- A medical card can save you money on every marijuana purchase.
- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $149 for the appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Register online with Leafwell
Speak to a Leafwell healthcare provider to get approved for an Arizona medical marijuana card online.
The consultation costs $149, and you’ll get your money back if you’re not approved.
Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor
You’ll consult with an MMJ doctor for around 15 minutes to evaluate your condition and ask any questions you may have about your medical marijuana treatment. Your certificate will be available immediately after approval.
Receive your card from the state
Arizona does not have physical medical cannabis cards. The AZ versions are electronic MMJ ID cards.
Once you receive your digital AZ MMJ Card, you can legally begin purchasing medical marijuana in Arizona at a dispensary near you! Approval takes approximately 15 business days.
Trusted by 300k+ patients
Benefits of Getting an Arizona Medical Card
You don’t have to have an MMJ card to legally buy cannabis in Arizona, but there are multiple reasons to become a cardholder.
- Lower age of legal consumption
- Lower taxes on cannabis
- Greater cultivation limits for those who live far away from a dispensary
- Higher possession limits
- Greater levels of employment and housing protection
About Medical Marijuana in Arizona
Ballot Proposition 203 "The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act" was approved in 2012. This means that a patient with a written or oral certificate by a physician could use, cultivate and possess cannabis. Arizona’s first medical marijuana dispensary, Arizona Organic, opened in 2012.
Like many other states, Arizona has expanded its telemedicine services and has ordered insurance companies to expand coverage (although medical cannabis is unlikely to be covered by insurance due to its federally illegal status). The barriers have been lowered, meaning that you can speak to a physician online about medical cannabis certification.
Recreational, adult-use marijuana is legal in Arizona. For those 21 or older, possession of up to 1 ounce (28 g) of marijuana (with no more than 5 grams being marijuana concentrate), or growing up to 6 marijuana plants at their home (with up to 12 marijuana plants in households with two or more adult members) is now legal.
You will need:
- Valid ID from the state of Arizona. Driver’s license, passport, or state-produced ID card – patients must be a resident of Arizona unless they visit qualifying patients.
- Proof of address – bank statement, utility bill, correspondence with a state department.
- Medical records – progress/doctor’s notes, medical images, medication list.
Possession and Growing
Qualifying Arizona patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana every 14 days.
Only qualifying patients who live more than 25 miles away from a legally recognized marijuana dispensary may cultivate medical marijuana. Up to 12 cannabis plants can be grown for a qualifying individual.
The patient must complete the application and be approved by ADHS before the caregiver can assist.
Go to the state website. Fill out the application form.
Complete the designated caregiver attestation form.
Once approved, you will receive a caregiver’s identification card.
Limited reciprocity is available to ‘visiting qualifying patients.’
To qualify, the patient:
- must not be a resident of Arizona (or has resided in Arizona for less than 30 days)
- must have been diagnosed with a medical condition recognized under the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act
- must possess a medical marijuana registration card or its equivalent that was issued pursuant to the laws of another state.
The out-of-state registration card has the same force and effect as a card issued in Arizona, except that the visiting qualifying patient may not purchase medical marijuana in Arizona.
An Arizona medical marijuana card is recognized in some other states with a medical marijuana program, although the digital format may make this difficult in some places on occasion.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
Frequently asked questions in Arizona
How much does an Arizona Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
An online consultation for an Arizona medical marijuana card costs $149 with Leafwell. Patients will also pay a separate $150 application fee to the Arizona Department of Health Services.
Here’s an overview of the fees:
- $149 Initial certificate from Leafwell
- $149 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
- $150 State patient application fee*
($75 reduced fee for eligible SNAP participants)
The consultation fee includes a one-year certification, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona?
The following conditions may qualify you for an Arizona medical marijuana card:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment for a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes:
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Arizona online?
With Leafwell, applying for an Arizona medical marijuana card online is simple. Here’s what to expect:
- Register with Leafwell and speak to an Arizona-licensed provider online.
- Get approved and receive a signed Physician Certification Form.
- Complete your state application on the ADHS Individual Licensing Portal.
- ADHS requires an uploaded copy of your Physician Certification Form (from Leafwell). You will also need to complete a Medical Marijuana Patient Attestation via electronic signature or PDF upload.
- ADHS will review your application and process the approval within 15 business days.
- You’ll receive an email from ADHS when your electronic card is accessible on the state’s Individual Licensing Portal.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona?
Can I get an MMJ Card for my child in Arizona?
Minors under 18 can qualify for a medical marijuana card in Arizona with consent from a custodial parent or legal guardian who will serve as their caregiver.
Minor patients must receive two certifications from two separate healthcare providers. Each provider will also need to complete a Reviewing Physician Form for Patients Under 18 form for the patient.
Summary for Parents/Legal Guardians:
- $350 Minor Application fee (includes caregiver). $275 reduced fee for eligible SNAP participants.
- The custodial parent or legal guardian of a patient under 18 can apply online.
- The patient and the parent or legal guardian must apply together and all information entered into the same application.
- Applicants are strongly encouraged to review the application checklist and instructions before completing the online application.
- The parent or legal guardian must also submit a Custodial Parent and Legal Guardian Attestation Form via an electronic signature in the online application or PDF upload (if not signing electronically).
Please note: Leafwell cannot certify minors in Arizona at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience.