- An Illinois medical card can save you more than 40% on every marijuana purchase.
- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $125 for the appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Book an Appointment with Leafwell
Speak to a Leafwell healthcare provider to get approved for an Illinois medical marijuana card online.
The consultation costs $125. You’ll get your money back if you’re not approved.
Get Approved for Medical Marijuana
Once approved, your Leafwell healthcare provider will submit your information to the State of Illinois.
We’ll also send instructions for completing your medical card application with the state.
But sit tight: We recommend waiting 24 to 48 hours after your appointment before starting your state application.
Complete an Application with the State of Illinois
Register on the Illinois Cannabis Tracking System, complete your application, and pay the applicable fees to the State of Illinois.
Application fees for IL medical cards are currently:
- $50 for one year.
- $100 for two years.
- $125 for three years.
Receive Your Provisional Letter
A Provisional Letter will be posted in your Illinois Cannabis Tracking System account within 24 to 48 hours.
This letter will allow you to purchase medical marijuana products at licensed dispensaries.
The State of Illinois can take up to 45 days to fully approve your application. When that happens, you’ll receive an official digital medical marijuana card.
Physical cards are no longer issued in the state.
Benefits of a Medical Card in Illinois
Marijuana in Illinois became the 11th state to legalize recreational marijuana on January 1, 2020.
However, even if you live in a recreational state like Illinois, there are still numerous benefits a medical card can offer.
Illinois medical marijuana cardholders can save more than 40% when purchasing marijuana products, thanks to the significant taxes levied on adult-use customers.
Products with higher THC content are also taxed more, so medical users who require higher doses benefit from their cardholder status.
Priority Access and the Ability to Grow Marijuana
Medical patients get priority access to better-quality products sold in dispensaries and can legally grow up to five cannabis plants per household.
Recreational users in Illinois are not allowed to cultivate cannabis.
Higher Possession Limits
Illinois medical marijuana patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis within 14 days, though they can petition via a waiver to raise their personal possession limit.
Recreational users can possess only 30 grams or 15 grams if they’re non-Illinois residents.
When you apply for the card, you must enroll in the Illinois Medical Cannabis Patient Program (MCPP).
Patients must be at least 18 years old to qualify, and those younger must appoint a caregiver who can access cannabis on their behalf.
Caregivers must be at least 21.
Certain professions are not eligible for medical marijuana cards in Illinois.
These professions include active-duty law enforcement, correctional and probation officers, and firefighters.
In addition, active school bus permit holders and commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders are not allowed to get a medical card in the state.
Can Minors Get a Medical Card in Illinois?
Patients under 18 or those unable to manage medical cannabis themselves may select a designated caregiver to assist with the patient’s use of medical cannabis.
Minors will need certification from two physicians.
Patients under 18 may have two designated caregivers if both are parents or legal guardians with significant responsibilities for the patient.
Patients under 18 or those unable to manage medical cannabis themselves may select a designated caregiver to assist with the patient’s use of medical marijuana.
Caregivers must apply for a registry ID card online through the state of Illinois’ online application portal or by completing and submitting a printed application, available online.
Registry ID cards for caregivers are valid for up to three years and the card fee varies depending on the length of the card and whether your patient already has an active card.
As of 2018, Ashley’s Law allows minor patient cardholders access to medical marijuana-infused products at school or on a school bus. Only a registered caregiver may administer these products to the student. Qualifying patients younger than 18 cannot smoke or vape medical cannabis.
What You’ll Need to Apply
To apply for your MMJ Card in Illinois, you must get approved by a healthcare provider, complete the state application, and submit identification documents.
- Basic patient information.
- Legal name and contact information.
- Proof of identity (a state-issued driver’s license or ID card).
- A U.S. passport is also accepted, but you must provide proof of Illinois residency.
- A copy of the medical marijuana recommendation from your healthcare provider.
Medical records are not required, but Leafwell’s healthcare providers like to see them to get a better picture of your medical history.
Illinois-residing veterans who receive health services from Veteran’s Administration (VA) Facilities are not required to obtain a written certification from a physician.
Instead, they can submit 12 months of VA records with their application to the State of Illinois.
Online consultations with one of Leafwell’s Illinois healthcare providers are $125. You’ll get your money back if you’re not approved.
The State of Illinois also charges a separate application fee with pricing depending on how long the card is valid.
Application fees are currently:
- $50 for one year.
- $100 for two years.
- $125 for three years.
Leafwell can also help you to renew your Illinois MMJ card for a $125 appointment fee.
We recommend renewing your medical card at least 30 days before it expires to continue purchasing marijuana products without disruption.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Illinois does not have medical marijuana reciprocity, which means they don’t recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards. However, anyone over 21 can legally purchase marijuana products in the state.
That said, there are other states and territories that recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Arkansas *
- Hawaii *
- Michigan (at the dispensary’s discretion)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico
- Oklahoma *
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah * (up to two 21-day periods in a calendar year)
- Washington, D.C.
*Visitors must complete a visiting patient application with the state program.
States that have recreational cannabis for those 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards include:
- Minnesota (currently only tribal dispensaries)
- New York
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana
In all states with a regulated medical or adult-use program, the only way to purchase marijuana products in Illinois is via a legally-licensed dispensary, pharmacy, or another legally designated space.
The State of Illinois lists licensed marijuana dispensaries on its website.
Qualifying Illinois medical marijuana patients can legally grow up to five plants per household.
This limit applies to the whole home, regardless of the number of qualifying patients.
Illinois Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
Here are some important Illinois medical marijuana laws to know:
- Cannabis is decriminalized in Illinois, with misdemeanors and increasing fines as penalties for exceeding the designated possession limits.
- Individuals cannot consume cannabis in public places, and operating motor vehicles or machinery while using cannabis is prohibited.
- Illinois business owners can create their own marijuana policies and dismiss workers based on their use of marijuana at work.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does an Illinois Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
An online consultation for an Illinois medical marijuana card costs $125 with Leafwell. Patients will also pay a separate application fee to the Illinois Medical Cannabis Patient Program.
Here’s an overview of the fees:
- $125 Initial certificate from Leafwell
- $125 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
- $250 Minor certifications (includes 2 certificates)
- State application fee*
- 1 year: $50
- 2 years: $100
- 3 years: $125 (Recommended to match certification)
- Reduced fees are available for those enrolled in Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability programs: $25/1 year; $50/2 years; $75/3 years.
The consultation fee includes a two-year certification, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Illinois?
In Illinois, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Alzheimer’s Disease (AD)
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Anorexia Nervosa
- Arnold-Chiari Malformation
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy
- Chronic Pain
- Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Type II (CRPS II)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome
- Fibrous Dysplasia
- Hepatitis C
- Interstitial Cystitis
- Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular Dystrophy (MD)
- Myasthenia Gravis
- Nail-Patella Syndrome
- Neuro-Behcet’s Autoimmune Disease
- Opioid Dependence
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
- Polycystic Kidney Disease
- Post-Concussion Syndrome
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy
- Residual Limb Pain
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Seizure Disorders
- Severe Fibromyalgia
- Sjogren’s Syndrome
- Spinal Cord Disease (Including but not limited to Arachnoiditis)
- Spinal Cord Injury (Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity)
- Spinocerebellar Ataxia
- Superior Canal Dehiscence Syndrome
- Tarlov Cysts
- Tourette Syndrome (TS)
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Any terminal illness
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Illinois online?
With Leafwell, applying for an Illinois medical marijuana card online is simple. Here’s what to expect:
- Register with Leafwell and speak to an Illinois-licensed healthcare provider online. Consultations cost $125 and you’ll only be charged if approved.
- Get approved, and the provider will submit your certification to the state using the last four (4) digits of your SSN.
- Register with the Illinois Cannabis Tracking System, complete the state application, and pay the state card fee.
- Once the state application fee is paid, you can access your provisional letter, which can be used as a temporary card while your application is being processed. Your digital card will be available to download as soon as your state application is approved.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Illinois?
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a medical marijuana card in Illinois.
Minor patients may apply with consent from a custodial parent or legal guardian.
Caregivers must be 21 or older.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Illinois?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Illinois can have a caregiver.
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
- Agrees to assist with a patient’s medical use of cannabis and keep their registry identification card in their possession at all times when engaging in the medical use of cannabis.
- Has not been convicted of an excluded offense.
- Caregivers can only have one registered qualifying patient. Patients can have up to three caregivers.
- Caregivers can also be patients.
- There is no separate caregiver application. The patient must add the caregiver information to their state application after approval.
- Caregivers will need to submit a photo taken within the last 30 days (passport-style), proof of identity, and proof of residency.
- Photo: taken in the last 30 days, against a plain white background, natural color (no filters), full-face view w/neutral facial expression, and both eyes open, at least 2×2 in. size
- Proof of Identity: Illinois Driver’s License, State ID, or photograph page of US passport
- Proof of Residency: If your ID address matches the application, then submit ONE other form of residency. If your address does not match or you submit a passport, then submit TWO forms of residency.
How do I apply for the state program in Illinois?
Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:
- A digital photograph (taken within the last 30 days – passport style)
- Proof of age and identity (e.g., IL driving license, state ID, or passport with proof of state residency)
- A credit card to pay for the state application
- A Benefit Verification Letter (or DD214)
Getting Your Illinois Medical Marijuana Card
- Click here (https://etk.icts.illinois.gov/) and click on MCPP Patient Registration.
- Complete the requested information and click ‘Register.’
- You’ll be sent an email notification with a temporary password.
- Log back in with the temporary password and you’ll be able to change it to something memorable by clicking ‘My Account’, then ‘Password.’
- Click ‘+New MCPP Patient Registration.’
- Complete the rest of the information required.
- You can choose to get a card for 1, 2, or 3 years (your certificate from Leafwell is valid for 3 years).
- 1 year = $50, 2 years = $100, 3 years = $125
- If you need a caregiver, you can add their information under the caretaker tab (click for more detailed instructions on this process).
- Complete your personal information. Your name must match what the doctor entered. No middle names, or initials.
- Upload your proof of identity.
- You can upload proof that you are eligible for reduced fees if relevant.
- At the bottom of the terms and conditions, you can type your name into the box to act as a digital signature.
- Click ‘Save.’
- You then need to attach the Healthcare Professional Certificate.
- Click on the ‘Provider Certification’ tab.
- There is a blank text box. Click on the ‘+New’ button and it will open a dropdown. Your certification number should be there.
- Please note: If your certification is not displayed, ensure that there are no middle names or initials on your state application! The name needs to be as it appeared on your original Leafwell registration.
- Click on the Health Care Professional Certification Number drop-down box.
- Your certificate number will be auto-populated in the drop-down box and start with PC. Our providers aim to get your certificates uploaded within 24 hours. If the certificate does not appear within 48 hours, please contact email@example.com.
- Pay for your application and finalize your application.
- You will be directed back to the “Patient Registration” tab. Your status will show “SOS Check” until the card is ready.
- Click on Initial Application under “Tracking Inbox” and you will see “Provisional Letter” to print out. This can be used to legally purchase cannabis until your digital card is ready. It typically is available 24-48 hours after you complete your application.
- Once the state has fully processed your approval, which can take up to 45 days, you can access your digital card.
In addition to contacting Leafwell, free help is available for patients through participating local health departments. Click here for a list of participating locations.