- A medical card can save you up to 20% on every marijuana purchase.
- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $149 for your appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Register Online with Leafwell
Create an account online, then you can speak to a doctor and qualify for an Oregon medical marijuana card. You are only billed if approved.
Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor
Attend your appointment and discuss with your physician why you would like an MMJ Card
The doctor will review any medical records you’ve submitted and ask you questions based on your medical history. They will provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you. They will either approve you or request further information during this call.
Receive your Certificate from Leafwell
The Attending Provider’s Statement confirms that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ Card. It will be emailed to you after the appointment.
Apply for a Card with the State of Oregon
After your appointment, you’ll receive the next steps to help guide you through the state process. Once approved, the state will mail you your card (please note that the card is not sent by Leafwell). The card is valid for 1 year.
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Oregon
Oregonians don’t need a medical marijuana (MMJ) card to buy cannabis in the state. Marijuana has been legal since Measure 91 officially authorized use and possession for all adults 21 and older. Still, medical marijuana cards offer patients distinct benefits over standard recreational purchases.
- Greater possession limits: Medical patients can possess up to 24 ounces of medical cannabis products. Recreational users can possess only eight ounces at home and one in public.
- Greater growing limits: An Oregon medical marijuana patient (and their caregiver, if applicable) may possess up to six mature plants. Recreational users can only possess four mature plants.
- Tax-free products: Medical marijuana cardholders pay no sales tax, while recreational cannabis consumers pay 17% with an additional 3% municipal tax for a total of 20% on every purchase.
Any Oregon resident over 18 years old who is a medical patient with a qualifying health condition can apply for an Oregon medical marijuana card. The patient must also receive a doctor’s referral.
Can Minors Get a Medical Card in Oregon?
Oregon medical patients under 18 will need a caregiver who is their legal guardian. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older and must fill out a Minor Declaration Form.
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) allows patients to designate a caregiver. This person is responsible for managing the patient’s well-being and can purchase and possess marijuana items for the patient. A caregiver must be at least 18 years of age. A patient may only have one primary caregiver.
Patients who need a caregiver must complete the caregiver portion of the application form. They must also submit the caregiver’s proof of identification.
Once approved, the caregiver’s card will be mailed to the patient.
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
What You’ll Need to Apply
- Attending Provider’s Statement: A state-certified physician must sign a medical marijuana recommendation statement affirming that the patient has a qualifying medical condition and that medical marijuana may mitigate the symptoms.
- Grow Site Consent Form: Applicants must submit this form where a grow site is designated and the patient or grower is not the property owner.
- Copies of current valid photo ID. Include ID copies for the patient, designated caregivers, and growers. Patients must be Oregon residents.
- Minor Declaration Form if applying for a minor.
- Application fee: You must pay $200 to apply for your medical card, though there are several ways to pay a reduced price. Recipients of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits pay $60 (proof is required). Oregon Health Plan cardholders must pay $50. The fee is reduced to $20 for veterans and those receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Additionally, those who submit proof of total disability (at least 50%) resulting from a service-related injury or illness and discharge under other than dishonorable conditions don’t have to pay to apply for their medical cards.
Leafwell’s Oregon consultation fee is $149 for new and renewal certificates. Patients must also pay the state’s application fee.
Fee reductions are available for those who are part of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) or the Oregon Health Plan, those on Supplemental Security Income, and veterans.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Oregon does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and does not recognize medical marijuana cards from other states. However, adults at least 21 can legally purchase cannabis in Oregon at retail dispensaries.
The following is a list of additional states that accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Connecticut ^
- Delaware ^
- Hawaii *
- Illinois ^
- Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
- Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
- Missouri ^
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
- New York ^
- Oklahoma *
- Pennsylvania (minors only)
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
- Vermont ^
- Virginia ^
- Washington ^
- Washington D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in OR
Oregon medical marijuana card patients can purchase medical cannabis from dispensaries licensed by the Oregon Health Authority. They can also legally buy cannabis from recreational marijuana retailers licensed by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC).
Oregon has roughly 16.5 cannabis dispensaries per 100,000 people, more per capita than any other state.
Oregon allows personal cannabis cultivation. An Oregon medical marijuana patient (and their caregiver, if applicable) may possess up to 16 plants (including six mature plants), which they must grow at a registered grow site. They can produce up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana with those plants.
This law differs from recreational marijuana possession limits that limit households to four plants, regardless of the number of adults in the home.
Oregon Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
- Medical cannabis and recreational cannabis sales are fully legal in Oregon.
- Medical users must be 18 or have a legal guardian who is 18 or older to apply for them.
- Medical use requires an attending physician’s statement.
- Oregon medical marijuana users pay 0% sales tax on marijuana products, while recreational users must pay 20%.
- Users with an Oregon medical marijuana card can possess up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana.
- Cultivation is legal, and medical users can cultivate up to 16 plants (six mature).
Check out our Oregon law page for more in-depth coverage of the state’s medical marijuana laws and rules.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Oregon Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
An online consultation with a licensed healthcare provider for an Oregon medical marijuana card costs $149 with Leafwell. Patients must also pay a separate $200 fee with their state application to the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program.
Here’s an overview of the fees:
- $149 Initial certificate from Leafwell
- $149 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
- $200 State application fee*
(Reduced fees available as follows: $60 for SNAP; $50 for Oregon Health Plan [OHP]; $20 for SSI and Veterans)
The consultation fee includes a 1-year certification, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon?
In Oregon, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Degenerative or pervasive neurological condition
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces one or more of the following:
How does the online evaluation process work for getting a Medical Marijuana certificate in Oregon?
There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Oregon to obtain your medical marijuana card:
- Register with Leafwell and speak to an Oregon physician
- Get approved and download your Attending Physician Statement immediately
- Apply to the state, pay and receive your card in the mail once approved
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon?
You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon. Caregivers must also be 18 years of age.
Minors under 18 can apply with their legal guardian as their caregiver
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Oregon?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Oregon can have a caregiver.
- Minimum 18 years of age.
- Must have valid identification (out-of-state ID is okay).
- Caregivers cannot be the patient’s attending provider.
- Patients can designate one caregiver. There is no limit to how many patients a caregiver can serve.
- Caregivers can also be patients.
- Caregivers can also be designated as a patient’s grower (must be at least 21 years old).
Here’s how the caregiver process works:
- The patient must complete Section 2 in their state application and submit all required information.
- The following caregiver information is required:
- Government-issued photo ID
- I.e. Driver’s License, State ID, Military ID (must show date of birth), US Passport, US-issued Visa, Permanent Resident Card, Tribal ID (including full name, date of birth, and a photo).
- If you are renewing with the same registered Caregiver as last year and the government-issued photo ID you submitted for the Caregiver has not expired, a photocopy of the Caregiver’s government-issued photo ID is not required.
- Additional documentation may be required if:
- Patient is a minor: Patients under the age of 18 must submit a notarized Declaration of Person Responsible for a Minor form signed by the minor’s custodial parent or legal guardian who is responsible for the minor’s health care decisions.
- Patient is designating an organizational or facility caregiver: Complete the Organizational or Facility Caregiver Attestation form and submit it with the state application.
- Government-issued photo ID
- Once approved, the caregiver’s card will be mailed to the patient.
How do I apply for the state program in Oregon?
Here’s how to complete the state application process once you have your Attending Physician Statement from Leafwell. You must do this within 90 days of your appointment with Leafwell.
- Create a new account on the Oregon Medical Marijuana Online System – https://ommpsystem.oregon.gov
- You will need to confirm your email address
- Click Register as a Patient
- Click New Patient
- Submit all the information as required and click Next
- Verify that the address is correct (they will mail you the physical card) and click Yes or No to correct the address
- You can designate a caregiver at this time if you wish
- If you need a caregiver, provide their details at this time
- You can designate a grower at this time too
- Growers must be 21 years or older
- You must provide the address
- Submit your physician’s information – this will all be found on the Attending Physician Statement emailed to you after your appointment with Leafwell
- You then choose which fee you will pay
- There is the option to upload documents which allow you to pay reduced fees if applicable.
- Upload the documents as required. These documents may be:
- Government issued ID
- Your Attending Physician Statement (dated within 90 days)
- Caregiver government issued ID (if applicable)
- Grower’s government issued ID (if applicable)
- Proof of grow site zoning (if applicable)
- Documents which prove eligibility to lower fees (if applicable)
- Complete this application by ticking the Electronic Signature and Certification boxes and typing your name into the box.
- Before submitting, review all information entered to check it is correct.
- Pay the fee
- You will receive an email once the payment has been received and processed
- You can print out a 30 day receipt which permits access to a dispensary for 30 days.