Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to get a medical card in Nevada.

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    You can speak to a doctor and qualify for a Nevada medical marijuana card online. The online consultation for a two-year certificate is $99, and you are only billed if approved. If approved, the physician will sign the Waiver and Acknowledgement Forms you must send to us.

  2. 2

    Create an Account on DPBH

    You can register for the Medical Marijuana Patient Cardholder Registry here.

    You will need to create an account and download the Waiver and Acknowledgement Form. These will need to be emailed to us, and our physician will sign them and return the documents within 48 hours.

  3. 3

    Complete the Application on the Government Website

    Upload the signed Waiver and Acknowledgement Forms to your account on the government website and pay either $50 for a one-year card or $100 for a two-year card.

  4. 4

    Receive Your Certificate and Buy Your Medicine

    Once the application is complete, you can download a temporary approval letter and buy your medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary immediately. You will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail in approximately 7-10 days. Please note that Leafwell will not be sending you a card – this is the state’s work!

Trusted by 300k+ patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Dave Sampson

Billings, MT

Fast, easy application process.

Benefits of Getting a Nevada Medical Card

You don’t have to have an MMJ card to legally buy cannabis in Nevada, but there are multiple reasons to become a cardholder.

  • Save money on taxes – medical patients pay 4.6% tax compared to 15% for recreational purchases
  • Greater purchasing limits. Medical marijuana patients in Nevada can possess up to 2.5 ounces every 14 days, compared to 1 oz. flower, ⅓ oz. concentrate for recreational users
  • Younger legal purchasing age – medical marijuana patients can be 18 years-old, recreational users must be 21 or over
  • Medical patients have some growing rights if they live over 25 miles from a dispensary

About Medical Marijuana in Nevada

Both medical and recreational marijuana is legal in Nevada. Despite plenty of delays in implementation, Nevada has become one of the most liberal states when it comes to cannabis laws, with the nation’ most open reciprocity program – Nevada is the only state that recognizes all other states’ medical marijuana programs. This was legislated for with tourism in mind, and dispensaries have certainly seen results, with almost half of customers being out-of-state patients.


diamond icon

How to qualify

You must be aged 18 or over in order to qualify for a medical marijuana certificate and card for yourself. You must provide proof of Nevada residency and photographic ID.

Telemedicine is legal in Nevada so you can use Leafwell to meet with a NV physician and get certified online for your medical cannabis card.

  1. Information for caregivers:
    hands-icon

    The caregiver program allows minors to get medical marijuana if necessary and enables adults who need assistance to access medical marijuana products. The caregiver is added as part of the application process within the government website.
    More information here.


Medical Conditions

In Nevada, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana recommendation:

woman-leafs
Possession and Growing

As an MMJ cardholder in Nevada, you are permitted to possess up to 2.5 oz of useable marijuana every 14 days

Cannabis is legal for recreational adult use for people over 21.

However, having a medical marijuana card offers more legal protection and higher possession limits.

Recreational users can purchase only up to 1 oz of cannabis flower of ⅛ of an ounce of concentrate, plus will be subjected to 15% excise tax.

Patients in Nevada can cultivate medical marijuana if there is no dispensary in the county where they live or no dispensary within 25 miles of their home address. If a dispensary is subsequently opened within these limits, a patient may continue cultivating cannabis if they do not allow their registration to lapse.

Patients who cannot travel due to illness or lack of transportation can also grow their plants.

Finally, if the available dispensaries do not supply the strain (cultivar/chemovar) of marijuana necessary for a specific medical condition, a patient can cultivate this strain for medical purposes.

Do not carry cannabis over state lines, even if you are a qualifying medical marijuana patient in NV.


diamond icon

Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Nevada can have a caregiver.

Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.

A caregiver can be added to the patient’s account once registered with the state. You may qualify as a caregiver if you:

  1. 01

    Are assigned the caregiver role on the application

  2. 02

    Have a NV driving license or state ID

card-reciprocity
Reciprocity

Nevada does recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards.

When Nevada residents travel to other states, some will also accept your MMJ cards.

This reciprocity is one key benefit for medical marijuana users. Unlike recreational cannabis users, medical marijuana users with a medical marijuana card can travel to the states listed above and purchase the medical marijuana they require while they are out-of-state.

Nevada Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts
diamond icon

Frequently asked questions in Nevada

How much does a Nevada Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

Medical marijuana certificate for 2 years = $99 at Leafwell

Nevada application fee = $50 for one year or $100 for 2 years

Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada?

In Nevada, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

  • AIDS/HIV
  • An anxiety disorder
  • An autism spectrum disorder
  • An autoimmune disease
  • Anorexia nervosa
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Dependence upon or addiction to opioids
  • Glaucoma
  • Muscle spasms, including, without limitation, spasms caused by multiple sclerosis (MS)
  • Nausea
  • Neuropathic condition, whether or not such condition causes seizures
  • Seizures, including, without limitation, seizures caused by epilepsy
  • Severe or chronic pain
How does the online evaluation process work for getting a Medical Marijuana Certificate in Nevada?

There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Nevada to obtain your medical marijuana card:

1. Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choosing a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (Leafwell is required by law to verify your identity). You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.

2. Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit). (You will receive a text message to your cell phone when the provider is ready to see you.) During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.

3. If you are approved for a medical-marijuana card, you’ll be sent a copy of your waiver and application form which you will need to apply to the state.

How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada?

You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Nevada?

Yes, medical marijuana patients in Nevada can have a caregiver. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

  1. Obtain the necessary documents for the patient
  2. When applying to the state, assign a caregiver role
  3. Upload the caregiver’s driver’s license or state ID as part of the application
  4. Note – there is no fee for the addition of a caregiver
How do I apply for the state program in Nevada?

After your appointment

After seeing a Leafwell physician, you will need to register with the state to download a waiver and acknowledgement form. After your approval with Leafwell, our healthcare provider will sign these so you can complete your state application. Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Create an Account – https://mmportal.nv.gov/Account/Login
    1. Click on ‘Register as a cardholder’
    2. Upload a photo of the back of your Nevada state ID
    3. Enter a valid email address and create a password
    4. Click Register
    5. Fill out and download the application packet
    6. Send the paperwork to documents@secure.leafwell.co

Ensure you have the following items:

  • PDF or JPEG of current Nevada State ID or driver’s license issued by DMV
  • Leafwell physician approval
  • $50 (1 year) or $100 (2 years) to be paid via Credit Card

Complete an Application

  1. Log into your account
    1. Upload the waiver and acknowledgement form to your completed application
    2. Pay the registration fee via credit card
      1. 1-year registration term for $50.00
      2. 2-year registration term for $100.00.
  2. After you apply
    1. The state will process your application in 24-72 hours
    2. You can download and print your temporary card which is good for up to 60 days
    3. Your permanent card will come in the mail within 10 days