Login

Get your medical card online in minutes!

Get started

New Hampshire Cannabis Laws

Search for your state laws

Legal status

  • Medical Program

Possession limits

  • Medical patients

    2 oz

  • Recreational users

    Illegal

State taxes

  • Medical patients

    0%

  • Recreational users

    Illegal

Cultivation

  • Cultivation is illegal
Learn more

Application process

To apply for a medical cannabis card in the state of New Hampshire

Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, receive your certificate in the mail and apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.

Receive the original certificate in the mail in 5-7 days.

Get your card

Table of contents

  1. Medical Marijuana Laws in New Hampshire
  2. What to Know About About Medical Cannabis in New Hampshire
  3. Can You Grow Cannabis in New Hampshire?
  4. The Bottom Line

Cannabis is legal for medical purposes in New Hampshire, but recreational cannabis is illegal. Small amounts of cannabis, however, are decriminalized in the state.

On decriminalization and legalization as a whole, Governor Chris Sununu has said publicly, “Knowing that a majority of our residents support legalization, it is reasonable to assume change is inevitable. To ignore this reality would be shortsighted and harmful.”

Medical Marijuana Laws in New Hampshire

There are many benefits to obtaining a medical cannabis card in New Hampshire since adult use remains illegal. Qualified patients benefit from legally purchasing cannabis at a licensed dispensary — and not having to pay state taxes on these purchases — and other benefits, including employee protections.

Cardholders can legally possess up to 2 ounces of cannabis flower. Cultivation is illegal. However, a bill is making its way through the state legislature to legalize home growing for medical purposes.

The possession, use, or unauthorized sale or distribution of cannabis without the proper certification incurs penalties, including jail time and fines. Criminal charges range from a simple civil violation to a felony offense depending on the severity of the crime. Fines can vary anywhere from $100 to $300,000.

What to Know About About Medical Cannabis in New Hampshire

Medical cannabis programs are all different across the country. Knowing the relevant facts about the program you’re participating in is essential. Understanding which conditions qualify you for a medical cannabis card, telemedicine allowances, and reciprocity laws is an excellent place to start.

Qualifying Conditions

New Hampshire separates its qualifying conditions into two categories, stand-alone medical conditions and a combination of a qualifying diagnosis and qualifying symptom. According to New Hampshire’s Department of Health and Human Services, qualifying diagnoses or symptoms include the following:

Stand-Alone Medical Conditions

Qualifying Diagnosis Combined With a Qualifying Symptom

The qualifying diagnoses above must be combined with one of the following qualifying symptoms:

  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cachexia
  • Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
  • Constant or severe nausea
  • Elevated intraocular pressure
  • Moderate to severe insomnia
  • Moderate to severe vomiting
  • Seizures
  • Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects
  • Severe, persistent muscle spasms
  • Wasting syndrome

Telemedicine Is Not Allowed

New Hampshire temporarily allowed MMJ certifications via telemedicine during the Covid-19 pandemic but has since discontinued it. So, for now, Leafwell can only provide renewal services for existing patients.

New Hampshire Does Not Have Reciprocity Laws

New Hampshire does not offer reciprocity to out-of-state medical cannabis patients. The following states and U.S. territories recognize non-resident medical marijuana cards:

*Visitors must complete a visiting patient application with the state program.

States that have recreational cannabis for adults 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards include:

Can You Grow Cannabis in New Hampshire?

Cultivation is illegal in New Hampshire. However, in March 2023, HB 431 passed in the House, which would allow medical cardholders to grow their medicine at home. The bill is heading to the Senate and would let medical marijuana patients have three mature plants, three immature plants, and 12 seedlings in an enclosed, secure place.

The Bottom Line

Medical marijuana is legal in New Hampshire, but recreational cannabis remains illegal. Cannabis products containing cannabinoids manufactured from hemp-derived CBD, such as delta-8 THC, are permitted. Cultivation or home growing remains prohibited in New Hampshire, but legislation is currently in the works to change this.