- Fully legal
Get your medical card online in minutes!Get started
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, receive your certificate in the mail and apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Receive the original certificate in the mail in 5-7 days.Get your card
Table of contents
Medical and adult use of cannabis is legal in New Mexico.
Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act SB 0523
Governor Bill Richardson signs into law Senate Bill 523, the “Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act.”
The bill allowed the use of cannabis with a physician’s recommendation to treat certain medical conditions such as HIV/AIDS, cancer, glaucoma, multiple sclerosis, and epilepsy.
It was preceded by the Controlled Substances Therapeutic Research Act (1978), which gave access to 250 patients with cancer. There was an act in place in Washington as well.
Recreational (adult-use) cannabis is legal as of June 29, 2021.
Adults 21 and older can possess up to two ounces of cannabis and grow up to six mature plants for personal use. House Bill 2, the Cannabis Regulation Act, was signed into law by Governor Lujan Grisham on April 12, 2021.
Republican Governor Gary Johnson set off a political firestorm in the state when he endorsed the drug legalization policy. Johnson called for the legalization of cannabis and said that the drug’s dangers had been significantly exaggerated.
House Bill 356 was introduced. The bill died in the legislative session’s final days when the state Senate Finance Committee, chaired by John Arthur Smith, refused to give the bill a hearing.
Decriminalization. Possession of up to 1⁄2 ounce (14 g) of cannabis is a petty misdemeanor offense, punishable by a $50 fine.
HB 2 legalizes recreational cannabis.
Possession of cannabis for adults 21 and over becomes legal on June 29, 2021. No possession limit applies at home, while a two-ounce limitation applies outside the home.
Personal cultivation of six mature plants and six immature plants is allowed per person, with a limit of 12 mature plants per residence.
Retail sales of cannabis are announced to begin by April 1, 2022. A 12% excise tax will apply in addition to regular sales taxes. The excise tax will increase by 1% each year from 2025 until reaching 18% in 2030.
No limit is specified on the number of retail licenses to be issued. Local governments cannot ban dispensaries entirely but can limit the number allowed or restrict their location.
Public consumption remains illegal, but businesses can offer on-site consumption if certain requirements are met.
Any arrests or convictions for acts made legal by the bill will automatically be expunged.
The first recreational adult use stores opened in New Mexico on April 1.
The New Mexico law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
With Leafwell, you can get your New Mexico Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:
1. Register online with Leafwell – It’s quick and easy! Your data and medical records are secure on our state-of-the-art telemedicine platform.
2. Consult with a certified physician licensed in New Mexico state with Leafwell – This consultation fee is $99. Once you’ve completed the enrolment paperwork, you’ll be connected to a New Mexico physician. The process is simple and HIPAA-compliant. Once approved, your physician will enter your details into the state database.
3. Apply to the New Mexico government, called the New Mexico Department of Health (NMDOH) Medical Cannabis Program – Complete the government application and submit it to the state.
4. Your physical medical marijuana card will be sent to you within 35 days of submission – Most cards arrive much sooner. Still, when the government is experiencing high volume, patients may have to wait a little longer. The card is valid for three years, but you will need to meet with a Leafwell physician yearly to recertify that your qualifying condition is still applicable. Please note that cards are issued by the state, not Leafwell. Leafwell will not be mailing you anything.
The state of New Mexico is working on making digital versions of NM medical cannabis ID cards, but they are not available as of yet.
You must be 18 years old or over to undergo a medical cannabis evaluation with a physician for yourself. Those under 18 years old will need a caregiver, who must be aged 21 or over and is responsible for looking after the patient.
Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.
Yes, telemedicine is legal in New Mexico, and you can get certified for cannabis online.
Up to 6 mature plants per person, with a maximum of 12 per household for medical and recreational growers.
New Mexico has an uneasy relationship when it comes to medical marijuana reciprocity. Recent law changes barred reciprocity with other states, but this law has been challenged and ruled “unlawful.” As of July 1, 2021, New Mexico must recognize and allow purchases for out-of-state patients with valid medical marijuana cards.
New Mexico patients were once barred from applying to medical marijuana programs from other states. However, this has been deemed illegal, so New Mexico medical marijuana cards can now be recognized and honored by other states that allow for medical marijuana reciprocity.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is fine) – just that the state’s medical marijuana laws protect you to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and intend to purchase medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also accountable to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing visiting patients to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
Unless a failure to do so would cause the employer to lose a monetary or licensing-related benefit under federal law or federal regulations, it is unlawful to take adverse employment action against an applicant or an employee based on conduct allowed under the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act. However, employers may still prohibit or take adverse employment action against an employee for the use of, or being impaired by, medical cannabis on the premises of the place of employment or during the hours of employment. Similarly, the employer may take adverse action if the employee works in a safety-sensitive position.
Cannabis in New Mexico must be tested for cannabinoid and terpene content, residual solvents, pesticides, heavy metals, and microbial contamination.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy or another legally designated space to buy cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can do so.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or other such healthcare space is also illegal. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense, generally keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.