- Medical Program
30 day supplyAmount determined by physician
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, we'll fax your certificate to a dispensary of your choice. Take ID to the store and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Your certificate will be faxed with 24 hours.Get your card
Table of contents
Louisiana has a medical marijuana program. Non-medical, adult use of cannabis is illegal in Louisiana. However, cannabis has been decriminalized.
HB 819, signed by Governor John Bel Edwards, greatly expanded access to medical cannabis. HB 819 allows any licensed doctor in good standing with the state to recommend cannabis for any condition the doctor “considers debilitating to an individual patient and is qualified through his medical education and training to treat.”
Louisiana may one day legalize adult use cannabis for those aged 21 or over, but this will likely take a few years or so yet. The signs, however, are positive. Currently, the possession of 14 grams (almost a half-ounce) is decriminalized and punishable by a $100 fine, with no threat of jail time.
House Bill 652 reduces penalties for personal possession of low amounts of cannabis. Non-medical (recreational) possession of 14 g (just under a half-ounce) or less of cannabis is de-facto decriminalized, with no jail time and a $100 fine. Distribution, selling and possession of large amounts still attracts penalties, and it is important to realize that cannabis possession is still technically a misdemeanor. This is effective as of August 1, 2021.
As of January 1, 2022, registered medical marijuana patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of raw cannabis flower every 14 days.
The Louisiana law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
With Leafwell, you can get your Louisiana Medical Marijuana Certificate in 4 simple steps:
Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.
Yes, telemedicine is legal in Louisiana and you can get certified for cannabis online.
Medical card holders only = A maximum of 30 days’ supply, amount determined by physician. Medical cannabis patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of raw cannabis flower every 14 days.
It is currently illegal to grow cannabis in Louisiana, even for medical marijuana patients.
Louisiana does not have reciprocity with other states, so does not recognize their medical marijuana cards.
Yes, a Louisiana medical marijuana card is honored by some other states with reciprocity.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is fine) – just that you are protected by the state’s medical marijuana laws to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and you intend on purchasing medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also beholden to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing a visiting patient application to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
Although Louisiana has legalized medical marijuana for qualifying individuals with a physician’s recommendation, the law does not address employer concerns or employment protections. This means that an employer may possibly terminate your employment for positive testing of cannabis, even if medically recommended. You cannot consume cannabis at your place of employment.
Medical cannabis in Louisiana must be tested for cannabinoid content, pesticides, contaminants, moisture/water levels and heavy metals.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy, or another legally designated space to purchase cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can actually do so.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals or any other such healthcare space is also illegal. Private members club and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense and generally keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.