You’re applying for

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


  1. 1

    You can speak to a doctor and renew your New Hampshire medical marijuana card online (existing Leafwell patients only). The cost of the online consultation is $199 – approved or your money back.

  2. 2

    Once approved, you’ll receive your certificate. It will be mailed to you shortly afterward. You need a hard copy of the certificate to apply to register for your renewal with the state.

  3. 3

    Complete the application – download and print it from the government website.

    You will need to pay the $50 application fee to the New Hampshire state. You must specify which Alternative Treatment Centre you wish to use. You can only be registered to use one ATC at any time, but you can change which center you’re registered with on the state website.

    Once you’ve completed the application, mail the application plus the certificate from Leafwell to the state.

  4. 4

    If approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail up to 3 weeks later. Your certificate will be valid for one year from the date of issue.

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Currently, it is illegal to use cannabis in New Hampshire without a medical marijuana certificate and MMJ card. To use cannabis legally in NH, you must be a medical marijuana patient.

New Hampshire decriminalized cannabis in 2017 and legalized hemp in 2018. There is little difference in medical cannabis laws between different New Hampshire jurisdictions.

At the moment, Leafwell can only provide telemedicine services to our existing patients. It is not permitted to use telemedicine for initial consultations at this time. Here is an overview of the history of medical marijuana laws and legislation in New Hampshire:

  • 2013 – House Bill 573 (HB 573) was introduced and signed by Governor Maggie Hassan. This bill established a registry identification system and the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Advisory Council.
  • 2014 – the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHSS) started proposing rules for the regulation of cannabis and published the "Therapeutic Cannabis Program Registry Rules."
  • 2015 – DHSS starts issuing Registry Identification Cards.
  • 2016 – Dispensaries open.
  • 2017 – Possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana for personal use is decriminalized, and this is reduced to approximately 21 g or ¾ of an ounce. Possession of up to 21 g of cannabis for a first or second offense is considered a Civil Violation and brings with it a fine of up to $100.
  • 2020 – House Bill 1648 legalized possession of up to ¾ of an ounce and allows adults to cultivate up to three mature marijuana plants at home. Legislation is now pending in the senate.
  • 2020 & 2021 – Emergency orders are instituted for initial medical cannabis consultations and certifications online during the COVID-19 Crisis. These emergency orders have now been lifted, meaning that only existing New Hampshire medical marijuana patients can qualify for a medical marijuana certificate online via telehealth. New patients must speak to a qualified New Hampshire-licensed medical marijuana physician in-person for their initial appointment.

How to qualify

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire, you must be a legal resident of New Hampshire.

Patients must be 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card for themselves, and minors can have caregivers apply on their behalf.

    • Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older.
    • Each patient can only have one caregiver at a time, but minors can have two caregivers.
    • Caregivers must not have a felony conviction on their record.

Medical Conditions

According to New Hampshire law, a patient must be diagnosed with a stand-alone medical condition or a combination of a qualifying diagnosis and a qualifying symptom. The following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card in New Hampshire:

One or more injuries that significantly interfere with daily activities as documented by the patient’s provider.

Possession and Growing

If you have a caregiver, the total possessed between you combined cannot exceed 2 ounces.

Medical marijuana patients cannot grow cannabis in New Hampshire. Legislation is currently pending to permit cannabis cultivation.


Caregivers

Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.

  1. 01

    Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older.

  2. 02

    Caregivers must submit their Designated Caregiver Application on the state website and pay a $50 application fee

  3. 03

    Caregivers must also undergo a state and federal background check (and get fingerprinted) and pay the fee to complete this check.

Reciprocity

A New Hampshire medical marijuana card is recognized as valid by some other states in the US with a medical marijuana program. This is called “reciprocity.” NH is one such state, and there are several others.

New Hampshire Cannabis Laws
See more posts

    How much does a New Hampshire Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

    Medical marijuana renewal certificate on its own = $199 at Leafwell

    State application fee = $50

    Please note we do not currently offer certificates for people who do not yet have an account with Leafwell. We can only provide renewal consultations under New Hampshire law.

    Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

    What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire?

    The New Hampshire law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card. A patient must be diagnosed with a stand-alone medical condition or a combination of a qualifying diagnosis and a qualifying symptom.

    Stand-Alone Medical Conditions

    • Autism spectrum disorder (age 21 and older)
    • Autism spectrum disorder (under age 21) (requires a consultation with a certified provider of child and/or adolescent psychiatry, developmental pediatrics, or pediatric neurology, who (1) confirms that the autism spectrum disorder has not responded to previously prescribed medication or that other treatment options produced serious side effects and (2) supports certification for the use of therapeutic cannabis)
    • Moderate or severe post-traumatic stress disorder
    • Moderate to severe chronic pain
    • Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects

    Combination of a Qualifying Diagnosis AND a Qualifying Symptom

    Qualifying Diagnoses

    • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
    • Alzheimer’s disease
    • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
    • Cancer
    • Chronic pancreatitis
    • Crohn’s disease
    • Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Glaucoma
    • Hepatitis C
    • HIV
    • Lupus
    • Multiple sclerosis
    • Muscular dystrophy
    • One or more injuries or conditions that has resulted in one or more qualifying symptoms
    • Parkinson’s disease
    • Spinal cord injury or disease
    • Traumatic brain injury
    • Ulcerative colitis

    Qualifying Symptoms

    • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
    • Cachexia
    • Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
    • Constant or severe nausea
    • Elevated intraocular pressure
    • Moderate to severe insomnia
    • Moderate to severe vomiting
    • Seizures
    • Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects
    • Severe, persistent muscle spasms
    • Wasting syndrome
    How does the online evaluation process work for getting a Medical Marijuana certificate Letter/Medical Certificate in New Hampshire?

    Under current legislation, Leafwell can only be used by existing patients for their renewals in New Hampshire. If you previously used Leafwell in another state and have moved to New Hampshire, you are able to use our platform to become a new NH patient.

    There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in New Hampshire to obtain your medical marijuana card:

    1. Log into your Leafwell account. Complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and choose your renewal plan. You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
    2. Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected  with your Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit).
    3. If you are approved for a medical marijuana card, you’ll be sent a copy of your certificate letter via email. Once you have your certificate, you can renew with the New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Program to receive your card.
    How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire?

    You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire. Caregivers must be 21 years of age or over.

    Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in New Hampshire?

    Yes, medical marijuana patients in New Hampshire can have a caregiver. A patient may designate a single caregiver to assist with obtaining and using medical marijuana. A designated caregiver must be at least twenty-one (21) years old and cannot have a prior felony conviction. A registered caregiver with a valid registry ID card may assist with up to five (5) qualifying patients. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

    1. Get the patient qualified for medical marijuana by speaking to a physician online with Leafwell.
    2. The caregiver must fill out this application form: New Hampshire Caregiver Application Form
    3. Pay the $50 application fee. FEE TEMPORARILY WAIVED until end of State of Emergency.
    4. Once approved, you will be sent a copy of your caregiver identification card.
    How do I apply for the state program in New Hampshire?

    Once you’ve been approved by a physician, you need to apply to the New Hampshire state. You will need to print your certification from Leafwell which you can download from your account.

    Next, you need to apply to the state. Here’s the step by step guide:

    1. Print out the patient application
    2. You need to complete pages 1 and 3
      1. Complete page 2 if you want a caregiver (e.g. for a minor under the age of 18)
    3. Gather together the following documentation:
      1. "Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis" form (download from your Leafwell account)
      2. Proof of New Hampshire residency (New Hampshire driver’s license, front only, state or federal government-issued identification that shows your name and NH address, any documentation that contains your name and current NH address e.g. current lease agreement, tax documents or a recent utility bill)
      3. A $50 application fee – check or money order made payable to "Treasurer, State of New Hampshire"
    4. Mail or hand-deliver the above items to:
      1. NH Department of Health and Human Services Therapeutic Cannabis Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301
    5. Application processing takes up to 3 weeks
      1. If your application is incomplete, the state will contact you and ask for additional documentation
    6. Once approved, you will receive a card within 5 days. Your card is valid for 1 year.