Medical Cannabis Laws in Connecticut
- 2012 – Medicinal Marijuana Legalization Measure (or ‘AN ACT CONCERNING THE PALLIATIVE USE OF MARIJUANA’)
– Governor Malloy signs into law a medical marijuana program for Connecticut, following a 21–13 vote in the Senate
– The regulations establish a defined process for a qualifying patient and primary caregiver to register for a Connecticut Medical Marijuana Registration Certificate and setup both dispensaries and producers in Connecticut.
Recreational Marijuana Laws in Connecticut
- 2021 – Recreational marijuana is legalized in Connecticut, with Governor Ned Lamont signing Senate Bill 1201 (SB 1201) on June 22, 2021. The Senate approved the bill on June 15, 2021 with the bill being passed on June 17, 2021 after amendments from the House.
- Starting 21 July, 2021, those aged 21 or over will be allowed to possess and smoke marijuana or eat and drink cannabis products.
- The bill also allows for the expungement of convictions for possession of less than 4 ounces of cannabis or six plants or fewer and provides broad protections for legal consumers on the job, in schools, and when renting a residence. Any person whose record has been erased can represent that the arrest or conviction did not occur.
- The odor or possession of up to five ounces of cannabis can no longer be used as a basis to stop or search.
- SB 1201 prohibits prosecution for sale or possession when seeking medical assistance.
- Recreational sales aren’t expected to take place until 2022.
Telehealth for Cannabis in Connecticut
Telehealth is legal for medical cannabis consultations in Connecticut. You can see a compassionate and friendly medical marijuana physician online with Leafwell today.
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Cannabis Patients in Connecticut
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Cerebral Palsy – inc. minors
- Chronic Debilitating Migraine
- Chronic Neuropathic Pain Associated with Degenerative Spinal Disorders
- Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), Type 1 and Type II
- Crohn’s Disease
- Cystic Fibrosis (CF) – inc. minors
- Epilepsy – inc. minors
- Hydrocephalus with Intractable Headache
- Intractable Headache Syndromes
- Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity – inc. minors
- Muscular Dystrophy (MD) – inc. minors
- Neuropathic Facial Pain
- Osteogenesis Imperfecta – inc. minors
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Herpetic Neuralgia
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Rheumatoid Arthritis – Severe
- Spasticity or Neuropathic Pain Associated with Fibromyalgia
- Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder – inc. minors
- Terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care – inc. minors
Medical Marijuana for Minors in Connecticut
You must be aged 18 years-old or over in order to get a medical marijuana card for yourself in Connecticut. Those under this age must have a caregiver. Caregivers must:
- Be 18 years old or older;
- Agree to undertake responsibility for managing the well-being of the qualifying patient with respect to the palliative use of marijuana;
- Have not been convicted of a violation of any law pertaining to the illegal manufacture, sale or distribution of a controlled substance – all primary caregivers must register with the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program and must pass a criminal background check before they will be issued an identification card; and
- Not be the qualifying patient’s physician. In addition, if the qualifying patient lacks legal capacity, you must be the patient’s parent, guardian or other person having legal custody of the patient.
Cannabis Possession Limits in Connecticut
For medical card holders = Up to 1 month’s supply, amount determined by physician.
For recreational users = No more than 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower or 7.5 g of cannabis concentrate on their person, and no more than 5 ounces in their homes or locked in their car truck or glove box.
One ounce of cannabis is considered equivalent to five grams of cannabis concentrate or any other cannabis product with up to 500 milligrams of THC.
Cannabis Cultivation Laws in Connecticut
It is illegal to grow cannabis in Connecticut at the moment. Beginning in October of 2021, state-registered medical cannabis patients will be permitted to home-cultivate up to three mature and three immature marijuana plants per person in a household, up to a maximum of 6 mature and 6 immature plants.
Non-medical marijuana patients (i.e. recreational users) will have to wait until July 1, 2023 to be able to grow cannabis legally.
Medical Cannabis Qualification and Gun Laws
It is not legal to possess a firearm and a medical marijuana card at the same time in Connecticut.
Medical Marijuana and Employment Laws
In Noffsinger v. SSC Niantic Operating Co., LLC, a Connecticut federal court held that a federal contractor could not enforce its zero-tolerance drug policy against a medical marijuana user.
Medical Marijuana and Construction.
However, under Connecticut law, employers can still take appropriate employment action based on reasonable suspicion of an employee’s usage of cannabis while engaged in the performance of work or on call, or upon determining that an employee “manifests specific, articulable symptoms of drug impairment” while working or on call.
Employers cannot discharge or take adverse action against an employee because the employee uses cannabis outside of the workplace. Employers must be able to prove impairment whilst at work, and show that the employee’s work is negatively affected by cannabis use.
Employers can still ask employees not to use cannabis whilst at work. Smoking in the workplace is still prohibited, based on the Connecticut Clean Indoor Air Act.
Federal employees are exempted from Connecticut’s protections.
Local Cannabis Laws in Connecticut
Towns and cities like Fairfield, CT and Shelton, CT have applied moratoriums for cannabis-based businesses. New Canaan, Westport, Ansonia, Ridgefield, Trumbull, West Hartford and Madison have also applied moratoriums, but some municipalities may have lifted their restrictions somewhat.
Senate Bill 1201 has improved protections for medical cannabis users, as well as non-medical marijuana enthusiasts. Landlords cannot refuse to rent to, or otherwise discriminating against, an existing or prospective tenant based on a past conviction in Connecticut for possessing specified amounts of cannabis, or in another jurisdiction for possessing four or fewer ounces of cannabis. Tenants are not required to undergo a drug test, and non-inhaled cannabis use cannot be prohibited at one’s rental home.