Log in

Get your medical card online in minutes!

Get started

Minnesota Medical Marijuana FAQs

MN outline state map with question marks around

Are you considering applying for a Minnesota medical marijuana certification but have questions about the process?

To help you make an informed decision, here is a list of Minnesota residents’ most frequently asked questions about the use, possession, and sale of medical cannabis.

Get Your Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

What Are the Benefits of a Minnesota Medical Certification?

Those with medical marijuana certifications in Minnesota can purchase a 30-day supply of medical cannabis products. Since recreational cannabis just became law in the state, adult-use sales are not expected to start until 2024, with a few exceptions for dispensaries on native land.

Medical cannabis is easier to access in Minnesota since more medical dispensaries are spread across the state. So, having your medical certification makes cannabis products more accessible.

In addition to increased accessibility, it is also cheaper to purchase cannabis with a medical certification. Patients with a medical cannabis certification are not required to pay any additional taxes on their purchase.

Note: Despite many people using “card” and “certification” interchangeably, the state program does not issue physical medical cards.

What Are the Qualifying Conditions for a Medical Certification in Minnesota?

The following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate in Minnesota:

What Disqualifies You From Getting a Medical Marijuana Certification in MN?

If you are not a Minnesota resident or have not been diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions by a licensed physician, you will not be eligible for a medical cannabis certificate in Minnesota.

Is It Hard To Get a Med Card in Minnesota?

It is not difficult to get your medical certificate in Minnesota if you have a qualifying condition. However, the application process can involve paperwork and appointments, depending on your situation.

Using a third-party service like Leafwell to simplify the process further can help you get your certificate quickly and easily.

Can I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Certificate in Minnesota Online?

Yes, you can apply for your medical marijuana certificate online in Minnesota. Telemedicine is now allowed for both initial and renewal patients.

Following your telemedicine appointment, your provider will submit your certification directly to the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program. From there, you will complete your state application and, once approved, fill out a Patient Self-evaluation before heading to the dispensary.

How Fast Can I Get a MN Medical Marijuana Card?

It can take up to 30 days for the Office of Medical Cannabis staff to review your completed application. Generally speaking, it should take less than a month to process, but it could take longer, depending on the situation.

Again, please remember that you will not receive a physical card in the mail.

Can I Go to a Dispensary Without a Medical Card in Minnesota?

Recreational cannabis is legal in Minnesota, so you do not need a medical certificate to enter recreational dispensaries. However, only one dispensary is currently open for recreational sales.

To access medical cannabis dispensaries, of which there are far more throughout the state, you will need to have a medical certificate.

How Do I Start My Minnesota Medical Marijuana Certificate Renewal?

For the easiest, fastest renewal process, contact Leafwell and let our customer support team help get the ball rolling on your renewal process.

How Do I Become a Medical Marijuana Caregiver in Minnesota?

To qualify as a designated caregiver, you must register with Minnesota’s Medical Cannabis Program and complete a background check. Caregivers must be at least 18 years old.

Can You Get a Medical Card With a Felony in Minnesota?

Yes, you can get a medical marijuana certification in MN with a felony. Luckily, most states do not prohibit convicted felons from obtaining their medical marijuana certifications.

Can an 18-Year-Old Get a Medical Card in Minnesota?

Yes, 18-year-olds may register for a medical cannabis certificate in Minnesota. Minors can also apply for a medical certificate but will need their parent or legal guardian to register on their behalf.

As of August 1, 2023, recreational marijuana is legal in Minnesota. However, obtaining your medical cannabis certificate is still beneficial since the adult-use industry remains new and largely inaccessible to many Minnesota residents.

Plus, obtaining a medical certification can save you money in the long run. Contact Leafwell to apply for your medical certificate today.

Get Your Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.