Cannabis Laws in Minnesota Cannabis Laws

Minnesota is not the most cannabis-friendly state, but it does have a medical marijuana program, albeit one that doesn't allow for smokable preparations. Despite the generally conservative attitudes towards cannabis, Minnesota reduced the penalty for possession for 42.5 grams (1+1⁄2 oz) or less to a petty misdemeanor in 1976.

  • Decriminalized and Medical Program

Medical Marijuana and Cannabis Laws in Minnesota (MN)

Telehealth for Cannabis in Minnesota

Telehealth is legal for medical cannabis consultations in Minnesota. You can see a compassionate and friendly medical marijuana physician online with Leafwell today.

New call-to-action

Qualifying Conditions for Medical Cannabis Patients in Minnesota

*To qualify for the program, you must suffer from cancer or a terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of under one year, if your illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain; nausea or severe vomiting; or Cachexia or severe wasting.

Medical Marijuana for Minors in Minnesota

You must be aged 18 or over in order to get a medical marijuana card for yourself in Minnesota. Those aged under 18 will need a caregiver in order to get a medical marijuana card. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over, and the caregiver must complete a criminal background check, which must be mailed to the MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). The background check costs $15. Address to: “Office of Medical Cannabis PO Box 64882 St. Paul, MN 55164-0882” with a postage stamp on it. This envelope will be used by the MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to send the completed background check results to the Office of Medical Cannabis.

If the patient wants to name caregiver(s) to assist in obtaining or administering medical cannabis, the patient should ask the health care practitioner to allow them to add a Caregiver during the certification process. Parents and legal guardians of the patient may act as a caregiver for the patient without going through the caregiver approval process.

Only parents, legal guardians, spouses and caregivers may give patients assistance with registration or to pick up medical cannabis.

Cannabis Possession Limits in Minnesota

30 day supply of non-smokable preparations only, with the amount determined by the physician.

Cannabis Cultivation Laws in Minnesota

It is illegal to grow or cultivate cannabis plants in Minnesota.

Medical Cannabis Qualification and Gun Laws

Federal law prohibits anyone who uses an “unlawful” substance, including medical cannabis, from purchasing a firearm in Minnesota.

Medical Marijuana and Employment Laws

Minnesota’s Medical Cannabis law prohibits discrimination based on:

Local Cannabis Laws in Minnesota

No specific local laws regarding cannabis in Minnesota. Some interesting developments statewide include:

  • 2019 – Proposals were made in 2019 to legalize recreational cannabis use in MN, but the measure was voted down.
  • 2021 – Recreational marijuana is approved by the house, but the Senate still opposes the bill.
  • 2021 – Medical marijuana patients may be allowed to purchase smokable preparations in the future.