Get Certified in Minutes
Money-Back Guarantee If Not Approved
Get Certified in Minutes
Money-Back Guarantee If Not Approved
Renew Your Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card in Minutes
Get Your Money Back If You’re Not Approved
Benefits of Getting a Card
Wondering how a medical marijuana card in Arkansas can transform your cannabis experience?
Log in to Your Leafwell Account
It’s quick and easy! Plus, your data and medical records are secure on our state-of-the-art, HIPAA-compliant telehealth platform.
Please note: Leafwell can only provide telehealth renewals for patients whom Leafwell physicians certified through the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Patient Registry System from 3/13/2020 through 5/30/2021.
Discuss Medical Marijuana With the Healthcare Provider
See your Arkansas healthcare provider online to discuss your renewal. The consultation fee is $149, and you’re only billed if approved.
Receive Your Certificate From Leafwell
Register for medical cannabis by attaching your PDF certificate to a completed State of Arkansas application. You can submit your application online.
The application fee, payable to the state, is $50. The application and Leafwell fees are separate.
Apply for a Card With the State of Arkansas
It takes the Arkansas Department of Health seven to 14 business days to process the application, and it can take seven to 30 days to get a physical copy of your medical marijuana card.
Trusted by 400,000+ Patients
Apply for Arkansas
Claim Your Medical Card TodaySee a Doctor Now
What You Need to KnowApply Now
Eligibility / Patient
Patients must be 18 years old or older and a resident of Arkansas to qualify for a medical marijuana card. Arkansas National Guard and U.S. military members cannot obtain an MMJ card under current Arkansas law.
If a patient is a minor under 18 or otherwise needs assistance accessing or administering medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the application process and assist them.
Can Minors Qualify?
Yes. Minor patients must have their parent or guardian register as a caregiver.
What You Need
You’ll need to provide the following to renew your Arkansas MMJ card:
Medical Marijuana Recommendation
You must show your signed certificate, which includes proof of your condition.
Proof of Address
You will need a government-issued photo ID, such as an Arkansas driver’s license or state ID card.
Save more with Leafwell and get your money back if you’re not approved.
|Renewal with Leafwell
|Avg. other competitors
|Medical marijuana certificate
|State application fee
How to Renew Your Card
Leafwell can only provide telehealth renewals for patients whom Leafwell healthcare providers certified through the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Patient Registry System from March 13, 2020, through May 30, 2021.
Here’s everything you need to know about the Arkansas medical card renewal process.
- Sign in to Leafwell.
- See a licensed physician online, get approved, and download your physician certification.
- Log into your existing Arkansas Medical Marijuana System account to submit your state application*
- Receive your medical card from the state in 10-14 days and legally purchase cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Please note: Patients should renew their card 30 days before expiry to avoid incurring additional fees.
An Arkansas medical marijuana card allows you to access all licensed dispensaries in the state and purchase medical marijuana legally.
Arkansas residents with a medical marijuana card can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 14 days. The card proves that you can legally possess, transport, and consume medical marijuana products.
Dispensaries will stock a range of medical marijuana product types, including tinctures, oils, dry flower, creams, edibles, and plant material used in vaporizers. You can consult your healthcare provider to discuss which products may work best for your needs.
Medical marijuana patients under 21 may be restricted from smokable forms of cannabis.
It is not legal to cultivate cannabis plants in Arkansas, even for qualifying medical marijuana patients or their caregivers.
New patients cannot use telemedicine to obtain a medical cannabis card in Arkansas at this time. In-person visits are required to establish a provider-patient relationship.
A designated caregiver can make purchases on behalf of a patient who has a medical marijuana card (qualifying patient).
- Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age and an Arkansas resident with proof of residency (an Arkansas driver’s license or state ID card).
- The individual being cared for must be physically disabled or a minor. They must have a current medical marijuana card.
- Caregivers must complete a criminal background check without convictions for excluded felony offenses.
- Parents of a minor qualifying patient are not required to complete a criminal history check. The parent will still register as a caregiver and pay the non-refundable registry card application fee.
- State law prohibits members of the Arkansas National Guard and the United States military from obtaining a registry ID card.
- A caregiver may also be a registered qualifying patient.
- A caregiver may serve more than one patient, and patients may have more than one caregiver.
- A caregiver must apply for a registry card for each patient.
Limited reciprocity is available to visiting qualifying patients.
To qualify, the patient:
- Must not be a resident of Arkansas (or has resided in Arkansas for fewer than 30 days).
- Must have been diagnosed with a medical condition recognized under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act.
- Must possess a medical marijuana registration card or its equivalent issued under another state’s laws. (Note: Louisiana residents will need the pharmacy label with the name and expiration date or their doctor’s approval letter/recommendation letter. Texas residents will need their doctor’s approval letters or recommendation letters.)
The out-of-state registration card has the same force and effect as a card issued in Arkansas, except the visiting qualifying patient may not purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Hawaii *
- Michigan (at the dispensary’s discretion)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico
- Oklahoma *
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah * (up to two 21-day periods in a calendar year)
- Washington, D.C.
*Visitors must complete a visiting patient application with the state program.
States that have legalized recreational cannabis for adults 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards include:
Click here for more Frequently Asked Questions about Arkansas.
How much does an Arkansas Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
Please note: We are unable to certify Arkansas patients who are new to Leafwell. However, if you were certified by a Leafwell physician through the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Patient Registry System at any point from 3/13/2020 through 5/30/2021, we can offer telehealth renewals.
An online renewal consultation for existing Leafwell patients in Arkansas costs $149 and includes a 1-year certification. You’ll only be charged if approved.
Patients will also pay a separate $50 application fee to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program.
Here’s an overview of the fees:
- $149 Renewal certificate from Leafwell (existing Leafwell patients from 3/13/20–5/20/21 only)
- $50 State application fee*
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable Pain (pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six months)
- Peripheral Neuropathy
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizures (including those characteristic of Epilepsy)
- Severe Arthritis
- Severe Nausea
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristics of Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Tourette Syndrome
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Arkansas online?
At the moment, it is not possible to apply for a medical cannabis card in Arkansas online. We are watching the legislation changes in the state and hope to reopen soon. However, if you were certified by a Leafwell physician through the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Patient Registry System at any point from 3/13/2020 through 5/30/2021, you are eligible to renew your MMJ card online.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas.
Minor patients may apply with consent from a custodial parent or legal guardian.
Caregivers must be 21 or older.
Please note: We can only see existing Leafwell patients for renewals. We cannot provide certifications for first-time patients or those new to Leafwell at this time.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Arkansas?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Arkansas can have a caregiver.
- Be 21 years of age or older.
- The individual you are providing care for must be physically disabled or a minor.
- Complete a criminal background check with no convictions of an excluded felony offense.
- Parents of a minor are not required to complete a criminal background check.
- Criminal background check may take up to 4-5 weeks to complete.
- Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).
- Caregivers may also be a registered qualifying patient.
- Caregivers can serve more than one patient, and patients can have more than one caregiver.
- Caregivers must apply for a registry card for each patient in their care.
- State law prohibits members of Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.
Caregivers can complete an online application (preferred) or a mail-in application. To apply online as a caregiver in Arkansas, follow this process:
- Register and create an account: https://mmj.adh.arkansas.gov/
- Complete the caregiver application form separately from the qualifying patient.
- Pay the $50 application fee, and $37 background check fee (if applicable).
- You will know if your application has been approved within 14 days of submission and payment.
How do I apply for the state program in Arkansas?
Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:
- Arkansas State ID (Arkansas driver’s license or Arkansas state ID issued by DMV)
- Physician Certification (only the ADH form)
- $50.00 debit or credit card payment (American Express not accepted)
Getting Your Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card
- Go to the Arkansas State website and click on ‘Apply Online.’
- Click on ‘Patient Registration.’
- Enter your name and date of birth.
- Enter a valid email address and create a password.
- Write down/save your password (you will need it later).
- Check your email for a “Confirm Your Account” email (you may need to check trash or spam).
- Confirm your account.
- Once confirmed, you can complete your application on the state website.
- Make sure you complete every box in the application.
- Don’t forget your SSN, Military Status, or signature (using your finger or mouse and sign in the box).
- You will need to upload the following:
- State ID (take a picture and upload it).
- Physician Certification (you can use the PDF version).
- Finish and Pay.
- Check on the status of your application in 14 days. If approved, print your card. If you do not print your card, it will be printed and mailed to you. Registry ID card application fees are non-refundable.
- Your registry identification card from the Arkansas Department of Health will be valid for one year from the date it is issued OR the amount of time designated by the physician.
- Once you have received your registry ID card, you are ready to purchase products from a licensed medical cannabis pharmacy. To purchase medical cannabis, you must bring your medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, with you to the pharmacy.