- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $199 or your appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Register Online With Leafwell
Book an appointment via Leafwell to meet in-person with a provider near you – initial consultations must be in-person.
Discuss Medical Marijuana With Your Doctor
Attend your in-person consultation and get approved our provider. Our current location is 115 Aulenbrock Dr, Building 200, Suite A, Canton, MS 39046, United States. Please note you must book an appointment first.
Register With the Mississippi State Program
Your certifying provider will register your certification with the state, then you can create an account with the MS DOH and complete the application.
Receive Your Digital Card from the State of Mississippi
Once approved, you’ll receive a digital card – you can use this to buy your medicine from licensed dispensaries.
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Mississippi
Applying for a Mississippi medical marijuana card is the only way residents can legally purchase and consume cannabis in the state. Recreational sales and home cultivation of cannabis remain illegal under state law.
Purchase and Possession Limits
Cannabis possession limits are calculated based on Mississippi Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units (MMCEUs). According to the Mississippi State Department of Health, one MMCEU equals:
- Three and one-half grams of medical cannabis flower;
- One gram of medical cannabis concentrate; or,
- One hundred milligrams of THC in an infused product
Medical marijuana patients may purchase up to six MMCEUs (21 grams of flower) a week and 24 MMCEUs (roughly 3 oz of flower) a month. They can legally possess up to 28 MMCEUs (just under 3.5 oz of flower).
Adults aged 18 and up diagnosed with at least one qualifying condition may be eligible to apply for a medical cannabis card in Mississippi. First, they must schedule an in-person visit with a physician, nurse practitioner, or optometrist participating in the state’s medical cannabis program and get certified. People aged 18-25 must meet with two providers at separate medical clinics.
See below for a complete list of qualifying conditions and step-by-step instructions for the application process.
Can Minors Get a Medical Card in Mississippi?
Yes. But for an individual under 18 to participate in Mississippi’s medical cannabis program, a custodial parent or legal guardian responsible for healthcare decisions must apply on the minor’s behalf, according to the Mississippi State Department of Health.
The parent or legal guardian must also agree to serve as the minor patient’s designated caregiver, controlling the acquisition, dosage, and frequency of use of the patient’s medical cannabis.
Mississippi defines a caregiver as a person at least 21 years of age who has agreed to assist no more than five registered qualifying patients with their medical use of medical cannabis.
Caregivers must apply for a Registered Designated Caregiver Identification Card. This process is similar to applying for a medical card. However, in addition to paying a $25 non-refundable application fee, caregivers must also pass a criminal background check and pay a $37 designated caregiver criminal background check fee.
What You’ll Need to Apply
- A medical certification by a practitioner participating in the medical cannabis program (see “Steps to Apply”)
- Your full legal name
- Date of birth
- Current physical address
- Current mailing address
- Current telephone number or email address
- Identification issued by the state of Mississippi
- A driver’s license or state-issued ID card by the department of motor vehicles
- Two documents demonstrating proof of residency in the state of Mississippi
- Ownership, lease, or rental documents in the name of the applicant for their place of residence
- Utility billing statements (power bill, gas bill, or water bill) in the name of the applicant for their place of residence
- Mississippi vehicle registration in the name of the applicant
- A current photograph of the applicant
- A non-refundable fee for the medical cannabis application and identification card
- An attestation signed and dated by the applicant that the information provided is true and correct.
- An attestation, signed and dated by the applicant, pledging not to divert medical cannabis products to any individual or entity.
- Any other information that the State Department may require
An in-person consultation with a physician, nurse practitioner, or optometrist participating in Mississippi’s medical cannabis program is required by law for approval. A consultation with one of Leafwell’s healthcare providers costs $199 and is valid for one year.
The state also charges a $25 non-refundable application fee ($15 for Mississippi Medicaid participants) for your medical card. That fee can be waived entirely for a 100% disabled veteran or disabled first responder.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Mississippi doesn’t accept out-of-state medical cannabis cards, but it does issue Nonresident Qualifying Patient Identification Cards.
Other states and U.S. territories that have either legalized the recreational use of marijuana or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards include:
- Arkansas *
- Hawaii *
- Michigan (at the dispensary’s discretion)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico
- Oklahoma *
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah * (up to two 21-day periods in a calendar year)
- Washington, D.C.
*Visitors must complete a visiting patient application with the state program.
States that have recreational cannabis for adults 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards include:
- Minnesota (currently only tribal dispensaries)
- New York
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in MS
Home cultivation of cannabis is not permitted for medical cardholders under Mississippi law.
Mississippi Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
Below, you’ll find a few need-to-know medical marijuana laws enforced in Mississippi. Check out our Mississippi law page for more in-depth coverage of the state’s laws.
- Patients can not smoke or vaporize cannabis in vehicles or public places.
- Patients can not drive or operate other motor vehicles under the influence of cannabis.
- Patients cannot cultivate cannabis.
- Patients under 21 cannot enter a dispensary without a custodial parent or legal guardian.
ArticlesSee more posts
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi in 2023
To get a medical MMJ card in Mississippi, book an appointment with Leafwell, talk to a doctor, and register with the Mississippi State Program.
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to get a medical cannabis card in Mississippi?
A consultation for a Mississippi medical cannabis card costs $199 with Leafwell. Patients will also pay a separate $25 application fee to the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program.
Please note: An in-person consultation with a licensed practitioner is required by law for your initial approval. However, telemedicine can be used for 6-month follow-ups and renewals with the same certifying practitioner after the initial in-person appointment.
Here’s the fee overview:
- $199 Initial certificate from Leafwell
- $199 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
- $25 State application fee*
($15 for Mississippi Medicaid participants; waived fees for 100% disabled Veterans or disabled first responders)
The appointment fee to see a Leafwell healthcare provider licensed in Mississippi includes a 1-year certification and a required 6-month follow-up, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What conditions qualify for a medical cannabis card in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Agitation of dementia
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Diabetic/peripheral neuropathy
- Huntington’s disease
- Muscular dystrophy
- Pain refractory to appropriate opioid management
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle-cell anemia
- Spastic quadriplegia
- Spinal cord disease or severe injury
- Ulcerative colitis
You may also qualify if you have a chronic terminal illness, a debilitating medical condition or disease, or its treatment, that produces one or more of the following:
What do I need to know about applying for my medical cannabis card in Mississippi?
Initial patient certifications must be done in person. However, Leafwell can organize your appointment and guide you through the state application. Renewals and follow-ups can be completed online with Leafwell via telemedicine.
Here’s how the process works to get an initial Mississippi medical marijuana card:
- Register with Leafwell and book an appointment to see a provider near you. Consultations are $199 and you’ll only be charged if approved.
- Attend your in-person consultation and get approved.
- Your certifying provider will register your certification with the state.
- Create an account with the MS Department of Health and complete the state application within 60 days. Applications are processed within 30 days.
- Once approved, your digital card will be available to download within 5 days.
Please note: The state of Mississippi requires a follow-up 6 months after your approval. The 6-month follow-up can be done online on Leafwell’s telehealth platform and is included free of charge. When the time comes you will receive an email reminder. Simply log into your Leafwell account to book the Telehealth appointment.
How old do I have to be to apply for a medical cannabis card in Mississippi?
Adults aged 18 and up diagnosed with at least one qualifying condition may be eligible to apply for a medical cannabis card in Mississippi.
People aged 18-25 must meet with two providers at separate medical clinics.
Minor patients must have consent from a custodial parent or legal guardian to apply.
Caregivers must be at least 21 years old.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Mississippi?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Mississippi can have a caregiver. Caregivers must apply after being designated by a patient who is already approved for the program.
- At least 21 years of age (unless the person is the parent or legal guardian of each qualifying patient the person assists).
- Caregiver applicants are prohibited from having a disqualifying felony offense.
- Background checks are required for caregivers. Background check information can be found here.
- $25 nonrefundable application fee and $37 criminal background check fee.
- Assists no more than five (5) registered qualifying patients (certain exceptions).
- Caregivers for minor patients MUST be the child’s primary custodial parent or legal guardian. Documentation of custody will need to be uploaded with the caregiver application in the form of a birth certificate or legal documents designating custody.
- In the event that an applicant is applying to become a registered designated caregiver for a qualified patient who is a minor and the caregiver applicant is not the patient’s parent and/or legal guardian, the caregiver applicant must also submit an authorization from the patient’s parent and/or legal guardian to serve in a caregiver capacity.
Here’s how to apply as a caregiver:
- You must be designated as a caregiver by a patient who is already approved for the program before completing your caregiver application. You must complete and upload an Affidavit for Medical Cannabis Work Permits & Caregivers and Designation of Caregiver Form with your application.
- Go to the Mississippi industry portal and register for a user account. If you are a renewing caregiver, sign back into your account and skip to step 7.
- Fill out the provided form completely. Be sure to select the caregiver application option and that your information is correct before registering as changes cannot be made in the future.
- Read the Terms and Conditions and check the box. Click I’m not a robot, follow the prompts, and click Register.
- Once the registration information is submitted, confirm your email address by clicking the link sent to your inbox. You will not be able to log in until you verify your email address.
- Once your email is verified, log back in.
- Click the +Create New Application link.
- Click the ‘I am a’ drop drown box and choose ‘Caregiver’. If you are a new caregiver, select ‘New Caregiver Registration’. If you are renewing an application, select ‘Caregiver Renewal’. Click ‘Create Application’.
- Begin filling in details on the General Information tab. Enter First Name, Last Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Email, and Phone Number.
- Click the “Save and Next” button to save the edited data fields and complete the rest of the tabs.
- As your application is nearing completion, navigate to the Review tab to verify all required items are completed. If you see any red X’s, you’ll need to go back to the applicable tab to complete the missing items.
- Once your application is submitted, it will be available for review by Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program personnel. Please be sure to monitor your inbox for updates as your application is reviewed. If there are issues with your application, it may be rejected. You will receive an email notification when this occurs. Rejected applications must be corrected and resubmitted through NLS.
How does the online evaluation process work for getting a medical cannabis card certification in Mississippi?
Initial certifications must be done in person, but follow-ups and renewals with the same provider can be completed online. Leafwell has a network of in-person appointment locations to serve patients across Mississippi. Here’s what the process will look like with our provider near you:
- Register with Leafwell by creating a Leafwell account using a valid email address. You’ll be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (we’re required by law to verify your identity).
- Schedule an appointment and attend your in-person consultation. Once you arrive, log into your Leafwell account and check in to the virtual waiting room to notify the provider of your arrival. During the visit, your provider will assess your medical condition(s) to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.
- Once approved, your provider will submit your certification to the state, and then you can complete and submit your state application to the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program online. You’ll receive your digital medical card within 35 business days.
Mississippi State Process
Once a provider has approved you, you need to apply to the state to receive your medical card. Here’s a step-by-step guide for what you’ll need to do:
- Register as a new user with the state here.
- Receive an email to confirm your email address – click the link to verify your email address.
- Once logged in, click “Create New Application,” then click, “New Patient Registration.”
- Under the “General Information” section, complete all requirements (including your name, social security, phone number, and ID number).
- Under the “Contact Information” section, complete all requirements.
- Under “Certifying Practitioner/Condition Information,” click “View Available Certification.” If there is no certificate on file, please wait. It typically takes a provider 24-48 hours to submit your details.
- Once selected, check the information and click “Save & Next.”
- If applicable, input the required information under “Caregiver Information.” If you do not need a caregiver, select “No” and move on.
- Under Questions and Attestations complete all requirements.
- Read each question or attestation and select “Yes.”
- Complete the digital signature at the bottom
- Under “Documents,” upload the following:
- Your digital photograph (passport style)
- Proof of residency
- Proof of ID
- Caregiver authorization (if applicable)
- Parent/legal guardian consent form (if applicable)
- Proof of legal guardianship (if applicable)
- Submit your non-refundable state application fee (by credit card or ACH).
- Once submitted, you will need to wait for state approval.
- Once approved, you can view and download an electronic identification card.
- You may now select a licensed dispensary to purchase your medical cannabis.
Please note: At this time, no dispensaries are currently open in Mississippi.