Are you interested in getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire? You’ve come to the right place. We hope this article acts as a valuable guide to help you understand the process of applying for your MMJ Card. We keep this information up to date to make sure it is accurate and makes your journey as simple as possible. Keep reading to find out more. Unfortunately, at this time, we can only renew existing medical marijuana patients in New Hampshire online via telehealth. Those seeking an initial certification will need to speak to a doctor in-person.
Table of contents
- Getting a New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card Online
- Who Can Apply?
- What Does an MMJ Card Permit in New Hampshire?
- How do I Apply?
- What Does my Online Medical Marijuana Evaluation with Leafwell Include?
- How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in New Hampshire?
- What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in New Hampshire?
- What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
- Do I Need to Present my Medical Records to Leafwell?
- How Does a Caregiver Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
- Can a Qualifying Patient Grow Cannabis in New Hampshire?
- Are my Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
- Does New Hampshire Have Medical Marijuana Reciprocity?
- Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Manchester, Nashau, Concord, and Dover
- History of Medical Marijuana Laws in New Hampshire
- Current New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws
- Useful Links
Getting a New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card Online
Telehealth/telemedicine is available in New Hampshire for renewals only. Following the COVID-19 pandemic, on August 14th, 2020, the Governor of New Hampshire issued Emergency Order 8 which permits telehealth for health care service delivery, in place of an in-person assessment, but this emergency order is no longer in place.
As a telehealth platform helping people easily obtain their medical marijuana cards, Leafwell has helped our clients quickly and securely renew their New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Certificate online. We’ve put together this valuable guide which will answer all your questions and help individuals living in New Hampshire understand the importance of applying for their New Hampshire MMJ Card via the easy, HIPAA-compliant process offered by Leafwell’s telemedicine platform.
Who Can Apply?
To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire, you must be a legal resident of New Hampshire.
Patients must be aged 18 or over in order to apply for a medical marijuana card for themselves. Minors can have caregivers apply on their behalf.
Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older. Each patient can only have one caregiver at a time but minors can have two caregivers. Caregivers must not have a felony conviction on their record.
For online medical marijuana consultations, you will need to be an existing New Hampshire medical marijuana patient.
What Does an MMJ Card Permit in New Hampshire?
As an MMJ Card holder in New Hampshire, you are permitted to possess:
- 2 ounces of cannabis during a 10 day period
- Not more than 2 ounces at any one time
If you have a caregiver, the total possessed between you combined cannot exceed 2 ounces.
How do I Apply?
With Leafwell, you can get your New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:
1. Register online with Leafwell
You can speak to a doctor and renew your New Hampshire medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $199. You are only billed if approved. The doctor will ask you questions based on your medical history and provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.
2. Receive your certificate from Leafwell in the mail
This is a certificate which says that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ Card. It will be mailed to shortly afterwards. You need the hard copy to apply to the government.
3. Complete the application – download and print it from the government website
New Hampshire still processes paper applications. You can download it here. You will need to pay the $50 application fee to the New Hampshire state. At this point you must specify which Alternative Treatment Centre you wish to use. You can only be registered to use one ATC at any one time but you can change which centre you’re registered with on the state website. Once you’ve completed the application, mail the application plus the certificate from Leafwell to the state.
4. Receive your medical marijuana card
If approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail up to 3 weeks later. Your certificate will be valid for one year from the date of issue.
What Does my Online Medical Marijuana Evaluation with Leafwell Include?
Your online medical marijuana evaluation with Leafwell is quick and easy. In order to get started, we’ll need you to provide us with some preliminary details as well as some medical records. These are all passed securely to one of our registered practitioners who can familiarize themselves with your application before your consultation.
The consultation itself is simple and secure, taking place on our bespoke telemedicine platform. You will meet with a New Hampshire registered practitioner who has experience issuing certificates for medical marijuana to patients for a range of medical issues. The registered practitioner will speak with you about why you are applying and ask some questions with regards to your medical conditions and history.
At the end of the consultation, the registered practitioner will be able to make an informed decision about whether they recommend the use of medical cannabis based on the medical information they have obtained. If an application is successful, the registered practitioner will complete the certification, which will be promptly mailed to you, ready to be sent as part of an application to the New Hampshire government.
If an application is unsuccessful, you will receive an email detailing why our registered practitioner felt unable to provide you with the certificate. You will not be charged for the consultation.
Once obtained, the certification will last for one year. Only renewal certificates may be issued online.
How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in New Hampshire?
The initial consultation with one of the New Hampshire registered practitioners via Leafwell’s HIPAA compliant online consultation service is a flat fee of $199. However, if you do not qualify for an MMJ Card and our practitioner elects not to sign your certificate, you will not be charged.
It costs $50 for the MMJ Card and application form, payable to the state. This is a non-refundable fee which must be paid every time you apply. Each card is valid for one year. Every time you renew, you will be required to meet with a state-licensed physician via a telemedicine platform like Leafwell and then renew your card via the state website.
There is an $50 additional fee for designated caregiver applications and caregivers must also pay to complete their own criminal background check.
Insurance does not currently cover the cost of applying for an MMJ Card in New Hampshire because cannabis is illegal at the federal level.
What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in New Hampshire?
According to New Hampshire law in 2021, the following debilitating conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card in New Hampshire:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chemotherapy induced anorexia
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn’s disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Elevated intraocular pressure
- Hepatitis C (currently receiving antiviral treatment)
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Seizures, including those associated with Epilepsy
- Severe pain (that has not responded to previously prescribed medication)
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
- Ulcerative colitis
- Wasting syndrome
Note that this list is up to date as of August 2021. Legislation or the Commissioner of Health may add additional conditions, at which time, Leafwell will update this list.
What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
In order to apply for your MMJ Card in New Hampshire, you will need to show your signed certificate which provides proof of your condition as well as your identification documents. You should gather together the following:
- Proof of New Hampshire residency
- Your certificate from Leafwell
Below are all of the acceptable forms these documents may take.
Acceptable proof of residency
- New Hampshire driver’s license (front only); OR
- State or federal government-issued identification that shows your name and NH address; OR
- Any other documentation that contains your name and current NH address, such as a current lease agreement, tax documents from the previous calendar year, or a recent utility bill.
A hard copy will be mailed to you upon successful completion of your consultation with a registered practitioner on Leafwell’s secure platform. It should arrive within 5-7 days.
Do I Need to Present my Medical Records to Leafwell?
Yes. In order to responsibly sign a certificate which permits individuals to apply for an MMJ card, our registered practitioners must have a comprehensive understanding of your medical history. You must provide medical records from a specialist who has been managing your care for this condition.
This allows them to provide an accurate assessment to ensure that medical cannabis is a good option for each patient on a case-by-case basis.
How Does a Caregiver Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under the age of 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.
Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older. Caregivers must submit their Designated Caregiver Application on the state website and pay a $50 application fee. Caregivers must also undergo a state and federal background check (and get fingerprinted) and pay the fee to complete this check. Patients do not need to have a criminal background check.
Can a Qualifying Patient Grow Cannabis in New Hampshire?
No, medical marijuana patients cannot grow cannabis in New Hampshire. Legislation is currently pending to permit cultivation.
Are my Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. Leafwell is committed to protecting the privacy of our patients. Our online service is HIPAA compliant and our systems are designed to keep all of your confidential details safe.
Does New Hampshire Have Medical Marijuana Reciprocity?
Some states accept out-of-state Medical Marijuana Cards. This is called reciprocity. The following states accept out-of-state medical cannabis cards:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Hawaii *
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- Washington ^
- Washington D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out of state cards.
Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Manchester, Nashau, Concord, and Dover
Cannabis was decriminalized in New Hampshire in 2017 and help was legalized in 2018. There is little if any difference in medical cannabis laws between different New Hampshire jurisdictions. Regardless of where you are in New Hampshire, you can get a medical marijuana card online with Leafwell, MD. Here are our current state partners:
Leafwell MD Dover
26 Crosby Rd Ste 11, Dover, NH 03820
+1 (800) 660-9085
Remember: you don’t have to visit a clinic in-person in order to qualify for a certificate and MMJ card in New Hampshire – you can do it all online, with Leafwell!
History of Medical Marijuana Laws in New Hampshire
Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana laws and legislation in New Hampshire:
- 2013 – House Bill 573 (HB 573) is introduced and signed into law by Governor Maggie Hassan. This bill established a registry identification system and the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis Advisory Council.
- 2014 – the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHSS) started proposing rules for the regulation of cannabis, and published the “Therapeutic Cannabis Program Registry Rules”.
- 2015 – DHSS starts issuing Registry Identification Cards.
- 2016 – Dispensaries open.
- 2017 – Possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana for personal use is decriminalized. This is reduced to approximately 21 g, or ¾ of an ounce. Possession of up to 21 g of cannabis for a first or second offense is considered a Civil Violation and brings with it a fine of up to $100.
- 2020 – House Bill 1648 legalized possession of up to ¾ of an ounce and allows adults to home cultivate up to three mature marijuana plants. Legislation is now pending in the senate.
- 2020 & 2021 – Emergency orders are instituted to allow for initial medical cannabis consultations and certifications online during the COVID-19 Crisis. These emergency orders have now been lifted, meaning that only existing New Hampshire medical marijuana patients can qualify for a medical marijuana certificate online via telehealth. New patients must speak to a qualified New Hampshire-licensed medical marijuana physician in-person for their initial appointment.
Current New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws
Possession of over 21 g is considered a misdemeanor and carries an incarceration period of up to 1 year and/or a fine of $350. Possession of up to 5 g of hash or concentrates without licence is also a Civil Violation. Possession of more than 5 g of hash is a misdemeanor, and manufacturing concentrates or hash is a felony.
Sale or possession with intent to sell is a felony, with up to 3 years in prison and/or a $25,000 fine for any amount less than 1 ounce. 1 oz – 5 lbs, and it goes up to 7 years’ incarceration and/or a $100,000 fine. More than 5 lbs, and it’s up to 20 years’ imprisonment and/or a fine of $300,000.
Cultivation is held to similar standards as possession or possession with intent to sell.
Subsequent offenses or offenses taking place within 1000 feet of school grounds and bring stiffer and higher penalties.
To find out more about getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Hampshire, get in touch with the expert team at Leafwell today or use any of these verified resources below: