88MMP
      Hartford, CT 06106-1630
    4. Certifications: Caregivers must read and affirm each statement on the webpage by selecting "Yes".
    5. The caregiver application fee is $25.00. If mailing in the fee, please make check or money order payable to: Treasurer, State of CT.
    6. See here for more: https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DCP/drug_control/MMP/pdf/PatientReferenceCardHiRespdf.pdf

    To be qualified as a patient’s primary caregiver, you must:

    • Be 18 years old or older;
    • Agree to undertake responsibility for managing the well-being of the qualifying patient with respect to the palliative use of marijuana;
    • Have not been convicted of a violation of any law pertaining to the illegal manufacture, sale or distribution of a controlled substance; and
    • Not be the qualifying patient’s physician. In addition, if the qualifying patient lacks legal capacity, you must be the patient’s parent, guardian or other person having legal custody of the patient.
    How do I apply for the state program in Connecticut?

    Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:

    • One of the following forms of identity documentation
      • Proof of Identity
      • Proof of Residency
      • Photo ID
    • Leafwell Physician Certification
    • $100 debit or credit card payment (American Express not accepted)

    Getting Your Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card

    1. Create an account with the DAS Business Network to access the online certification system. Use the following link to register for a free account: https://www.biznet.ct.gov/dcp-mmrp
    2. After completing this one-time registration process, you will receive an email to verify your account. Click on the link in the email to verify.
    3. Log in using the e-mail address and password you established during step 1. Once in, follow these steps:
      1. Select the "I am a Patient" option and the system will prompt you to provide identifying information:
        1. Date of Birth
        2. E-mail Address
      2. Review the information provided on the Patient Information webpage to ensure your information is correct.
      3. Enter the caregiver information at this time if applicable to you
    4. Select and either mail or upload one (1) of the following:
      1. Proof of Identity
      2. Proof of Residency
      3. Photo
    5. You must read and affirm each statement by selecting "Yes".
    6. Pay fees:
      1. $100 for patients, $25 for caregivers
    7. There is no mailed physical card.  The state emails a certification within 30 days that will need to be printed, as it contains a cut-out card that can be used to shop.
      1. Tip: The state email is generated from: dcp.mmp@ct.gov.  If you are having difficulty locating the email, check your SPAM and try searching for “DCP”.   
    8. Once you have your registry ID card, you can purchase products from a licensed medical cannabis pharmacy. To purchase, you’ll need your medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo ID.

    Please note: In addition to Leafwell, dispensing locations can assist with the state-side of the application process.

    Click here for more information