Coming soon

Get your Hawaii medical marijuana card in minutes.

You’re applying for

How to renew a medical card in Hawaii - Coming Soon

  1. 1

    Register Online with Leafwell

    Leafwell is coming to Hawaii soon! Join our waitlist to be notified when we’re live in the state.

    Once we’re live, you will be able to create an account online,  speak to a doctor, and qualify for a Hawaii medical marijuana card. You are only billed if approved.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor

    During your appointment, a Leafwell physician will ask you questions based on your medical history and provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.

  3. 3

    Submit your state application

    After your appointment, you’ll receive an email with steps to help guide you through the state process. The state will then contact the physician to verify that they have approved you.

  4. 4

    Receive your Blue Card from the State of Hawaii

    The state will review your application, and you will be emailed once approved. You can then log in and download a copy of your card. There is a $38.50 fee.

Benefits of Getting a Hawaii Medical Card

Having a valid medical cannabis recommendation and ID card (a Blue or 329 card) is the only way to consume cannabis in Hawaii legally.

About Medical Marijuana in Hawaii

Hawaii has had a medical marijuana program for quite some time, starting in 2000. However, accessing medical cannabis was still tricky, and patients and caregivers had to grow their own if they wanted their meds. It wasn’t until 2015 that the Dispensary Program was established, and the first dispensary in Hawaii became operational in 2016.

Hawaii’s more tolerant attitude towards medical cannabis than other states, Hawaii still did what many other states do and stalled for a significant amount of time.

  • 2000 – Governor Ben Cayetano signs Act 228 into law.
  • 2015 – Act 241 is passed, legalizing medical marijuana dispensaries in Hawaii.
  • 2016 – Senate Bill 321 (SB 321) established a dispensary system, allowing eight dispensaries in the state, designated by the island.
  • 2016 – Governor David Ige signs Act 228, creating a pilot program allowing the Hawaii Department of Agriculture to oversee the cultivation of industrial hemp for agricultural or academic research.
  • 2017 – the first legal dispensary sale takes place in Maui.
  • 2019 – Governor David Ige announced that he would let a legislature-passed bill to decriminalize small amounts of cannabis become law without him signing it.
  • 2021 – Decriminalization of cannabis. Possession of three grams or less of marijuana is punishable by a $130 fine, up to 30 days in jail, and a fine of up to $1,000.
  • 2021 – Recreational cannabis legalization bill fails to make it past the House of Representatives.

Non-medical, adult use of cannabis is illegal in Hawaii. Possession of 3 grams or less of cannabis flower is decriminalized.

diamond icon

How to qualify

Anyone 18 or over with a qualifying condition can apply for a medical marijuana card in Hawaii, and those under this age will need a caregiver.

  1. Useful Info:


    Having an MMJ or Blue Card in Hawaii permits you to possess some cannabis and grow the plant as well.

    Under Hawaii law, "Usable marijuana" does not include seeds, stalks, and plant roots.

Medical Conditions

According to Hawaii law, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card:

Possession and Growing

Patients can possess up to 4 ounces of usable marijuana or 3.5 grams of concentrated cannabis in a fifteen (15) day period

This can be jointly possessed between the qualifying patient and the primary caregiver.

Patients can grow an "adequate supply" of cannabis, up to 10 plants. Either the patient or their caregiver may grow cannabis. The grow must be at a single location (either at the patient’s or caregiver’s residence or another space owned by the patient or caregiver).

diamond icon


Medical Marijuana patients in Hawaii can have a caregiver.

If the patient requiring medical cannabis is a minor or needs assistance accessing their medication, they will need a caregiver. Caregivers must be aged 18 or over.

  1. 01

    Caregivers may only have one (1) patient at a time.

  2. 02

    There is no registration fee for caregivers – patients must designate a caregiver on their application form if they need one.

  3. 03

    After December 31, 2023, caregivers will not grow medical cannabis except for minors/adults lacking legal capacity and on islands that do not have a dispensary.


An out-of-state qualifying patient and caregiver may register with the Hawaii health department as an Out of State Patient if they are on the islands for less than 120 days per year.

This reciprocity is one key benefit for medical marijuana users. Unlike recreational cannabis users, medical marijuana users with a medical marijuana card can travel to the states listed above and purchase the medical marijuana they require while they are out of state.

Hawaii Cannabis Laws
See more posts
dropper in a saucer next to scattered soft gel capsules and bottle of CBD medicine
What Is CBD?

Discover CBD, or Cannabidiol and learn more about the properties this key chemical in cannabis has for medical marijuana patients.

diamond icon

Frequently asked questions in Hawaii

How much does a Hawaii Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

Leafwell’s services are not yet available in Hawaii. Once we open, a consultation with a Hawaii medical provider with Leafwell will be $149. This is a virtual consultation where you can discuss your needs for a medical card. The certificate is valid for one year.

The application fee for a card is $38.50. For replacements, there is a fee of $16.50.

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Hawaii?

In Hawaii, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Hawaii online?

We are unable to provide Hawaii patients online medical marijuana consultations at this time.

Telehealth is operational in Hawaii. You can speak to a physician, fill out an application form and submit it with relevant ID + supporting documents, and see if you qualify. Once you have a card, you can purchase or cultivate cannabis legally.

How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Hawaii?

You must be aged 18 or over in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card for yourself in Hawaii.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Hawaii?

Yes. Caregivers in Hawaii must be aged at least 18 years-old or older. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

  1. Caregivers must be designated by the qualifying patient on the application.
  2. Attend appointment with the patient.
  3. Get certified.
  4. Register with the Hawaii Department of Health (DoH)

Caregivers may only have one (1) patient at a time. No registration fee for caregivers – patients must designate a caregiver on their application form if they need one. After December 31, 2023, caregivers will not be allowed to grow medical cannabis except for minors/adults lacking legal capacity and on islands that do not have a dispensary. Further information here https://health.hawaii.gov/medicalcannabisregistry/patients/information-for-caregivers/.