Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

You’re applying for

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to renew a medical card in Minnesota.

  1. 1

    Register Online with Leafwell

    Log into Leafwell. You can speak to a doctor and renew your Minnesota medical marijuana certificate online. The cost of the online consultation is $199, and you are only billed if approved.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with Your Doctor

    Attend your appointment and discuss why you would like an MMJ Certificate with your physician. The doctor will ask you questions based on your medical history and provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.

  3. 3

    Get Certified for Medical Marijuana and Complete the State Application

    Our doctor will submit your certification on your behalf. If accepted, the state will email you within three business days and invite you to complete your profile. The application process is all online, and you’ll be emailed when you are approved. You can find more information here. The state fee is $200 or $50 for low-income or people on disability.

  4. 4

    Complete the Patient Self-Evaluation Form

    Once registered, you will need to complete and submit a Patient Self-Evaluation form to purchase medical cannabis before visiting a Cannabis Patient Center. Minnesota does not issue medical marijuana cards. All you need is a valid certificate and a Self-Evaluation form after registering.

Trusted by 200k patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Benefits of Getting a Minnesota Medical Card

Having a medical cannabis certificate is the only way to consume cannabis in Minnesota legally. Should recreational use become legal, expect benefits for patients such as lower taxes and greater possession limits.

About Medical Marijuana in Minnesota

Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana laws and legislation in Minnesota:

  • 2014 – SF 2470 is approved and signed into law by Governor Mark Dayton. State penalties for those using or possessing cannabis are removed.
  • 2016 – Intractable pain is added to the conditions for which medical marijuana may be recommended.
  • 2022 – As of March 1, Minnesotans may purchase flower with a referral from a medical dispensary pharmacist.
  • 2022 – As of August 1, Minnesota residents may buy cannabis gummies and chews. Patients must get a consultation when changing the type of cannabis the patient consumes.

How to Qualify

It is only possible to renew an existing Minnesota medical marijuana card online. If you already have a card, you can renew with a certificate from a Leafwell physician.

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Certificate in Minnesota, you must be a legal resident of Minnesota.

Patients must be 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card, and minors can have caregivers apply on their behalf.

Registration to the Minnesota Department of Health’s medical marijuana program is mandatory, but this is not a public database, and your details are not visible to the general public.

  1. Information for Caregivers
    • Caregivers must be 21 years or older.
    • A Leafwell doctor can certify that the patient needs a caregiver during the telemedicine consultation.
    • Then patients just need to add their caregiver’s details to their account when they apply to the state.
    • The caregiver will then need to complete a separate application form, and a criminal background check (which costs $15) before the application is granted.

Medical Conditions

According to Minnesota law, the following debilitating conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate in Minnesota:

Possession and Growing

As an MMJ certificate holder in Minnesota, you are permitted to possess a 90 day supply, with the amount determined by the physician.

Note that there are limits to the products available in Minnesota for medical patients. Oils, tinctures, pills, pre-rolled joints, flower, gummies, and chews are available.


Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Minnesota can have a caregiver.

Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Certificate but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.

  1. 01

    Caregivers must be 21. Caregivers can assist with registration or the purchase/pickup of medical cannabis.

  2. 02

    Minors can allocate a parent or legal guardian as their caregiver. The parents/guardians must meet with the physician (via telemedicine) ahead of the certification.

  3. 03

    A spouse can be a caregiver. The spouse must meet with the physician (via telemedicine), and you’ll be asked to upload a copy of your marriage certificate to the state.

  4. 04

    Caregivers can also be anyone who has been designated to assist a registered patient by a physician. So if you have a friend, flatmate, carer, or nurse who you want to be your caregiver, this is possible.

  5. 05

    Patients can have more than one caregiver.

    Here is some more information for caregivers in Minnesota.

Reciprocity

There isn’t an MMJ ID card system in Minnesota, so certificates alone may not be enough for states with a medical marijuana identification card system, except for states like Hawaii and Illinois, where medical marijuana patients from other states can apply and provide an identification number.

Minnesota does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards.

Minnesota Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts

Frequently asked questions in Minnesota

    How much does a Minnesota Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

    Medical marijuana certificate renewal = $199 at Leafwell

    State application fee = $200, or $50 for those on Social Security disability, Supplemental Security Insurance or who are enrolled onto MinnesotaCare.

    Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

    What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Minnesota?

    In Minnesota, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

    • AIDS/HIV
    • Alzheimer’s Disease
    • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
    • Autism
    • Cancer associated with severe/chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting
    • Chronic Pain
    • Glaucoma
    • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
    • Intractable pain
    • Obstructive Sleep Apnea
    • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
    • Seizures, including those characteristic of Epilepsy
    • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Terminal illness, with a probable life expectancy of less than one year*

    *To qualify for the program, you must suffer from cancer or a terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of under one year, if your illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain; nausea or severe vomiting; or Cachexia or severe wasting.

    What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Minnesota online?

    There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Minnesota to obtain your Medical Marijuana Card online:

    1. Create a Leafwell account by using a valid email address and choosing a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to upload some ID. You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
    2. Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected with a Leafwell provider for a video chat. During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medica marijuana certification.
    3. If you are approved for a medical marijuana certification, you’ll be emailed by the Office of Medical Cannabis and invited to complete the state application via the link in the email.
    How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Minnesota?

    You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Minnesota. Caregivers must be 21 years of age.

    Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Minnesota?

    Yes, medical marijuana patients in Minnesota can have a caregiver. Only parents, legal guardians, spouses and caregivers may give patients assistance with registration or to pickup medical cannabis. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

    1. Speak to a physician at Leafwell, who will certify the patient and state whether they need a caregiver.
    2. Register to the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program, with the patient adding their caregiver’s details to the account. https://www.health.state.mn.us/
    3. Caregiver well be sent an email with a link. Follow this link to complete the application.
    4. Caregiver must complete a criminal background check, which must be mailed to the MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). The background check costs $15.
    5. Once the application and the criminal background check is completed, both the patient and caregiver will be sent an email confirming that the caregiver can purchase, carry and administer medical cannabis to the patient.
    How do I apply for the state program in Minnesota?

    Please note – these instructions are for NEW patients. Leafwell cannot certify new patients at this time but this information is valuable for all patients in Minnesota.

    Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:

    • A photo or image of your government-issued photo identification, such as a Minnesota identification/driver’s license. Image file type must be JPG, GIF, TIF, or PNG and smaller than 4 MB.
    • A credit/debit card or check (routing and account numbers) for the online annual enrollment fee of $200 or $50 (discounted fee).
    • If applicable, evidence that you are eligible for a discounted fee of $50 based on one of these qualifiers:
      • Supplemental Security Insurance (SSI)/Social Security Disability (SSD) including those transitioned to retirement benefits. A letter from Social Security verifying your transition from SSD to retirement benefits or the SSD/SSI Benefit Verification letter dated within the last 90 days is acceptable. Medicare is not a qualifier for the discounted fee.
      • Current medical assistance (MA), MinnesotaCare, or Indian Health Services (IHS) card. An enrollment letter from the county or state dated within the last 90 days is also acceptable.
      • Railroad disability. A benefit verification letter for Railroad disability dated within the last 90 days is acceptable.
      • Veteran’s disability. A valid VA service-connected card or VA disability benefit letter dated within the last 90 days is acceptable.
      • A dependency and indemnity compensation (VA DIC). An approval letter for VA dependency and indemnity compensation dated within the last 90 days is acceptable.

    Getting Your Minnesota Medical Marijuana Card

    1. As soon as your Leafwell practitioner has certified that you have a qualifying condition, you will receive an email (using the address you gave your doctor) from the Office of Medical Cannabis. You may need to check your spam/junk folder:
      1. Find the email with the subject line, MN Dept. of Health: Patient Enrollment.
      2. Click on the "Medical Cannabis Registry (click here)" link in the email
    2. Create your patient account
      1. Click "Begin Enrollment"
      2. Create a password, and click "Next"
    3. Complete enrollment application
      1. On the next screen, type in your answers in the corresponding fields. If your health care practitioner checked the box for a caregiver (during the certification process), this checkmark will automatically appear here. You can add a caregiver at Step 6 if you choose to at that time.
        1. If you do not want to add a caregiver at this time, uncheck this box.
        2. If you are a parent/legal guardian/spouse for an adult patient, you do NOT need to register as a caregiver. Patients can add a parent/legal guardian/spouse at Step 5.
        3. If you do not see this caregiver checkbox and you need a caregiver, contact Leafwell and ask them to check the box.
      2. Check the Acknowledgment box, read the statements in the pop-up screen then select “Agree." Then click "Next" at the bottom right of the screen to continue.
      3. Clicking on "Please select" will open a drop down menu; select "Upload a picture of your government-issued photo ID" to upload your identification or "Take a picture of your government-issued photo ID" to take a picture of your photo identification with the camera on your computer.
        1. If "Take a picture with the camera attached to your device" option is selected, the next screen will require you to click on "Take Picture" to capture the identification with the camera. The picture will then appear. Click "Next" to proceed.
        2. If you selected "Upload a picture of your government-issued photo ID," locate and upload the image file of your government-issued photo identification.
    4. Add your home address
      1. Type in your home address in the fields; check the box only if your mailing address is the same as your home address, and then click "Next" to continue.
      2. If your mailing address is different, select "Next," and continue. On the next screen, enter your mailing address in the fields, and select "Next."
    5. Add parent/ legal guardian/ spouse
      1. Click on "Add a parent/legal guardian/spouse" if you would like to add a parent/legal guardian/spouse or select "Next" if you do not wish to add someone at this time.
        1. If adding a spouse, check the box for spouse, enter their information and attach their photo identification and marriage certificate using the "Upload" button
        2. If adding a parent/legal guardian, enter their information and attach their photo identification and patient’s birth certificate or legal guardianship
        3. Check the Acknowledgement box and select "Agree" after reading the disclaimer. Click "Submit" to continue.
      2. The parent/legal guardian/spouse listed will receive an email notification. To add more than one parent/legal guardian, repeat Step 5.
      3. Select "Next" to continue.
    6. Add caregiver (if prompted)
      1. Continue to Step 7 if the system does not prompt you to add a caregiver. This option will only appear if your Leafwell health care practitioner certified you to have a caregiver AND the box for a caregiver on Step 3 was marked.
        1. Click on "Add a caregiver" to add your caregiver.
        2. Enter your caregiver’s information in the fields, and click on "Submit". The caregiver will receive an enrollment email with instructions to submit their application.
        3. To add another caregiver, repeat Step 6. Otherwise, select "Next" to continue.
    7. Update enrollment fee discount eligibility
      1. Click on "Please select" to open a drop-down menu; choose "Yes" if you receive Supplemental Security Income, Social Security Disability including those transitioned to retirement benefits, medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, IHS, Railroad disability, VA dependency and indemnity compensation, or Veteran’s disability benefits, then click "Next."
        1. Select the type of assistance you are currently receiving, and click "Upload" to attach the proof. Click on "Next" to continue.
      2. Choose "No" if you do not receive any of these. Then click "Next" and continue to Step 8.
    8. Make payment
      1. Click on "Make payment" to pay your enrollment fee.
      2. Click on "Select" and choose the option that aligns with your payment plans.
      3. Review the payer’s information and click on "Confirm" to finalize payment.
      4. You will receive a payment confirmation via email from the Minnesota Department of Health after your payment.
    9. Receive email approval
      1. Enrollments are processed in order received and it could take up to 30 days to be approved.
      2. You will need to complete the patient self-evaluation report in your account in the registry.
      3. Complete the self-evaluation report to expedite your visit to the cannabis patient center.
    10. Visit a Cannabis Patient Center (CPC) to purchase your medical marijuana
      1. Once you receive your approval email, you may then visit a Cannabis Patient Center (CPC). At the CPC, you, your parent, legal guardian or caregiver must visit the cannabis patient center, where a pharmacist will review your account, and recommend specific dosage and type. Payment will be made at that time, to the cannabis patient center.
    11. Fill out patient self-evaluation form
      1. Before returning for more medical cannabis, you must login to your registry account and fill out your patient self-evaluation form.
      2. This form is located on a separate tab in your registry account.
      3. This form must be completed before each visit to a Cannabis Patient Center.

      Once approved by the state, the following document can further assist with managing your Medical Cannabis Registry Account and completing the self-evaluation form(s).  Click here.