Medical Cannabis Laws in Pennsylvania
2016 – Medical Marijuana Act SB 3
“An Act establishing a medical marijuana program; providing for patient and caregiver certification and for medical marijuana organization registration; imposing duties on the Department of Health; providing for a tax on medical marijuana organization gross receipts; establishing the Medical Marijuana Program Fund; establishing the Medical Marijuana Advisory Board; establishing a medical marijuana research program; imposing duties on the Department of Corrections, the Department of Education and the Department of Human Services; and providing for academic clinical research centers and for penalties and enforcement.”
Governor Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 3 to legalize the medical use of cannabis
A 5% tax rate was imposed on sales between growers, processors, and dispensaries.
No allowance for home cultivation was made.
Telehealth for Cannabis in Pennsylvania
Telehealth is temporarily legal for online medical cannabis consultations in Pennsylvania. You can see a compassionate and friendly medical marijuana physician online with Leafwell today.
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Cannabis Patients in Pennsylvania
- Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy
- Coeliac Disease
- Crohn’s Disease
- Damage to the Spinal Cord
- Dyskinetic and Spastic Movement Disorders
- Huntington’s Disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBDs)
- Intractable Seizures
- Intractable Spasticity
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Neurodegenerative Diseases
- Neuropathic Pain
- Opioid Use Disorder
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe chronic/intractable pain
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Terminal Illness
- Tourette’s Syndrome
Cannabis Laws and Children in Pennsylvania
You must be aged 18 or older in order to get an MMJ card for yourself in Pennsylvania. Those under 18 years-old must have a caregiver. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over. You cannot be a caregiver if you have been convicted of a criminal offense relating to the sale or possession of drugs, narcotics or controlled substances within the last five years. Caregivers may provide care for up to five patients.
The Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Act allows parents to come to school to administer medical cannabis to their child if necessary. The school shall provide a secure and private location for the parent/legal guardian/caregiver to administer the medical marijuana to the student.
Cannabis Possession Limits in Pennsylvania
- For medical card holders = 30 day supply, to be determined upon consultation.
- For recreational users = Illegal
Cannabis Cultivation Laws in Pennsylvania
It is illegal to grow cannabis in Pennsylvania, even with a valid medical marijuana certificate and card.
Cannabis and Gun Laws in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania statute allows for a citizen of the Commonwealth to hold a validly issued Medical Marijuana Card, possess approved forms of medical marijuana and have a valid license to carry firearms, but it is still illegal under federal law.
Cannabis and Employment Law in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania’s law does not require employers to “make any accommodation of the use of medical marijuana on the property or premises of any place of employment.” Employers are able to discipline you for using medical marijuana in the workplace, or for being “under the influence” of cannabis.
Local Cannabis Laws in Pennsylvania
|Philadelphia||September 2014||City council voted 13–3 to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $25 fine.|
|Pittsburgh||December 2015||City council voted 7–2 to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $25 fine.|
|Harrisburg||July 2016||City council voted unanimously to decriminalize small amounts, punishable by a $75 fine.|
|State College||August 2016||City council voted 5–2 to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $250 fine|
|York||July 2017||City council voted 4–1 to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $100 fine.|
|Erie||January 2018||City council voted unanimously to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $25 fine.|
|Allentown||May 2018||City council voted 4–3 to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $25 fine for a first offense.|
|Bethlehem||June 2018||City council voted 6–0 to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $25 fine for a first offense.|
|Lancaster||September 2018||City council voted 6–1 to decriminalize small amounts, punishable by a $25 fine for a first offense.|
|Steelton||March 2019||Borough council voted 5-0 to decriminalize up to 30 grams for a first offense, punishable by a $25–$100 fine.|
|Delaware County||November 2020||County council voted unanimously to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $50 fine.|
|Carlisle||December 2020||Borough council voted to decriminalize up to 30 grams, punishable by a $25 fine.|