- Medical Program
No limit Maximum THC content = 5%
4%Sales tax varies by municipalities
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, your physician will add your information to the Georgia Low THC Oil Registry portal. The Georgia Low THC Oil Unit will process your application within 7-10 days and contact you if additional documentation is required. Your card will then be ready to be picked up at your local Public Health office 2-3 weeks after your physician enters you into the registry.
Table of contents
Select low-THC products are available for medical use in Georgia. Recreational cannabis use remains illegal.
In 2019, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp signed into law House Bill 234, which established the creation of the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission. The Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission approved the licenses of two companies — Trulieve and Botanical Sciences — to sell select low-THC products to registered medical marijuana patients, with Trulieve being the first of the two to open two dispensaries, located in Macon and Marietta, on May 5, 2023.
Although adult-use recreational cannabis remains illegal in Georgia, some cities and counties within the state have decriminalized cannabis at a local level, including the cities of Atlanta, Clarkston, Forest Park, Savannah, South Fulton, Statesboro, unincorporated Fulton County, and Macon-Bibb County. Nevertheless, you cannot legally buy recreational cannabis in these or any other cities within Georgia. Penalties for illegally possessing up to one ounce of cannabis can result in one-year imprisonment and up to $1,000 in fines.
Under HB 234, which legalized a form of medical marijuana in Georgia, qualified patients have access to select low-THC products from the few operational medical dispensaries in the state. Under the law, a patient can receive a registry card if they are:
Potential members of the low THC registry must receive certification from a doctor to obtain their card. Once obtained, qualified patients can possess up to 20 fluid ounces of low-THC oil. This amount may look visually different depending on the type of low-THC product you purchase. Product options include oral capsules, sublinguals, and topicals. Medical cardholders are not allowed to possess any other forms of cannabis, such as edibles or flower.
Georgia law lists the following conditions as qualifiers for a low-THC medical cannabis card:
Although Georgia’s medical cannabis program is one of the strictest in the country, other cannabis-related products are allowed under current laws. While there have been efforts by some government officials to crack down on sales of delta-8 products, you can still legally purchase such products as of right now. Hemp-derived CBD is allowed. And other products like THCA or even hemp-derived delta-9 are allowed, provided that they contain less than 0.3% THC by the product’s total volume. You should stay up to date on local laws governing hemp-derived cannabis products, however, as things could always change.
Georgia does not exactly have medical cannabis reciprocity, but the full picture is somewhat complicated. Georgia law currently dictates that a patient’s out-of-state medical card will only be recognized if you have a medical card from a state with the same low-THC product limit as in Georgia and have been there for less than 45 days.
The following states and territories accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
*Visitors must complete a visiting patient application with the state program.
States that have recreational cannabis for adults 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards include:
Despite Georgia’s medical cannabis program remaining strict overall, the state does allow for certification via telehealth, meaning you can make an appointment with Leafwell to get certified. In Georgia, your initial certification will last you up to two years.
No, you cannot grow cannabis in Georgia. Cultivation is not allowed for medical or recreational purposes.
Georgia has implemented a medical marijuana program, allowing qualified patients to purchase select low-THC products from licensed dispensaries. Although some cities and counties have decriminalized recreational cannabis use, recreational cannabis use remains illegal in the state as a whole. Hemp-derived cannabis products are, however, allowed if they contain less than 0.3% THC.