Table of contents
Cannabis is illegal for both medical and recreational use in Tennessee. However, an exception allows the use of low-THC cannabis oil for patients with a qualifying condition. Additionally, delta-8, delta-10 THC, THC-O, and other minor cannabinoids manufactured from hemp-derived CBD are legal.
In 2014, SB 2531 was passed in the Tennessee state legislature, which legalized 0.6% low-THC oil for research on patients with intractable seizures. Since then, the program has expanded to include more conditions and increased the THC percentage to 0.9%.
Although there is no comprehensive medical cannabis program in Tennessee, the high-CBD, low-THC oil program allows the use of cannabis products with 0.9% THC or less for patients with debilitating conditions that have the appropriate certification from a state-licensed physician. However, there are no state-licensed dispensaries for qualifying patients to purchase medicine.
The medical use of cannabis is not legal in Tennessee, but there is a high-CBD, low-THC oil program for certain qualifying patients. Marijuana program regulations differ from state to state and occasionally in different cities. It’s essential to understand the cannabis laws in your area to ensure compliance.
SB 118 expanded the list of qualifying conditions that would make patients eligible for the low-THC oil program. Initially, only patients with seizure disorders were allowed to apply for certification. Since the expansion qualifying conditions include:
According to the 2022 Tennessee Medical Cannabis Commission report, patients must obtain a “written certification.” Doctors are not permitted to issue this written certification to a patient based on an assessment performed through telemedicine.
Join our waitlist and get notified as soon as the law changes. When we’re up and running in the state, Leafwell can help you connect with a physician and apply for your medical card from the comfort of your home.
Since there is no state-sponsored medical cannabis program in Tennessee, out-of-state medical cannabis cards are not recognized.
The following states and U.S. territories, however, do have reciprocity laws:
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Cannabis cultivation is illegal in Tennessee. Growing marijuana plants for any reason comes with felony charges in the state of Tennessee and is punishable by up to 60 years in prison or fines ranging from $5,000-$500,000.
Recreational marijuana and using cannabis for medical purposes are both illegal in Tennessee. However, an exception allows the use of low-THC cannabis oil for seizure patients. Delta-8, delta-10 THC, THC-O, and other minor cannabinoids manufactured from hemp-derived CBD are legal.