Log in

Apply for Your Utah Medical Marijuana Card Online

Get Your Money Back If You’re Not Approved

values header icon

Best Care, Best Value

values header icon

Quick and Easy Process

values header icon

Get Approved or Your Money Back

Join the waitlist

Name

Email

Cell Phone

Please add an international code if your number isn't a US number

Already a Leafwell patient?
Log in here

Benefits of Getting a Card

Wondering how a medical marijuana card in Utah can transform your cannabis experience?

Benefit Card No Card
Purchase Cannabischeck
Possess Cannabischeck
Use Cannabischeck
Join the Waitlist

State-Specific Steps

Embarking on your journey to relief in Utah is simple. Let our caring specialists guide you through the state-specific steps to obtain your medical cannabis card.
Youtube poster
  1. 1

    Join the Waitlist

    While Leafwell cannot currently see patients online in Utah, we can put you on our waitlist to let you know when that changes.

  2. 2

    Sign up When the Law Changes

    Once our services are available in Utah, you’ll be able to speak to one of our healthcare providers about your medical cannabis needs during your consultation.

Apply Now

Trusted by 400,000+ Patients

card-image-2

What You Need to Know

  • info icon

    Eligibility / Patient

    To apply for a medical marijuana card yourself, you must be a legal resident of Utah and at least 21 years old. New and existing patients must see a healthcare provider in person to be eligible.

    Patients aged 18-20 can qualify with the recommended approval of the Compassionate Use Board.

  • caregiver icon

    Caregiver

    Medical marijuana patients in Utah can designate a caregiver. A caregiver must be listed on the patient’s application form for those who need assistance with obtaining or dosing medical cannabis (including patients under 18).

  • minors medical cannabis

    Can Minors Qualify?

Apply Now

What You Need

You’ll need to provide the following to apply for a Utah MMJ card:

  • chart-icon

    Medical Records (Required for Minors Only)

    Medical records are optional for adult applicants but are required for minor patients in Utah.

  • info-icons-2-icon-1

    Medical Marijuana Recommendation

    Once approved, your healthcare provider will submit your certification to the Utah Department of Health and Human Services to complete your application with your information and social security number.

  • ID icon

    Proof of Identity

    You will need a government-issued photo ID, such as a Utah driver’s license, state ID card, or passport with proof of residency. You must also provide the last four digits of your social security number.

  • ID icon

    Proof of Utah Residency (Optional)

    Proof of residency is only required for patients applying with a U.S. passport as their proof of identity.

    Acceptable proof of residence shows your full legal name and current address, such as utility bills, bank statements, recent property tax statements, voter registration cards, and health insurance documents.

Get Started

Cost Information

Save more with Leafwell and get your money back if you’re not approved.

Please note: Additional state fees may apply if you register for a guardian and provisional patient card ($68.25 initial fee and $24 fee for renewals) or caregiver card ($68.25 initial fee, free first renewal, and $14 for subsequent renewals).

label New with Leafwell Renewal with Leafwell Avg. other competitors
Medical marijuana certificate$125$125$200
State application fee$15$15$15
Total$140$140$215
Apply Now

How to Renew Your Card

Please note: We are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we’re open again.

Generally, you can start the renewal process 30 days before your card expires, but you will not be issued or able to print your updated card until after your previous card has expired.

Here’s an overview of the process:

  1. Log in to the EVS and update your patient status to “Awaiting Certification” by verifying your profile information.
  2. Speak with a qualified healthcare provider and get approved for renewal.
  3. Once approved, your provider will submit your renewal certification to the Utah Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to complete your application.
  4. Return to the EVS website and pay the $15 fee for your digital medical card.

Legal Topics

As a medical marijuana cardholder in Utah, you are permitted to possess cannabis. However, there are still strict restrictions in place. Here are some critical Utah medical marijuana laws to know:

Patients may possess a 30-day supply, defined as:

  • Up to 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower).
  • Up to 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.

Available product types include:

  • Aerosols
  • Tablets
  • Capsules
  • Concentrated oils
  • Liquid suspensions
  • Transdermals
  • Gelatinous cubes
  • Wax or resin
  • Medical cannabis devices such as vape pens
  • Unprocessed cannabis flower

Smoking cannabis is illegal in Utah, even for medical reasons. However, vaporizing is acceptable. The law also prohibits brownies, candies, cookies, or other edible products.

For the moment, you may not grow cannabis in Utah, even if you are a qualifying medical marijuana patient.

Caregivers

Caregivers are adults 21 years of age or older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers must be designated by the patient cardholders they will be assisting.

Minor patients and their parent or legal guardian must apply for a minor/guardian card.

Different cards available:

  • Guardian Cards: Parents or legal guardians of minors eligible to consume medical cannabis. These cards are issued in conjunction with provisional patient cards.
  • Provisional Patient Cards: Minors under the age of 18 who meet the eligibility requirements to consume medical cannabis. These are issued in conjunction with guardian cards. All provisional patient cards must have approval from the Compassionate Use Board.
  • Caregiver Cards: Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers must be designated by the patient cardholders they will be assisting.

Caregiver Requirements:

  • Minimum 21 years of age.
  • The patient must have an active medical cannabis card to register as their caregiver.
  • Must complete a background check (after application payment, the Department of Health will email the caregiver about how to begin the process).
  • Patients can have up to two caregivers.

Reciprocity

Utah recognizes some medical marijuana cards from patients visiting from another state. To be eligible, the visiting patient must have a Utah qualifying condition and register with the Utah Department of Health and Human Services for a non-Utah resident card.

Non-Utah Residents may request a card for up to two 21-day periods within a calendar year.

The following states and territories recognize Utah medical marijuana cards:

*Visitors must complete a visiting patient application with the state program.

The following states have recreational cannabis for adults 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards:

FAQs

How much does an Utah medical marijuana certificate and card cost?

Unfortunately, we are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we are open again. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Patients must pay a separate $15 application fee to the Utah Medical Cannabis Program.

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Utah?

The following conditions may qualify you for a Utah medical marijuana certificate and card:

Please note: We are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we are open again. We apologize for any inconvenience.

What do I need to know about applying for my medical cannabis card in Utah online?

Please note: We are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we are open again. We apologize for any inconvenience.

You can start the renewal process 30 days before your card’s expiration date, but you will not be issued or able to print your updated card until after your previous card has expired.

Here’s an overview of the renewal process:

  1. Log in to the EVS and update your patient status to ‘Awaiting Certification’ by verifying your profile information.
  2. Speak with a qualified healthcare provider and get approved for renewal.
  3. Get approved and your provider will submit your renewal certification to the Utah Medical Cannabis Program to complete your application.
  4. Go back to the EVS and pay the $15 fee for your digital medical card.

How old do I have to be to apply for a medical marijuana card in Utah?

You must be at least 21 to apply for a medical marijuana card in Utah. Caregivers must also be 21.

Patients between 18 and 20 and minors with parental/guardian consent may qualify if the Compassionate Use Board recommends approval (e.g. terminal or chronic illnesses).

Please note: We are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we are open again. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Utah?

Please note: We are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we are open again. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Yes, medical marijuana patients in Utah can have a caregiver.

Caregiver Requirements:

  • Minimum 21 years of age.
  • The patient must have an active medical cannabis card in order to register their caregiver.
  • Must complete a background check (after application payment, the Department of Health will email the caregiver about how to begin the process).

Here’s how to apply as a caregiver:

  1. Before a caregiver begins the process to apply for a medical cannabis caregiver card, a patient must add the caregiver’s information to the electronic verification system (EVS). Review the Utah resident application guide for instructions on how to add a caregiver to a patient account.
  2. Create a Utah ID account in the Caregiver’s name if they do not already have one.
    1. A Utah ID account can be created by going to id.utah.gov.
    2. For Utah ID account creation instructions, click here.
  3. Review the caregiver EVS user guide and apply online for a medical cannabis card.
  4. Pay the medical cannabis card application fee online in the EVS.
    1. Medical cannabis card fees:
      1. Caregiver Card (primary patient initial): $68.25
      2. Caregiver Card (secondary patient initial) $15
      3. Caregiver Card (first renewal): No charge
      4. Caregiver Card (primary patient subsequent renewals): $14
    2. All applications will be complete and enter ‘Awaiting State Review” status after a caregiver has made payment.
  5. After payment, DHHS will contact caregivers using the email they have submitted in the EVS to begin the background check process.
  6. The application review process will be completed 15 days or less from the date the caregiver’s background check has cleared.
  7. If all requirements have been met, the DHHS will issue the medical cannabis caregiver card. The caregiver will receive their card via email. The caregiver can then save the card on their smartphone or print them out.
  8. Once a medical cannabis card is issued by the DHHS, a caregiver is ready to purchase product from a medical cannabis pharmacy. To purchase medical cannabis, a caregiver must bring their medical cannabis card and a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, with them to the pharmacy.
    1. Before the first purchase, a patient will need to consult with a medical cannabis pharmacist. Some pharmacies require an appointment made in advance for this consultation.
    2. A list of Utah’s 15 medical cannabis pharmacies is posted here.

State Resources:

How do I apply for the state program in Utah?

Please note: We are currently closed in Utah, but you can join our waitlist to be notified once we are open again. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Have these supporting documents ready before you start getting your Utah medical marijuana card.

  • Debit or credit card

How to Get Your Utah Medical Marijuana Card

  1. Create your Utah ID Account (if you don’t already have one).
    1. Go to https://id.utah.gov/ and click “Create an Account.”
    2. Enter and validate your email address, then verify your email address by receiving an email from the Utah government.
    3. Enter your name and username, then create a password.
  2. Create a profile in Utah’s Electronic Verification System at https://medicalcannabis.utah.gov/evs-access/.
    1. Click the big blue button inviting you to access the EVS.
    2. Click “Patient Registrations.”
    3. Fill out the fields and click Register.
    4. Click the link in the popup once completed.
    5. In the top left, hover over the “Tracking Inbox,” then move your house to “Patient” and then to “New Patient” and click on “New Patient”
  3. Complete the application for a new patient. Parents/guardians need to select that they are applying on behalf of my minor child at this point.
    1. Don’t fill out any fields marked official use.
  4. Once submitted, your status at the top of the page will change to “Awaiting Certification” at the top of the screen.
    1. Once done, your physician can upload your certification onto the system.
  5. Log back in and pay once the certification has been submitted. The state will review your application.
  6. Once the state has approved you, your status will change to “Active.”
  7. Log in and click the “Print Card” option in your patient dashboard. You can save the document and print it out to buy your medical marijuana at your chosen licensed dispensary.