Are you interested in getting a Medical Marijuana Card in the Green Mountain State, Vermont? You’ve come to the right place. We hope this article acts as a valuable guide to help you understand the process of applying for your MMJ Card. We keep this information up-to-date to make sure it is accurate and makes your journey as simple as possible. Keep reading to find out more.
Getting a Vermont Medical Marijuana Card Online
In order to get a medical marijuana card in Vermont, you must speak to a physician for an initial consultation first. This can be carried out online with Leafwell, and gives you the chance to meet your doctor, ask any questions, and have the doctor understand more about you and your medical needs.
The certifying physician has to have been treating you for three months, as this is what constitutes a “bona-fide” relationship in Vermont. It is on your follow-up appointment three months after your initial online consultation that you can qualify for a medical marijuana certificate in Vermont.
Telehealth is available in Vermont, but the first initial consultation is not enough to establish a bona-fide relationship. The pathway for getting a medical marijuana card in Vermont looks like this:
Book an appointment with a certified physician online with Leafwell.
- Attend your appointment, bringing with you relevant ID and medical records/clinic notes. This is your initial consultation, and will give you the chance to speak to your qualifying MMJ doctor.
- Book a second appointment for 3 months (90 days) later (we’ll email you to invite you back).
- Attend your second appointment. The physician will assess whether or not you qualify for medical cannabis, and will certify you accordingly.
- Get qualified for medical cannabis by applying online to the Vermont Medical Marijuana Registry.
If approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card from the state in the mail within 30 days (not from Leafwell). Your certificate will be valid for 1 year from the date of issue.
Who Can Apply?
To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont, you must be a legal resident of Vermont.
Patients must be aged 18 or over in order to apply for a medical marijuana card for themselves. Minors can have caregivers apply on their behalf.
Caregivers must be aged 21 or over in the state of Vermont. The caregiver will need to fill out their personal information (name, address, social security number etc.), and will also need to provide a digital photograph and valid ID as part of their application to the state.
Vermont keeps a registry of medical marijuana patients, and it is a requirement for patients to register in order to use medical cannabis legally. This registry is not accessible to the public.
What Does an MMJ Card Permit in Vermont?
As an MMJ Card holder in Vermont, you are permitted to possess:
- 2 oz. on their person, and no more than the yield of two (2) mature plants in their home.
- 5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
- Medical cannabis patients are permitted to grow cannabis. The “Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness” legally allows registered patients and registered caregivers to collectively cultivate no more than two (2) mature plants and four (4) immature plants.
Recreational cannabis is legal in Vermont. Non-medical cannabis users may possess up to one ounce of cannabis flower, 5 grams of concentrate, and grow up to two plants. Those growing their own may not possess more than the yield of two plants in their own home.
How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in Vermont?
The initial consultation with one of the Vermont registered practitioners via Leafwell’s HIPAA compliant online consultation service is $199 for two appointments. However, if you do not qualify for an MMJ Card and our practitioner elects not to sign your certificate, you will not be charged.
It costs $50 for the MMJ Card and application form, payable to the state. This is a non-refundable fee which must be paid every time you apply. Cards are valid for one year. Every time you renew, you will be required to meet with a state-licensed physician via a telemedicine platform like Leafwell and then renew your card via the state website.
Caregivers must pay $50 to register, which is additional to the patient fee.
Insurance does not currently cover the cost of applying for an MMJ Card in Vermont because cannabis is illegal at the federal level.
What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in Vermont?
According to Vermont law in 2021, the following debilitating conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card in Vermont:
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (HIV/AIDS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease (PD)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), provided the Department confirms the applicant is undergoing psychotherapy or counseling with a licensed mental health care provider
- A disease or medical condition or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome, chronic pain, severe nausea, or seizures (such as those characteristic of epilepsy).
Note that this list is up to date as of September 2021. Legislation or the Commissioner of Health may add additional conditions, at which time, Leafwell will update this list.
What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
In order to apply for your MMJ Card in Vermont, you will need to show your signed certificate which provides proof of your condition as well as your identification documents. You should gather together the following:
- Proof of residency
- A digital passport-style photograph
You must be a resident of Vermont in order to qualify for its medical marijuana program.
Below are all of the acceptable forms these documents may take.
- Valid, unexpired Vermont Driver’s License
- State-produced Vermont Identification Card
Acceptable proof of residency
- Utility bill
- Any correspondence with a state department
- Bank statement
- Mortgage or rental agreement
Medical Cannabis Certification from a physician
- You will need to be certified to qualify for the state’s program.
Do I Need to Present my Medical Records to Leafwell?
Yes. In order to responsibly sign a certificate which permits individuals to apply for an MMJ card, our registered practitioners must have a comprehensive understanding of your medical history.
This allows them to provide an accurate assessment to ensure that medical cannabis is a good option for each patient on a case-by-case basis.
How Does a Caregiver Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves. For example, should the patient be a minor under the age of 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.
Caregivers will also need to fill out an application online similar to one that patients fill out. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over, and can either apply at the same time or apply separately. The caregiver will need to provide:
- Their personal details (name, address, DOB, email etc.)
- A digital photograph.
- Proof of ID and address.
- $50 Application fee, payable to the state.
Can a Qualifying Patient Grow Cannabis in Vermont?
Yes, it is legal for Vermont patients to grow their own cannabis. The “Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness” legally allows registered patients and registered caregivers to collectively cultivate no more than two (2) mature plants and four (4) immature plants.
Are my Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. Leafwell is committed to protecting the privacy of our patients. Our online service is HIPAA compliant and our systems are designed to keep all of your confidential details safe.
Does Vermont Have Medical Marijuana Reciprocity?
No, Vermont does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards, recommendations or physician’s certifications at this time.
Medical Cannabis Dispensaries in Vermont
2 Green Tree Dr, South Burlington, VT 05403, United States
84 Lovers Ln, Brandon, VT 05733, United States
120 Depot St Ste 103 Bennington, VT 05201
942 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301, United States
188 River St, Montpelier, VT 05602, United States
History of Medical Marijuana Laws in Vermont
Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana laws and legislation in Vermont:
2004 – Governor James Douglas passes the “Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness”, alongside Senate Bill 76 (SB 76) and House Bill 645 (HB 645). This removed state-level penalties on the use and possession of marijuana for those with debilitating conditions.
2007 – SB 00007 is passed, amending the law to require a bona-fide patient-physician relationship.
2011 – SB 17 is passed, providing a framework for the registering of up to 4 medical marijuana dispensaries for the state of Vermont. This is known as “An Act Relating To Registering Four Nonprofit Organizations To Dispense Marijuana For Symptom Relief”.
2013 – Two medical marijuana dispensaries open.
2015 – In what could be described as an interesting thought experiment, two state representatives facetiously introduced HB502, which would re-illegalize alcohol, giving it penalties equivalent to those for marijuana.
In 2015, Senate Bill 95 and House bill 277 were submitted, proposing a regulated system of legal recreational cannabis sales, however neither bill passed during the 2015 legislative session.
2017 – 2018 – In May 2017, the Vermont House approved a bill to allow personal possession, use, and cultivation of cannabis but not commercial sales, while the Vermont Senate in April approved a broader bill allowing cannabis commercial sale. On May 10, 2017, a joint bill formerly concerning fentanyl was amended to legalize cannabis, and approved by the entire state legislature, for the first time in U.S. history. The bill, titled S.22 “An act relating to increased penalties for possession, sale, and dispensation of fentanyl”, was amended to allow possession of an ounce of cannabis under title 18 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated.
Current Vermont Medical Marijuana Laws
- Patients may possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana on their persons.
- Home cultivation is allowed. Up to 9 plants may be grown, of which no more than 2 may be mature.
- No more than 5 dispensaries may be operational at any one time. A sixth may be added should patient registry reach above 7000. Dispensaries may deliver to patient’s homes.
- Possession of more than two ounces is a felony, whilst possession of between 1 and 2 ounces of cannabis is a misdemeanor. Sale of less than ½ an ounce is also a misdemeanor.
- Marijuana felonies carry a fine of at least $10,000. Misdemeanors, between $500 and $2,000.
- Cultivating more than 2 cannabis plants is a felony, with 3 years’ imprisonment and/or a fine of $10,000 – $500,000 for more than 25 plants (which will also attract a penalty)
To find out more about getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont, get in touch with the expert team at Leafwell today or use any of these verified resources below:
- Vermont Medical Marijuana Registry
- Vermont Medical Marijuana Registration Packet
- Vermont Medical Marijuana Registry – Additional Resources
- Guidance regarding enforcement of laws regarding medical cannabis in Vermont