- Medical Program
Get your medical card online in minutes!Get started
90 day supply
6.5-7.25%Depending on county
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Medical marijuana is legal in Ohio. CBD and minor cannabinoids manufactured from hemp-derived CBD are also legal in the state, per federal law. Recreational cannabis, however, is illegal. But several towns and cities have decriminalized small amounts of cannabis locally. Additionally, home growing is unlawful in the state, even for medical card holders.
Ohio established its medical marijuana program in 2016 with the passage of HB 523. The first licensed dispensaries opened and began serving patients in 2019. Since recreational, adult-use cannabis remains illegal in the state, there are several benefits to obtaining your card, including purchasing cannabis products legally and employee protections.
Cultivation is illegal unless you have a cultivation license, even for medical cardholders in Ohio. It’s required that medical cannabis patients purchase their medicine from a licensed dispensary. Registered patients pay a 5.75% sales tax plus any local taxes on medical cannabis at the dispensary.
Patients are allowed a 90-day supply under state law. Medical marijuana products that are authorized and available in dispensaries include oils, tinctures, plant material, edibles, lotions, creams, and patches. Smoking or combustion of medical cannabis is illegal, though state law does allow for vaporization (vaping).
The unauthorized use, possession, sale, or distribution of cannabis in Ohio can incur penalties, including fines and jail time. Imprisonment ranges from 30 days to eight years, and fines vary from $150 to $15,000, depending on the offense.
It’s essential to know the regulations and laws that govern the medical cannabis program you are applying to as a patient. Every state’s medical marijuana program has different features and rules that can impact patients’ access.
To participate in Ohio’s medical cannabis program, state law requires a physician with a certificate to recommend (CTR) to confirm that a patient has one of the following qualifying conditions:
Telemedicine for medical marijuana certification is allowed in Ohio. Contact Leafwell to get your application started, and our team of professionals will help connect you with a state-licensed physician. The application process can be time-consuming and confusing, but telemedicine can make it easy, and you can get certified right from home.
Ohio does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards. Non-resident cardholders are not able to access dispensaries in Ohio.
But, if you are an Ohio medical cardholder and are traveling outside of the state, these states and U.S. territories do have reciprocity laws:
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Cultivation is illegal in Ohio, even if you have a medical card. Penalties for cultivating cannabis in residence can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony offense, depending on how much cannabis is seized. Fines range from $150 to $15,000, and jail time ranges from 30 days to eight years.
Medical cannabis is legal in Ohio. Recreational marijuana is illegal, though certain localities have passed measures that decriminalized small amounts of marijuana.
Cultivation is prohibited for all Ohio residents, and restrictions remain on smoking or combusting dry cannabis flower, even for medical cannabis patients.