- Fully legal
16 plantsMax 6 mature
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Oregon has legalized both adult use of cannabis and medical marijuana, and cannabis is legal in Oregon.
The Oregon law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
Here’s how to get certified for medical cannabis in Oregon:
Patients must be 18 years old or over to undergo a medical marijuana evaluation with a licensed physician for themselves. It is legal for minors (those under 18) to qualify for an Oregon medical marijuana certificate and card, and children will need a caregiver. Caregivers must be at least 21 years old and Oregon residents with a valid state or federal identification.
Medical marijuana patients who are minors must complete the Minor Declaration Form.
Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.
Yes, telemedicine is legal in Oregon, and you can get certified for cannabis online.
Oregon does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and does not recognize medical marijuana cards from other states. However, cannabis is legal to purchase for adult use in Oregon.
Medical marijuana cards from Oregon are recognized by other states with a medical marijuana program and reciprocity.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is acceptable) – just that the state’s medical marijuana laws protect you to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and intend to purchase medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also accountable to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing visiting patient application to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
The Oregon state government follows the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988. Under the Drug-Free Workplace Act, if an employee’s use or conduct involving marijuana occurs in the workplace and results in a criminal drug statute conviction, they must notify the employer no later than five days after the conviction.
In the 2010 Oregon Supreme Court decision in the Emerald Steel case, the court held that employers have no obligation to accommodate employees who use medical marijuana. Employers can still have drug-free workplace policies and enforce those policies’ provisions. Staff, volunteers, students, or other persons still cannot possess or use marijuana on school grounds, even with a valid prescription.
Despite Oregon’s generally liberal attitudes towards cannabis, its use, even for medical reasons, can get an employee terminated. Unlike many other states, employees have no protections, even for off-site medicinal cannabis use.
Oregon’s medical marijuana regulations require cannabis products to be tested for cannabinoid content (THC and CBD in particular), pesticides, microbes such as mold, mildew, fungus, viruses or bacteria, water activity/moisture content, and solvents.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy or another legally designated space to buy cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can do so.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or any additional such healthcare space is also illegal. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense, keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.