Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!
Register online with the state
Once complete, you will receive a patient number.
Register Online with Leafwell and Discuss Medical Marijuana with Your Doctor
Book an appointment with a certified, Maryland licensed physician. The consultation fee is $149 for an examination.
Get Approved and Receive Your Certificate From Leafwell
Once approved, our physician will submit the certificate to the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission website using your patient number if you are approved. You must have your patient number before meeting with a physician.
Get a Maryland MMCC ID Card with the State of Maryland
Get approved and receive your Maryland MMCC ID Card in minutes.
The state will email an e-version as soon as approved (this takes approximately three weeks). Please note that Leafwell will not be emailing or mailing you a certificate.
As soon as you’ve received your MMCC ID Card, you can show it at any Maryland licensed dispensary. You can use the e-copy while waiting for the physical version to arrive, and the Maryland government will get the physical card to you within a month.
Trusted by 300k+ patients
Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.
Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!
Fast, easy application process.
Benefits of Getting a Maryland Medical Card
A valid medical cannabis certificate and medical marijuana card are the only way to consume cannabis legally in Maryland. Voters approved adult use of cannabis in the state during the November 2022 election, but the new laws won’t take effect until July 1, 2023.
About Medical Marijuana in Maryland
During the COVID-19 pandemic, undergoing a medical marijuana consultation online with a Maryland-qualified physician became legal in MD. Now you can qualify for a medical marijuana card in Maryland online.
As recreational marijuana is illegal in Maryland, the only way to use cannabis legally is to apply for a Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) Identity Card. Unlike many other states, you must first register online before speaking to a physician to start your application process in Maryland.
Information for caregivers
Caregivers must be 21 and apply on behalf of a minor patient, and minors must also have a pediatric subspecialist.
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Eating Disorders (e.g. Anorexia, Bulimia, Obesity)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Muscle Spasms
- Nausea & Vomiting
Possession and Growing
Qualifying Maryland medical marijuana patients can possess the following amounts of cannabis:
- Possession Limit (Flowers): Up to 120 grams over 30 days, although a physician may recommend more if necessary.
- Possession Limit (Concentrates): Up to 36 grams of THC extract per month. Edibles are not sold in Maryland dispensaries.
Maryland medical marijuana patients cannot legally grow cannabis, even if they have a medical cannabis card.
Complete and submit an online application.
Verify your email address.
You’ll receive a verification to the email address you provided on your application as soon as you have completed and submitted an online application form. You must click the verification link in the email message to verify your email account. Without performing this step, your application is incomplete and will not be reviewed by the Commission.
MMCC will review completed applications.
You will receive a follow-up email advising whether or not your application has been approved. Please retain the approval email for your records. It contains your Username, which you will need to log in to the Caregiver Registry, as well as your MMCC Caregiver ID Number.
Designate a registered patient.
Once your application has been approved, the patient must log in to their account and designate you as a caregiver in the Patient Registry. Please see the Designating an Adult Patient section on the Caregivers page for detailed instructions on designating a patient.
Purchase an ID card.
Once you have registered and received MMCC approval, designated (or have been designated a Caregiver by) a registered Patient, and at least one of your designated Patients has received a valid certification from a physician registered with MMCC, you are ready to purchase an ID card.
ID cards are required, so you must have one before purchasing medical cannabis from a licensed Maryland dispensary for any of your designated patients. You can log into your Caregiver Registry account to purchase an ID card for $25; the fee for replacement cards is $50.
Maryland does not currently recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards. However, out-of-state people who feel they would qualify for a Maryland medical marijuana certificate may apply for a medical cannabis card.
Some states accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards. This is called reciprocity. The following states accept out-of-state medical cannabis cards:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Hawaii *
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- Washington ^
- Washington D.C.
*Requires visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.
^Has an adult-use program but does not accept out-of-state cards.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently asked questions in Maryland
How much does a Maryland Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
Medical marijuana certificate on its own = $149 at Leafwell
State application fee = $25
Renewal fee = $149
Lost card fee = $25
Plus, now you can sign up with a friend, and both of you will save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland?
In Maryland, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Chronic Pain
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Persistent Muscle Spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe, Chronic or Intractable Pain
- Severe Nausea
- Wasting Syndrome
- Severe conditions where other medical treatments have been ineffective
- A medical condition requiring hospice admittance or receiving palliative care
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Maryland online?
There are four simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Maryland to obtain your medical marijuana card online:
- Before you see a physician in Maryland, you need to obtain a patient number from the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. You’ll have to pay a $25 fee, but your registration is valid for six years.
- Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choose a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to upload some ID. You will need to provide your MMCC patient number. You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
- Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room, where you’ll be connected with a Leafwell provider for a video chat. During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.
- Suppose you are approved for medical marijuana certification. In that case, your physician will confirm your status with the MMCC, and you will receive an email with a temporary MMCC ID, followed by the physical card. These allow you to purchase products from medical marijuana dispensaries in Maryland.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland?
You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland. Caregivers must be 21 years of age.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Maryland?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Maryland can have a caregiver. Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age and are required to register with and purchase ID cards from the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. The caregiver’s valid MMCC Caregiver ID card must be presented at a dispensary in order to purchase medical cannabis.
To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:
- You must fill out the appropriate caregiver form – there is a different application form for adults and children needing a caregiver. The registration process for Maryland caregivers can be seen here.
- After both the caregiver and the patient are registered, the patient must login to their account and designate a caregiver. Minors can have up to two caregivers.
- Caregiver registration is completed entirely online. The online application form must be completed and submitted in one session; you will not be able to save and complete the application at a later time.
- Pay for the application and, if approved, you will receive your caregivers medical marijuana identification card.
How do I apply for the state program in Maryland?
Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:
- An email from the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission confirming that your certification has been accepted
- A debit or credit card
- US-issued government ID – such as a state-issued driver’s license, state-issued ID card, passport, or military ID.
- (2) Proof of address, if identification provided is NOT a Maryland driver’s license, MVA ID Card OR does not identify your current address – proof should be dated within 90 days
- MVA registration card or title, or change of address card
- Utility, telephone, or cable/satellite TV bill
- Bank account statement
- Property tax bill
- Mortgage statement or proof of home ownership (Deed, Title, Bill of Sale)
- Major credit card bill (Visa, MasterCard, Wal-Mart, Target, etc.)
- Residential rental contract (lease or rental contract between landlord and tenant which includes all signatures)
- Selective Service Card
- Federal, state, or local government mail issued by the state of Maryland (ie. Social Security, social services)
- Car insurance policy
- Paystubs (dated within 90 days)
- W-2 statements
- State of Maryland Health Insurance issued documents (ie. Medicaid, Medicare, Maryland Health Connection)
- An electronic, hi-res copy of a clear, recent photo of yourself – including your head and shoulders and against a plain, pale background
Getting Your Maryland Medical Marijuana Card
- Once you have been approved by Leafwell physician and provided with your Maryland patient number, our physician will submit your medical marijuana certification – you do not need to do anything – our physician will provide all supporting documentation on your behalf to the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC).
- MMCC will review your application and the certification provided by Leafwell. They will email you once you have been approved.
- Log back into your existing state account at https://onestop.md.gov/users/sign_in
- Within this account, you can print your temporary MMCC patient ID card. Your physical card, paid for when you first registered, will be mailed to you. Delivery times vary widely at this time. While the state claims to mail within 90 days, some patients wait up to eight months. Note: The State of Maryland charges $25 for your registration, valid for six years.
- You can purchase medical cannabis from a licensed Maryland dispensary using your temporary card, with ID, until the physical card arrives. The state charges $50 to replace your card if you lose it.
- When purchasing medical cannabis at a licensed dispensary, you must present either your permanent or temporary MMCC ID card. The dispensary agent will verify your certification in the Commission’s database before conducting any transaction.
- You may only purchase and obtain a maximum of a thirty-day supply of medical cannabis at one time.
Important note: A certification not used to purchase medical cannabis, at a licensed dispensary in the state of Maryland, within 120 days of issuance becomes null and void.