Cannabis Laws in Vermont Cannabis Laws

Cannabis is legal for both medical and recreational use in Vermont, with medical marijuana being legalized in 2004 and adult use in 2018. However, it is not until 2022 that dispensaries and regulated sales will be allowed to take place in Vermont. Only those with a valid, Vermont-issued medical marijuana card can legally purchase cannabis in Vermont.

  • Fully Legal

Medical Cannabis Laws in Vermont

Telehealth for Cannabis in Vermont

Telehealth is legal for medical cannabis consultations in Vermont. You can see a compassionate and friendly medical marijuana physician online with Leafwell today.

More information on and FAQs on qualifying for medical cannabis in Vermont.

New call-to-action

Recreational Cannabis Laws in Vermont

Benefits of having a Medical Marijuana Card in a Recreational State

New call-to-action

Qualifying Conditions for Medical Cannabis Patients in Vermont

Cannabis Laws and Children in Vermont

A patient under the age of 18 may qualify for a medical marijuana certificate and card if they suffer from a qualifying condition, and the application form must be signed by both the patient and the caregiver (usually the patient’s parents or guardian, with a maximum of two listed caregivers).

Cannabis Possession Limits in Vermont

  • Up to 1 ounce (28.34 grams), or the produce of two mature cannabis plants in a private residence for recreational use.
  • Up to 2 ounces (56.699 grams), or the produce of two mature cannabis plants in a private residence for recreational use.

Cannabis Cultivation Laws in Vermont

Two mature plants, and four immature plants in a household, regardless of how many adults live in the household.

Cannabis and Gun Laws in Vermont

As cannabis is federally illegal, second amendment rights come into conflict with those who have a valid medical marijuana card. It is therefore not legal to have both at the same time.

Cannabis and Employment Law in Vermont

Local Cannabis Laws in Vermont

There are no specific city- or jurisdiction- level laws regarding cannabis in Vermont, although towns and cities may restrict the operation of cannabis-related businesses to some extent. At the moment, there are restrictions on the number of dispensaries allowed to operate, but these limits won’t be in place in the future when recreational sales are allowed.

Here’s some laws that apply across all of Vermont at the moment.

  • No more than 5 dispensaries may be operational at any one time. A sixth may be added should the patient registry reach above 7000. Dispensaries may deliver to patient’s homes.
  • Possession of more than two ounces is a felony, whilst possession of between 1 and 2 ounces of cannabis is a misdemeanor. Sale of less than ½ an ounce is also a misdemeanor. Marijuana felonies carry a fine of at least $10,000. Misdemeanors, between $500 and $2,000.
  • Cultivating more than 2 cannabis plants is a felony, with 3 years’ imprisonment and/or a fine of $10,000 – $500,000 for more than 25 plants (which will also attract a penalty).