Get your medical card online in minutes!

Get started

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada in 2023

closeup hand holding MMJ card

Table of contents

  1. Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Nevada
  2. Eligibility Requirements
  3. Qualifying Conditions
  4. How to Apply
  5. What to Expect During Your Leafwell Appointment
  6. Costs
  7. Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
  8. Applying as a Caregiver
  9. Where to Buy Medical Marijuana
  10. Cultivation
  11. Nevada Medical Marijuana Laws to Know

Nevada allows patients to apply for a Nevada Medical Marijuana Card online via telemedicine, one of the quickest and easiest ways to get your card from the comfort of your own home.

As a telehealth platform dedicated to helping people easily obtain their medical cannabis cards, Leafwell has helped people like you quickly and securely get a Nevada Medical Marijuana Card online. We’ve assembled this valuable guide to answer any questions and help those living in Nevada understand the importance of applying for their Nevada MMJ Card.

Get Your Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Nevada

Adult-use cannabis is legal in Nevada. However, as MMJ cardholders, patients enjoy several advantages over recreational users. Medical marijuana patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis every 14 days. In contrast adults 21 years and older can purchase only up to one ounce of flower and 1/8 of an ounce of concentrate.

Medical marijuana patients also save 10% in excise tax, which is subjected to recreational marijuana users, only paying 4.6% in sales tax versus 14.6% additional tax.

Eligibility Requirements

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada, you must be a legal resident of Nevada. Patients must be 18 years or over to apply for a medical marijuana card for themselves.

Can Minors Get a Medical Card in Nevada?

The caregiver program allows minors to access medical marijuana if necessary and assists adults who need help accessing medical marijuana products. Despite being under the legal age limit, children can have a designated primary caregiver apply on their behalf. The caregiver is included in the application process on Nevada’s medical marijuana program website.

Qualifying Conditions

According to Nevada law in 2023, the following debilitating conditions may qualify a medical patient for a medical marijuana card in Nevada:

How to Apply

Documents You’ll Need

To apply for your MMJ Card in Nevada, you will need to show your signed certificate, which provides proof of your condition, and identification documents. Gather together the following:

  • Photo ID, such as an NV driver’s license or state ID
  • Proof that you’re a Nevada resident, such as a utility bill, state correspondence, bank statement, or mortgage or rental agreement
  • A signed acknowledgment form and waiver (Leafwell’s physician will sign this once you’re approved)

Steps to Apply

  1. Register online with Leafwell. You can speak to a doctor and qualify for a Nevada medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation for a two-year certificate is $99. You are only billed if approved. If approved, the licensed physician will sign the Waiver and Acknowledgement Forms which you must send to Leafwell.
  2. Create an account on Nevada’s government website. You must create an account and download the Waiver and Acknowledgement Form. These will need to be emailed to us, and our physician will sign them and return the documents within 48 hours.
  3. Complete the application on the government website. Upload the signed Waiver and Acknowledgement Forms to your account on the government website and pay either a $50 application fee for a one-year or $100 for a two-year card.
  4. Once the application is complete, you can download a temporary approval letter and buy your medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary immediately. You will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail in approximately 7-10 days.

Please note that Leafwell will not send you a card — you’ll receive it from the state. Your certificate will be valid for one year or two years, depending on what you selected from the date of issue.

What to Expect During Your Leafwell Appointment

Your online medical marijuana evaluation with Leafwell is quick and easy. To get started, we’ll need you to provide us with some preliminary details, and you also have the option of uploading medical records if you have them. These are all passed securely to one of our registered practitioners, who can familiarize themselves with your application before your consultation.

The consultation is simple and secure, taking place on our bespoke telemedicine platform. You will meet with a Nevada registered practitioner who has experience issuing certificates for medical marijuana to patients for a range of medical issues. The registered practitioner will speak with you about why you are applying and ask questions about your medical conditions and history.

At the end of the consultation, the registered practitioner can make an informed decision about whether they recommend using medical cannabis based on the medical information they have obtained. The registered practitioner will sign your Waiver and Application Form if an application is successful.

An application must be successful for you to be charged for the consultation. Once obtained, the certification will last for two years.

Costs

The initial consultation with a Nevada-registered practitioner via Leafwell’s HIPAA-compliant online consultation service is a flat fee of $99 for a two-year certificate. However, you will only be charged if you qualify for an MMJ Card and our practitioner elects to sign your certificate.

It costs $50 for a one-year MMJ Card and $100 for a two-year MMJ Card, payable to the state. This is a non-refundable fee that patients pay every time they apply. Every time you renew, you must meet with a state-licensed physician via a telemedicine platform like Leafwell and renew your card via the state website. A renewal with Leafwell costs $99.

There is no additional fee for state applications that include a designated caregiver.

Insurance does not currently cover the cost of applying for an MMJ Card in Nevada because cannabis is illegal at the federal level.

Medical Marijuana Reciprocity

Nevada recognizes out-of-state medical marijuana cards. Some other states will also accept MMJ cards from Nevada residents when traveling to visit. Nevada patients should be able to purchase cannabis from the following states:

  • Alaska ^
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas *
  • California ^
  • Colorado ^
  • Connecticut ^
  • Hawaii *
  • Illinois ^
  • Maine
  • Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
  • Missouri ^
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey *
  • New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
  • New York ^
  • Oklahoma *
  • Oregon ^
  • Pennsylvania (minors only)
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • U.S. Virgin Islands *
  • Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
  • Vermont ^
  • Virginia ^
  • Washington ^
  • Washington D.C.

States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.

States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.

Applying as a Caregiver

Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.

A caregiver can be added to your account once you have registered with the state. You will need to upload the caregiver’s driver’s license or ID card as part of the application.

Where to Buy Medical Marijuana

The only way to purchase medicinal marijuana products in Nevada is via a legally-licensed medical dispensary or pharmacy or another legally designated space to buy medicinal cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell medical cannabis can do so.

Cultivation

Patients in Nevada can cultivate medical marijuana if there is no dispensary in the county where they live or if there is no dispensary within 25 miles of their home address. If a dispensary is subsequently opened within these limits, a patient may continue to cultivate cannabis if they do not allow their registration to lapse.

Patients unable to travel due to illness or lack of transportation can also grow their own plants.

Finally, if the available dispensaries do not supply the strain of marijuana necessary for a specific medical condition, a patient can cultivate this strain for medical purposes.

Nevada Medical Marijuana Laws to Know

There are some restrictions on cannabis users in NV.

Cannabis cannot be consumed in a public place, at a detention/correctional facility, or while delivering cannabis to another person. The permissible consumption limit of THC statewide is ten nanograms per milliliter of urine and two nanograms per milliliter of blood while operating motor vehicles.

Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal (even for medical card holders). Penalties range from a $400 fine, two days in jail, 48-96 hours of community service, a $5000 fine, or up to six years in prison, depending on concurrent offenses.

Operating an aircraft, water ski, surfboard, windsail, or similar device while under the influence is illegal. Possession of a firearm while under the influence is also illegal.

Learn more about Nevada cannabis laws here. And if you’re ready to secure your Nevada MMJ card, schedule an appointment with one of Leafwell’s physicians today.

Get Your Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.