Coming soon

Get your medical marijuana card in minutes.

You’re applying for

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Join the waitlist


How to get a medical card in Alaska - Coming Soon

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    Schedule an appointment with an Alaska-licensed physician. Coming soon – join the waitlist today.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor

    You will undergo your medical marijuana evaluation, so feel free to discuss your health concerns with the physician during your consultation.

  3. 3

    Receive your Certificate from Leafwell

    We’ll mail your certificate which you’ll need to register with the Alaska MMJ Program & send in a completed (original) copy of your application form.

  4. 4

    Apply for a Card with the State of Alaska

    Wait for your medical marijuana card to arrive after you have completed your application with the Alaska Department of Health and Social Service (DHSS) Medical Marijuana Registry.

Trusted by 300k+ patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Dave Sampson

Billings, MT

Fast, easy application process.

Benefits of Getting a Alaska Medical Card

You don’t have to have an MMJ card to legally buy cannabis in Alaska, but there are multiple reasons to become a cardholder including:

  • Lower age of legal consumption.
  • Lower taxes on cannabis.

About Medical Marijuana in Alaska

Alaska has both a medical program and allows for recreational use. It recognized cannabis as medicine back in 1998!

Here’s some of the state’s history of cannabis laws:

Medical Cannabis:

  • 1998 – Measure 8 legalizes the medical use of marijuana in Alaska.  The measure allowed patients with a doctor’s recommendation to possess up to an ounce (28 g) of cannabis or grow six plants.

Recreational cannabis:

  • 1975 – The Alaska Supreme Court becomes the first – and only – U.S. state or federal court to announce a constitutional right to privacy that protects marijuana use and possession of small amounts of cannabis.
  • 1982 – Decriminalized possession of up to four ounces (110 g) of cannabis in the home or one ounce (28 g) outside the home.
  • 1990 – Re-criminalization of cannabis, imposing a penalty of up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1000 for simple possession.
  • 2000 – Failed attempt at recreational legalization.
  • 2003 – Re-criminalization of cannabis is struck down in Ravin v. State due to inconsistencies between 1982’s decriminalization and 1990’s re-criminalization.
  • 2004 – Another failed attempt at legalization.
  • 2014 – Measure 2 passed with 53.2% of the vote to legalize adult use.

diamond icon

How to qualify

You must be aged 18 or over to qualify for a medical marijuana card for yourself in Alaska. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over.

  1. Here's what you need to know
    hands-icon

    Physician fees can vary, so expect to pay anything from $50 – $100 or above.

    State application fees are $25 for the initial application and $20 for renewals.

    You will need to provide proof of ID and address to complete the application for medical cannabis.


Medical Conditions

Alaska law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:

woman-leafs
Possession and Growing

One ounce (1 oz.) on your person and up to four ounces in the home is the cannabis possession limit for both medical and recreational cannabis users in Alaska.

You can grow up to 6 plants, with no more than three mature cannabis plants, and this is the limit for both medical patients and adult-use cannabis enthusiasts.


diamond icon

Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Alaska can have a caregiver.

You qualify as a primary caregiver under Alaska marijuana law if:

  1. 01

    You are aged 21 or over

  2. 02

    You have no convictions related to a controlled substances offense

  3. 03

    Note:

    A person may be a primary caregiver or alternate caregiver for only one patient unless the primary caregiver or alternate caregiver is simultaneously caring for two or more patients related to the caregiver by at least the fourth degree of kinship by blood or marriage.

card-reciprocity
Reciprocity

Alaska does not accept out-of-state cards, but patients may purchase adult-use cannabis.

An Alaska medical marijuana card is recognized in some other states with reciprocity.

The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:

  • Arizona
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Washington, D.C.
Alaska Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts
diamond icon

Frequently asked questions in Alaska

How much does an Alaska Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

Leafwell will open in Alaska soon. Our fee for a consultation with a licensed AK physician is $149. Get approved or your money back.

State application fees are $25 for the initial application and $20 for renewals.

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Alaska?

In Alaska, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

  • AIDS/HIV
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Pain
  • Glaucoma
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Nausea
  • Seizures
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Alaska online?

Soon you will be able to get certified for medical marijuana online with Leafwell in Alaska.

Once we’re open, you will need to:

  1. Schedule an appointment with an Alaska-licensed physician.
  2. Register with the Alaska MMJ Program & send in a completed (original) copy of your application form.
  3. Wait for your medical marijuana card.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Alaska?

You must be aged 18 or over to qualify for a medical marijuana card for yourself in Alaska. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Alaska?

Yes. A primary caregiver must be at least 21 years old, not currently on probation or parole, and can’t have been convicted of a drug-related felony. A person may be a primary caregiver or alternate caregiver for only one patient at a time, unless the primary caregiver or alternate caregiver is simultaneously caring for two or more patients who are related to the caregiver by at least the fourth degree of kinship by blood or marriage.

Caregivers will need to register with the Alaska medical marijuana program.

How do I apply for the state program in Alaska?

Once a provider has approved you for medical cannabis, you must complete the application to the state.

Click here to download the application pack: https://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/VitalStats/Documents/PDFs/MedicalMarijuana.pdf

You will need the following:

  • The application pack – downloaded and printed out
  • The Physician Statement – this will be mailed to you
  • $25 fee ($20 for renewals)
  • A photocopy of your AK driver’s license or ID card

Reference for what each page contains:

  • Information, including details about the check and mailing address
  • Step-by-step instructions
  • Application for Medical Marijuana Registry
    • This will be mailed to you by your certifying provider, and you will need to complete any outstanding information.
  • Primary Caregiver Application for Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant
    • Only fill in if you need a caregiver.
  • Alternate Caregiver Application for Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant
    • Only fill in if you need a second caregiver.
  • Physician Statement for Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant
    • This will be mailed to you by your certifying provider
  • Instruction Page
  • Instruction Page
  • Instruction Page

Process

  • Download and print the application pack
    • Read Page 1 and 2 – these are instructions
  • Receive in the mail the following pages, partially completed by your Leafwell provider:
    • Page 3 – Application for Medical Marijuana Registry
      • This will be populated with the physician information, and the application box will be checked to match your status (new or renewal patient)
    • Page 6 – Physician Statement for Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant
  • Complete all outstanding parts of Page 3
    • Leave the minor section blank if it does not apply – if it does apply, complete Page 4 and 5 (if a second caregiver is needed)
  • Get someone to act as a witness – they will need to sign pages 3 (and 4 and 5 if applicable)
  • Check all paperwork is completed
  • You will need to mail the following items:
    • Page 3 – Application for Medical Marijuana Registry
    • Page 4/5 (if applicable) – Caregiver Applications
    • Page 6 – Physician Statement for Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant
    • Check or money order, payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics – for $25 ($20 for renewals)
    • Photocopy of your AK State Driver’s License or your AK State ID card for Patient and Caregiver (if applicable)
  • Mail all documentation and your $25 check/money order to Health Analytics and Vital Records Marijuana Registry
    • P.O. Box 110699, Juneau, AK 99811-0699
  • Once approved, the state will mail your medical card to your address – use this card to shop for your medicine. You will need to show your ID when purchasing medical cannabis in Alaska.