Are you interested in getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey? You’ve come to the right place. We hope this article acts as a valuable guide to help you understand the process of applying for your MMJ Card. We keep this information up to date to make sure it is accurate and makes your journey as simple as possible. Keep reading to find out more.
Table of content
- Getting a New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card Online
- Who Can Apply?
- What does an MMJ Card Permit in New Jersey?
- How do I Apply?
- What does My Online Medical Marijuana Evaluation with Leafwell Include?
- How Much does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in New Jersey?
- What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in New Jersey?
- What Documents do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
- Do I Need to Present My Medical Records to Leafwell?
- How Does a Caregiver Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
- Can a Qualifying Patient Grow Cannabis in New Jersey?
- Are My Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
- Does New Jersey Have Medical Marijuana Reciprocity?
- Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Newark, Jersey City, Paterson and Elizabeth
- History of Medical Marijuana in New Jersey
- New Jersey Medical Marijuana Laws
- Useful Links
Getting a New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card Online
Telehealth for medical marijuana is now available in New Jersey. Prior to Covid-19, it was required that a relationship must first be established between patient and physician in-person in order to qualify for a NJ medical marijuana card. However, in light of the global pandemic, consultations can now be done via telemedicine platforms, even for new patients.
Also as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, curbside services can now be provided by medical marijuana dispensaries in New Jersey, allowing patients to practice social distancing. New Jersey has also voted to increase the time between certification renewals. You can now renew yearly, whereas previously you had to renew your MMJ certificate every 90 days.
As a telehealth platform helping people easily obtain their medical marijuana cards, Leafwell has helped our clients quickly and securely get a New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card online. We’ve put together this valuable guide which will answer all your questions and help individuals living in New Jersey understand the importance of applying for their New Jersey MMJ Card via the easy, HIPAA-compliant process offered by Leafwell’s telemedicine platform. You can visit our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card for more general information.
Who Can Apply?
To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey, you must be a legal resident of New Jersey.
You must be aged 18 or over in order to get a medical marijuana card for yourself in New Jersey.
Those under the age of 18, or those who are unable to access medical cannabis for themselves, must have a registered caregiver who applies on their behalf. Registered caregivers must be aged 18 or over. A registered caregiver may apply on behalf of someone who is unable to complete the application independently.
What does an MMJ Card Permit in New Jersey?
The possession limits for those with a valid medical marijuana card in New Jersey is 3 ounces in a 30-day period.
Medical marijuana will be packaged in ¼- or ⅛-ounce denominations.
Currently, edibles are available for all qualifying patients under A20, Jake Honig Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act.
Smoking medicinal marijuana falls within the definition of “smoking” as set forth in the Smoke Free Air Act at N.J.S.A. 26:3D-57, and is therefore subject to the provisions of the Smoke Free Air Act.
How do I Apply?
With Leafwell, you can get your New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:
1. Register online with Leafwell and speak to a friendly physician.
You can speak to a doctor and qualify for a NJ medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $199. You are only billed if approved.
2. Receive your doctor’s certificate from Leafwell
This is a certificate which says that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ Card. I
3. Complete application on the government website
Enter all of your details and submit your physician’s certification to the state government’s website. The cost of the application is $100, payable to the state. Individuals receiving state assistance may be eligible for a reduced fee of $20.
4. Receive your medical marijuana card
If approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail within 7-10 business days. Please note that Leafwell will not be sending you the card – this is issued by the state.
Your new card will be valid for 2 years.
What does My Online Medical Marijuana Evaluation with Leafwell Include?
Your online medical marijuana evaluation with Leafwell is quick and easy. In order to get started, we’ll need you to provide us with some preliminary details and invite you to upload some medical records (this is optional). These are all passed securely to one of our registered practitioners who can familiarize themselves with your application before your consultation.
The consultation itself is simple and secure, taking place on our bespoke telemedicine platform. You will meet with a New Jersey registered practitioner who has experience issuing certificates for medical marijuana to patients for a range of medical issues. The registered practitioner will speak with you about why you are applying and ask some questions with regards to your medical conditions and history.
At the end of the consultation, the registered practitioner will be able to make an informed decision about whether they recommend the use of medical cannabis based on the medical information they have obtained. If an application is successful, the registered practitioner will complete the certification.
If an application is unsuccessful, you will not be charged for the consultation.
Once obtained, the certification will last for two years.
How Much does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in New Jersey?
The initial consultation with one of the New Jersey registered practitioners via Leafwell’s HIPAA-compliant online consultation service is a flat fee of $199. However, if you do not qualify for an MMJ Card and our practitioner elects not to sign your certificate, you will not be charged.
There is a $100 fee payable to the New Jersey government which covers the cost of the application process. Those on state assistance may be able to get their card for a reduced fee of $20. The Medicinal Marijuana Program of New Jersey lists the following categories as eligible for the lower fee:
- Senior Citizen, age 65 and older
- Military Veteran (submit DD-214 Form)
- Social Security Disability (SSD) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
- Submit “Verification of Benefits” letter from SSA.GOV
- NJ Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
- NJ Medicaid
- NJ Temporary Disability Benefits
- Medicare – Under the age of 65
Caregiver applications are usually charged at $100. However, in light of Covid-19, this was reduced to $20. Check the government website to monitor how this fee changes throughout 2020. Parents or legal guardians of minor patients are not charged a fee for their cards.
Leafwell also offers renewal services for those already holding an MMJ Card – the cost is $199.
Note that while your MMJ card is valid for 2 years, it must be presented with a valid doctor’s certification which you’ll receive after your Leafwell appointment. Certificates are licensed for one year. For more information, ask your doctor during your valuation.
Insurance does not currently cover the cost of applying for an MMJ Card in New Jersey.
What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in New Jersey?
For your application to be successful, a registered practitioner must certify a permanent or temporary diagnosis of one or more of the conditions listed under New Jersey law.
According to New Jersey law in 2021, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) aka Lou Gehrig’s disease.
- Chronic Pain (of visceral origin or related to musculoskeletal disorders)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBDs), e.g. Ulcerative Colitis
- Intractable Skeletal Muscular Spasticity
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Opioid Dependence
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure Disorder (Including Epilepsy)
- Terminal Illness (If the physician has determined a prognosis of less than 12 months of life)
- Tourette’s Syndrome (TS)
As of January 2019, opioid use disorder qualifies as a standalone debilitating medical condition for the Medical Marijuana Program as long as the patient is also undergoing medication-assisted therapy (MAT). Therefore, opioid use disorder patients are eligible for medicinal marijuana if they suffer from chronic, painful withdrawal symptoms or as an adjunct treatment to their current MAT regimen.
Note that this list is up to date as of July 2021. Legislation or the Commissioner of Health may add additional conditions, at which time, Leafwell will update this list.
What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
In order to apply for your MMJ Card in New Jersey, you will need to show your signed certificate which provides proof of your condition as well as your identification documents. You should gather together the following:
- A signed certificate (which can be obtained via Leafwell)
Below are all of the acceptable forms these documents may take.
- Valid, unexpired New Jersey Driver’s License
- State or County ID Card
Note that out-of-state ID is accepted with 2 proof of residency
Acceptable proof of residency
- Utility Bill (dated within the last 90 days)
- Any correspondence with the IRS or New Jersey State Tax Office within the last year
- Federal, state or local government correspondence issued to the applicant within the 90 days preceding the application date (showing patient’s name and address)
- Bank statements issued within each of the three months preceding the application date which shows the patient’s name and address
Signed Medical Marijuana Certification
You will need a medical marijuana certificate from a New Jersey licensed physician in order to qualify for medicinal cannabis in NJ.
Do I Need to Present My Medical Records to Leafwell?
No, although we do offer you the opportunity to upload them as part of your application and recommend you include them if you have them.
Seeing your medical records allows our healthcare providers to provide an accurate assessment to ensure that medical cannabis is a good option for each patient on a case-by-case basis. If you want to request a higher dosage, our healthcare providers are more likely to require your medical records.
How does a Caregiver Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under the age of 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.
A primary caregiver is a person who has agreed to assist with a registered qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana. The primary caregiver cannot be the patient’s physician and must be a resident of New Jersey. The primary caregiver can never have been convicted of a felony drug offense. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older.
As of March 2018, caregivers may provide for more than one patient at a time. An “institutional caregiver/s” is defined as “an employee of a health care facility who is authorized to assist qualifying patients who are patients or residents at the health care facility with the medical use of cannabis, including obtaining medical cannabis for the patient from a medical cannabis dispensary or clinical registrant and accepting deliveries of medical cannabis for the patient.”
A minor can have up to two caregivers. There is no application fee for parents or legal guardians of minor patients, so we recommend applying for two caregiver cards, where possible.
Can a Qualifying Patient Grow Cannabis in New Jersey?
No. Cultivating cannabis is illegal in the state of New Jersey for qualified NJ medical marijuana patients.
Are My Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. Leafwell is committed to protecting the privacy of our patients. Our online service is HIPAA-compliant and our systems are designed to keep all of your confidential details safe.
Does New Jersey Have Medical Marijuana Reciprocity?
Yes. Card-carrying out-of-state patients may legally possess cannabis in NJ for up to six months. States like Rhode Island, Nevada and some others may recognize a New Jersey medical marijuana card. Some states will allow MMJ card carriers from other states to apply for their own medical marijuana programs (e.g., Oklahoma, Hawaii).
Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Newark, Jersey City, Paterson and Elizabeth
There is little if any difference in medical cannabis laws between different NJ jurisdictions. Regardless of where you are in New Jersey, you can get a medical marijuana card online with Leafwell. We partner with the following clinics in New Jersey:
Leafwell MD Washington
59 E Washington Ave, Washington, NJ 07882, United States
Leafwell MD Clinton
69 Wal-Mart Plaza, Clinton, NJ 08809, United States
Remember: you don’t have to visit a clinic in-person in order to qualify for a certificate and MMJ card in New Jersey – you can do it all online, with Leafwell!
History of Medical Marijuana in New Jersey
Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana in New Jersey:
- 2010 – Senate Bill 119 (SB 119) is signed into law by Governor Jon Corzine, protecting patients with debilitating illnesses and giving them the right to apply for a medical marijuana card and protect them from arrest and prosecution.
- 2010 – Draft rules outlining the application and registration process for medical marijuana are released.
- 2011 – Senate Concurrent Resolution 140 (SCR 140) is submitted by Senator Nicholas Scutari, declaring “Board of Medical Examiners proposed medicinal marijuana program rules are inconsistent with legislative intent.” New rules are created to streamline the application and permit process for cultivating and dispensing cannabis, and home delivery is prohibited.
- 2012 – Patient registration is opened by the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program. The first dispensary opens up.
- 2013 – Senator Chris Christie signs Senate Bill 2842 (SB 2482), qualifying use of medical marijuana in edible form for minors with debilitating conditions, upon approval of a physician and a psychiatrist.
- 2020 – New Jersey votes to legalise recreational cannabis.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Laws
Medical marijuana patients may not:
- Operate, navigate, or be in control of any vehicle, aircraft, railroad train, or stationary heavy equipment vessel while under the influence of marijuana.
Patients may not smoke medicinal marijuana:
- On a school bus or public form of transportation.
- In a private vehicle unless the vehicle is not in operation.
- On any school grounds, in any correctional facility, at any public park or beach, at any recreation center.
- Any area pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:33-13.
There are some protections for MMJ Card holders in the workplace. Being a registered patient in the Medicinal Marijuana Program does not mean that you do not have to comply with your employer’s drug testing policies. However, every workplace is different so we recommend you familiarize yourself with your employer’s policies on drug testing and know how it applies to you. If you have any specific questions about employer policies, these should be directed to your human resources department.
In May 2020, the Supreme Court in New Jersey said that medical marijuana patients cannot be fired just for failing a drug test.
In November 2020, New Jersey was due to vote on the topic of legalizing recreational marijuana for adults. However the bill stalled. We’ll keep this blog updated with any decisions made and the impact this may have on medical marijauna.
There is also another law currently under discussion, presented early in June 2020. At the moment, possessing from one ounce to five pounds is an offense punishable by three to five years in prison and up to a $25,000 fine. Under the new bill, anyone caught with more than one pound of marijuana would receive a disorderly persons offense, punishable by six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
To find out more about New Jersey cannabis laws, click here.
To find out more about getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey, get in touch with the expert Leafwell team today or use any of these verified resources below:
- State of New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program Homepage
- NJ Division of Medicinal Marijuana
- Patient FAQs
- Latest Information for Patients
- Caregiver information for NJ
- Guidelines for cardholders