- A medical card can save you money on every marijuana purchase.
- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $149 for the renewal appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Book an Appointment with Leafwell
Speak to a Leafwell healthcare provider to renew your Washington medical marijuana card online.
The consultation costs $149. You are only billed if approved.
Get Re-Approved for Medical Marijuana
Once approved, your provider will complete a Medical Marijuana Authorization and print it on tamper-resistant paper.
You’ll receive the authorization form via U.S. mail within seven to 10 business days.
Get a Card From the State of Washington
You can register with the Washington State Department of Health (DoH) for medical marijuana to get an MMJ ID card.
Getting a physical card is optional.
However, those who register have higher possession and cultivation limits.
Benefits of Having a Medical Marijuana Card in Washington State
Marijuana is legal in Washington for medical and recreational use.
Anyone over 21 can legally buy and consume marijuana from any licensed dispensary in the state.
However, patients with a qualifying medical condition should get a Washington medical card for the benefits it provides.
Higher Possession and Cultivation Limits
You can purchase and possess up to three times the current cannabis limits with a Washington medical card.
A state card allows you to purchase and possess:
- Up to 48 ounces of cannabis-infused products in solid form.
- Three ounces of usable marijuana.
- 216 ounces of liquid cannabis products or 21 grams of cannabis concentrate.
- Up to six plants and eight ounces of usable cannabis from the plants.
If a physician determines a patient’s medical needs exceed the allowed amounts, they may recommend an extension.
If approved, a patient can grow up to 15 plants and 16 ounces of marijuana from those plants at home.
Qualifying patients with authorization who don’t register to the medical marijuana authorization database will not receive a recognition card.
They can only grow up to four plants and possess up to six ounces of usable cannabis in their domicile.
Registering in the state database also exempts you from paying sales tax when buying cannabis from a medically-endorsed retail store. It also allows you to participate in a registered medical cannabis cooperative.
Washington medical marijuana cardholders listed in the state database are protected against criminal prosecution related to marijuana possession.
Healthcare providers in Washington may authorize cannabis use for any person, regardless of age, as long as it’s medically appropriate under state law.
To become a medical cannabis patient in Washington, consult a licensed healthcare provider to see if you qualify.
Currently, Leafwell can only serve current medical marijuana patients renewing their cards.
Can Minors Get a Medical Cannabis Card in Washington?
Minors under 18 can obtain a medical card in Washington but must have a parent or guardian as their designated provider.
This person acts as a caregiver authorized by the patient and a licensed physician to purchase, provide, or grow marijuana for their child or patient.
A designated provider must be at least 21 and can only care for one patient at a time.
Caregivers in Washington are designated providers and can assist a patient with enrolling into the state database, obtaining a marijuana card, and purchasing or growing cannabis.
The patient must find someone to serve as their designated provider unless they’re mentally or physically unable to.
Your healthcare provider will sign two authorizations: one for the patient and another for the designated provider.
The patient and designated provider will need to sign both authorizations.
If a patient can’t or is too young to sign, their designated provider (parent or legal guardian) will sign both on their behalf. A designated provider may only serve one medical marijuana patient at a time.
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Cancer (Non-Specific)
- Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD), Renal Failure
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis (Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
What You’ll Need to Apply
You’ll need to provide the following to renew your WA MMJ card:
- Basic patient information.
- Legal name
- State-issued identification (WA driver’s license or state ID).
Medical records are not required to see a Leafwell healthcare provider, but you can provide them if you’d like.
Washington medical marijuana card renewal appointments with a Leafwell healthcare provider are $149.
Medical marijuana authorization and cards are valid for one year for adults and six months for qualifying patients under 18.
We recommend renewing your medical card at least 30 days before it expires to continue purchasing marijuana products without disruption.
Registering with the State of Washington costs $1 to $10, depending on where you register.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Washington does not have medical marijuana reciprocity, which means they don’t recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards. However, anyone over 21 can legally purchase marijuana products in Washington.
That said, other states have either legalized the recreational use of marijuana or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Connecticut ^
- Delaware ^
- Hawaii *
- Illinois ^
- Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
- Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
- Missouri ^
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Pennsylvania (minors only)
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
- Vermont ^
- Virginia ^
- Washington D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in WA
The Washington Department of Health has a searchable list of medically-endorsed cannabis stores on its website.
You can search this list to find the nearest store and browse their products before going to the store.
A qualifying patient with medical marijuana authorization but no card can grow up to four plants within their home.
Those registered in the medical database and with a recognition card can grow six to 15 plants, depending on their doctor’s recommendation.
Growing without authorization is prohibited under state law.
Washington Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
Like California, Washington was ahead of the curve and legalized medical cannabis in 1998.
Washington was the first state to legalize recreational marijuana use in December 2012 — just three hours ahead of Colorado.
Here are some other important Washington medical marijuana laws to know:
- Recreational cannabis use is legal, but personal home cultivation is prohibited without authorization.
- No more than 15 plants may be grown in any housing unit, even if multiple patients or designated providers reside there.The only exception is registered cooperatives, which can grow up to 60 plants.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Washington Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
An online consultation with a licensed healthcare provider to renew a Washington medical marijuana card costs $149 with Leafwell. The consultation fee includes a 1-year renewal certification, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your renewal with Leafwell.
It is optional to register with the state, which can be done at a medically-endorsed retail store. Fees range from $1 to $10.
Please note: Leafwell is only offering renewal appointments at this time, and cannot certify initial patients. We apologize for any inconvenience.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Washington?
In Washington, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Chronic Renal Failure
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C with Debilitating Nausea or Intractable Pain
- Intractable pain (defined as pain unrelieved by standard treatment or medications)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure disorders
- Spasticity disorders
- Terminal illness
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
- Diseases, including Anorexia, which result in nausea, vomiting, wasting, appetite loss, cramping, seizures, muscle spasms, or spasticity, when those conditions are unrelieved by standard treatments or medications
- Other conditions subject to the approval of the Washington Board of Health
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Washington online?
Here’s what you need do to get certified online with Leafwell:
- Book an appointment with a certified physician.
- Attend your appointment and get approved
- Receive your Medical Marijuana Authorization in the mail in 5-7 days
- Optional – Register into the medical marijuana database at a medically-endorsed retail store with a medical marijuana consultant and receive a card (charges range from $1 to $10 for this service)
Minors need to be certified every 6 months.
Registry to the Washington Medical Marijuana Program is voluntary. However, those who do register have higher possession and cultivation limits.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Washington?
You must be at least 18 years-old in order to qualify for a Washington medical marijuana certificate and card for yourself.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Washington?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Washington can have a caregiver, but they are called designated providers instead of caregivers.
Caregiver (Designated Provider) Requirements:
- Must be 21 years of age or older.
- The designated provider is a parent or guardian of a qualifying patient who is under the age of 18; or a person who has been designated by the patient to purchase, provide or grow marijuana on the patient’s behalf.
- Designated providers can only serve one patient at a time. A patient may have only one designated provider at any one time.
- Designated providers must be listed on the patient’s medical cannabis authorization form.
- Have a fully completed form printed on tamper-resistant paper. The patient signs their copy of the authorization form, and the designated provider signs their own copy.
- If the patient chooses to be entered into the medical cannabis database the designated provider must also be entered into the database and have a designated provider recognition card. Patients under the age of 18 are required by law to have a designated provider and to be entered into the medical cannabis database.
Here’s how the caregiver (designated provider) process works:
- Submit the designated provider’s name, date of birth, and address during Leafwell’s registration under the “Caregiver” section.
- The designated provider will receive a copy of the authorization form on tamper-proof paper in the mail after the patient is approved.
- Patients who would like to designate a new provider must return to their healthcare practitioner to get a new authorization form for themselves and the new designated provider.
How do I apply for the state cannabis program in Washington?
Congratulations on getting approved for your medical certification. Here’s a guide to what you need to do next.
Once you’ve received your medical marijuana authorization, there is one more optional (but recommended) step.
This simple next step is recommended because patients and designated providers who hold valid authorizations but aren’t entered into the database may purchase only per the laws and rules for non-patients.
- They will have an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution if they possess no more than four plants and six ounces of usable marijuana.
- Take your authorization form to any licensed and medically endorsed marijuana store.
- The medical marijuana consultant will enter your details into the database.
- They will also take your photo and provide you with a card — there is a fee which ranges from $1 to $10.
You can find up-to-date information about medically endorsed stores here.