Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

You’re applying for

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to get a medical card in Montana.

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    It’s quick and easy! Plus all of your data and medical records are secure on our state-of-the-art telemedicine platform.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor

    Speak with a certified physician, licensed in Montana state. Leafwell has an experienced team ready to meet with you. This consultation fee is $149 for an examination. The process is quick, simple and HIPAA-compliant. Most appointments take 15 minutes or less.

  3. 3

    Receive Your Medical Cannabis Certificate Submit your Application to the State Website

    You will need to submit your doctor’s certificate and personal information and proof of identification to the Montana state website. During the application, you will need to state whether you plan to grow your own cannabis or shop at a dispensary – you cannot do both.

  4. 4

    Get Your Card and Buy Your Medicine

    You can print out a temporary access certificate and shop immediately at any Montana dispensary. A card will be mailed to you within 30 days from the Montana state program.

Trusted by 200k patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Benefits of Getting a Montana Medical Card

Here’s why you should get a Montana Medical Card:

  • Lower taxes – medical marijuana patients pay 4% tax, recreational cannabis enthusiasts 20%.
  • Access to a greater number of products and dispensaries.
  • Medical marijuana patients can legally purchase cannabis from the age of 18.
  • Greater legal protection and medical marijuana reciprocity with other states.

About Medical Marijuana in Montana

Montana legalised medical cannabis in its current form in 2016.

Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana in Montana:

  • 2004 – Voters approved Initiative 148, removing state-level criminal penalties for those with a medical marijuana card.
  • 2011 – SB 423 was passed and the application process changed somewhat. SB 423 meant patients required a Montana-specific driver license or state-issued state ID card, as well as a second recommendation by a physician when patients were using cannabis for chronic pain.
  • 2016 – Initiative 182 is approved, and some of the restrictions on medical marijuana in SB 423 and SB 143 are changed, reinstating the state’s original medical marijuana laws. This means that patients with a debilitating illness and physician’s recommendation are allowed to access marijuana for medicinal purposes.
  • 2020 – Voters approve the passage of complementary ballot initiatives I-90 and CI-118, which legalizes the use of recreational cannabis for those who are aged 21 or over. A person over the age of 21 is allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana or 8 grams of cannabis concentrate under the law. Up to 4 mature plants and 4 seedlings may be grown.

How to qualify

You must be aged 18 or over in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card for yourself.

  1. Information for caregivers

    Minors who need medical marijuana, or those who are over 18 but cannot access cannabis for themselves, need a Caregiver.

    Caregivers must be aged 21 or over and in Montana, are known as Designated Purchasers.


Medical Conditions

Here are the medical conditions which qualify for an MMJ ID Card in Montana:

Any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition approved by the legislature.

Possession and Growing

A registered cardholder who has named a provider may possess up to 1 ounce of usable marijuana.

Caregivers may possess a maximum of 1 oz. for the patient’s use.

A Medical Marijuana patient or their caregiver can grow up to 4 mature plants, 4 seedlings and the amount of usable marijuana allowed by the department by rule.

If registered cardholders are growing marijuana for their use only, they do not need to have a background check, or register as a provider. Registered cardholder names will not be on a list given to law enforcement. Law enforcement can call the department to verify that individuals are registered cardholders or providers.

If there are two or more medical marijuana patients in the same residence, the maximum number of mature plants and seedlings allowed is 8.


Caregivers

Medical marijuana patients in Montana can have a caregiver.

Montana doesn't have a caregiver program, however. They instead allow patients to have up to two Designated Purchasers. Here's the information you need to know about being a designated purchaser in Montana:

  1. 01

    Designated purchasers must be aged 21 or over. They must be listed on the patient’s application form. See the Montana Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Cardholder for a walkthrough.

  2. 02

    In Montana, designated purchasers can also be patients.

  3. 03

    Designated purchasers must not have been convicted on felony drug charges.

  4. 04

    There are not additional fees associated with being a designated purchaser in Montana.

Reciprocity

Montana recognizes other states’ medical cannabis programs and medical marijuana cards.  A Montana medical marijuana card may also be recognized in other states with medical marijuana reciprocity.

The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:

  • Arizona
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Washington, D.C.
Montana Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts

Frequently asked questions in Montana

    How much does a Montana Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

    Medical marijuana certificate on its own = $149 at Leafwell

    State application fee = $30

    Renewal fee = $149

    Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

    What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Montana?

    In Montana, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

    • AIDS/HIV
    • Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy
    • Crohn’s Disease
    • Glaucoma
    • Intractable Nausea or Vomiting
    • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
    • Painful Peripheral Neuropathy
    • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
    • Severe Chronic Pain
    • A central nervous system disorder resulting in chronic, painful spasticity or muscle spasms
    • Admittance into hospice care in accordance with rules adopted by the department
    • Any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition approved by the legislature
    How does the online evaluation process work for getting a Medical Marijuana certificate Letter/Medical Certificate in Montana?

    There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Montana to obtain your medical marijuana card:

    1. Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choosing a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (Leafwell is required by law to verify your identity). You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.

    2. Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit). (You will receive a text message to your cell phone when the provider is ready to see you.) During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.

    3. Submit your doctor’s certificate and information to the State website. If you are approved for a medical marijuana card, you’ll be sent a copy of your certificate letter via email. You choose whether you want to grow your medical cannabis or choose a dispensary. You cannot do both. Whether the new recreational laws will affect this ruling, we cannot say for definite as of yet.

    How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Montana?

    You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Montana. Caregivers must be 21 years of age.

    Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Montana?

    Yes, medical marijuana patients in Montana can have a caregiver, but Montana has all but disbanded both the caregiver program and distribution programs and replaced them with the Provider/Marijuana Infused Products Provider (MIPP) program.

    Rather than caregivers, these people are called ‘Designated Purchasers’ in Montana.

    Designated purchasers must be aged 21 or over. Each patient (adults and minors) can have designated purchasers and they can be added to either new or renewal applications on the state website.

    In Montana, designated purchasers can also be patients.

    However, designated purchasers must not have been convicted on felony drug charges.

    There are not additional fees associated with being a designated purchaser in Montana.

    For more information, check out this walkthrough from the state.

    How do I apply for the state program in Montana?

    Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:

    • Photo of applicant
      • The style should be similar to a driver’s license or passport photo
      • Clear, in colour, neutral background
      • From shoulders up, facing the camera
      • No hats, face masks, sunglasses
      • Taken within the last six months
    • Proof of Montana Residency
      • Montana driver’s license, Montana state or tribal identification card, voter registration form, Montana hunting or fishing license, etc.
    • Your Physician statement from Leafwell (dated within 60 days)
      • Minors need approval of two physicians

    Getting Your Montana Medical Marijuana Card

    1. Register as a new user through the TransAction Portal
    2. Click Apply for a New Medical Marijuana Card
      1. Note: renew your card here next year too
      2. Note: you can request a replacement if your card is lost or damaged here too
    3. Select either Adult Application or Minor Application
    4. Complete the application
    5. Pay the state fee of $20
      1. You can do this via credit, debit or ACH
    6. Once submitted, you will gain access to a temporary card which can be printed out – it is not valid in digital form
    7. Once your application is approved, you will receive your medical cannabis card from the Montana state in the mail

    Note: applications must be submitted within 60 days of the date of your consultation with a Leafwell physician