- Fully legal
2 oz flower, 1 oz concentrate
2 oz flower, 6 g concentrate
Up to 99 plantsRequire physician recommendation
6 plantsMax 3 mature
Get approved by a doctor, then apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Cannabis is legal for both medical and recreational purposes in Colorado. Colorado’s medical cannabis program began in 2000 with the voters’ support of Amendment 20, and voters approved the legalization of recreational cannabis 12 years later.
While Colorado is a fully legal state, it is still illegal to consume cannabis while operating a vehicle, and it is prohibited to consume cannabis in public.
Colorado is a fully legal state, meaning cannabis is legal for recreational and medical purposes, including CBD products. Depending on whether you’re a medical marijuana patient or a recreational user, there are specific laws you should be aware of.
There are many benefits afforded to medical marijuana patients that don’t apply to recreational consumers, including reduced taxation. Those with a Colorado medical marijuana card pay only 2.9% in sales tax, while recreational users spend more than quadruple the amount in taxes.
Qualifying medical marijuana patients can purchase up to 2 ounces of medical marijuana, 8 grams of marijuana concentrate, or marijuana products containing up to 20,000 milligrams of THC in a single transaction.
Colorado was one of the first states to legalize recreational cannabis in 2012 with the passage of Amendment 64. The law allowed individuals 21 years or older to purchase cannabis at licensed dispensaries.
Revenue generated from marijuana taxation goes to the Marijuana Tax Cash Fund. This fund goes toward healthcare, education, substance abuse prevention and treatment programs, and law enforcement.
Adults can possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana. Penalties for possession of amounts that exceed the legal limit or the unauthorized sale or distribution of cannabis include fines or jail time.
Fines can be as little as $100 and up to $1,000,000, depending on the severity of the offense. Jail time penalties range from three months up to 32 years.
Finally, while recreational marijuana is legal in Colorado, delta-8, delta-10, and other psychoactive, hemp-derived cannabinoids are illegal. The use, possession, sale, distribution, and production of hemp-derived cannabinoids is prohibited in the state due to concerns about the unregulated market and minors’ use of these products.
There are many similarities between legal medical and recreational programs from state to state. However, there is no uniformity; therefore, each state usually has a few different elements, requirements, or restrictions in its legal cannabis programs.
The following medical conditions qualify patients for medical cannabis in the state of Colorado:
Telemedicine is not legal in Colorado for medical marijuana certification. As such, Leafwell does not currently see patients in the state, but future legislation changes may allow us to certify patients at some point. Join our waitlist to be notified as soon as we’re open.
Please note that if you use alternative online services to obtain your recommendation, the state may revoke your medical card if they learn that an in-person consultation did not occur.
Colorado does not offer reciprocity for out-of-state medical cannabis patients. However, patients 21 years or older visiting the state can purchase cannabis products from recreational dispensaries. Unfortunately, they will have to pay recreational cannabis prices.
If you’re a Colorado resident traveling outside of the state, however, the following states and U.S. territories do have medical cannabis reciprocity laws where you can use your Colorado med card:
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Regarding cultivation, recreational consumers may grow up to six mature plants per household, with only three plants flowering at a time. Medical patients may grow 12 mature plants. However, this number can be extended to 24 plants under special circumstances, such as living in a city or county that does not limit the number of marijuana plants grown on a residential property.
Recreational and medical cannabis are both legal in Colorado. CBD products are also legal and available for sale in the state. However, hemp-derived cannabinoids such as delta-8 and delta-10 are illegal.
There are also still limits on potency, amount, and age restrictions associated with the possession and use of cannabis. Be sure to check your specific region’s laws, as these limits may differ from county to county.