Log in

Get an Oklahoma Medical Card. Just $59

values header icon

Best Care, Best Value

values header icon

Quick and Easy Process

values header icon

Get Approved or Your Money Back

Just for you
For you + a friend10% off

You're applying for

Email

Cell Phone

Please add an international code if your number isn't a US number

Already a Leafwell patient?
Log in here

Trusted by 400,000+ Patients

Best Care, Best Value

Best Care, Best Value

We are the #1 medical card certification platform with the best value in your state.

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9 out of 5 stars

Patient support and satisfaction are at the heart of everything we do.

Be seen in under 10 mins

Be seen in under 10 mins

Our healthcare providers are available to see you from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. 7 days a week.

Get approved in minutes.
It’s quick, easy, and convenient.

How getting a medical marijuana card works for Oklahoma residents.

  1. Step 1
    step register

    Sign Up

    Register for a consultation for an Oklahoma medical marijuana card completely online. No appointment necessary.

  2. Step 2
    step doctor

    Meet Your Provider

    An Oklahoma medical marijuana doctor will see you as soon as you finish your application.

  3. Step 3
    step register

    Get Your Certification

    Your Oklahoma-licensed MMJ physician will immediately approve you for the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program.

  4. Step 4
    step card

    Apply to OMMA

    Apply to the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority online and get your patient card in the mail within 14 business days if you’re approved.

Have questions?

See a detailed step-by-step explainer on how to get your card for medical marijuana in Oklahoma.

Learn More

Benefits of Getting a Card

Wondering how a medical card in Oklahoma can transform your medical cannabis experience?

Ok card
Benefit Card No Card
Possess Cannabischeck
Use Cannabischeck
Purchase Cannabischeck
Apply Now

State-Specific Steps

Embarking on your journey to relief in Oklahoma is simple. Let our caring specialists guide you through the state-specific steps to obtain your Oklahoma medical marijuana card.

  1. Book An Appointment with Leafwell
  2. Get Your Medical Marijuana Certification
  3. Apply to the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority
  4. Get Your Med Card In the Mail
Youtube poster

See video on how to get a a medical card in Oklahoma

Best Care, Best Value

Our mission of increasing medical cannabis access means offering the highest-quality service at the best price. Here's what you need to know about the costs associated with medical marijuana cards in Oklahoma.
First-time certification
Renewal certification
$59
Best care and best value
$59
NuggMD
$129
$129
Veriheal
$99
$99
Green Health Docs
$99
$99
FadeMD
$99
$99

Retail price as of 04/25/2024

What You Pay with Leafwell

Oklahoma medical marijuana patients save more with Leafwell. Get your money back if not approved.

label New with Leafwell Renewal with Leafwell Avg. other competitors
Medical marijuana certificate$59$59$150
State application fee$20-$100$20-$100$20-$100
Total$79-$159$79-$159$170- $250
Apply Now

Qualifying Conditions

Oklahoma law does not include any qualifying conditions. This makes it one of the most lenient medical marijuana programs in the United States and may account for why one in 13 Oklahomans have a medical marijuana card. Instead, each medical marijuana doctor can issue certificates based on their judgment—much like they do when prescribing traditional medications.

If you’re not sure if your condition can be helped by medical marijuana, we recommend doing some research on our conditions page. If you feel that you could benefit from medical cannabis, book an appointment with one of our online medical marijuana doctors and speak with them about your condition and your research. Then, they can either approve or deny you based on their medical experience and your anecdotal evidence.

Convenient, Quality Care
When You Need It Most

With Leafwell, you'll be matched up with a highly knowledgeable, empathetic, licensed medical marijuana doctor or provider.

health care providers

What You Need to Know

  • info icon

    Eligibility / Patient

    To apply for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma, you must be a legal resident of Oklahoma and provide proof of residency. Patients must be 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card for themselves.

  • caregiver icon

    Caregiver

    Caregivers must be 21 and designate their assigned patient by ID number within their application. There is no caregiver application fee.

  • minors medical cannabis

    Can Minors Qualify?

    Yes, but minors (anyone under 18) must have caregivers apply on their behalf.

Apply Now

What You Need

You’ll need to provide the following to apply for a Oklahoma MMJ card:

  • info-icons-2-icon-1

    Medical Marijuana Recommendation

    You will receive your Physician Recommendation Form once approved by a Leafwell provider online.

  • ID icon

    Proof of Identity

    OK Driver’s License, OK State ID, OK Tribal ID or US Passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government (e.g. Military ID) with Proof of Residency

  • document

    Proof of Oklahoma Residence (Optional)

    Acceptable proof of residence is anything that shows your current address, such as:

    • Utility bills,
    • Bank statements,
    • Current property tax statements,
    • Voter registration cards, or
    • Health insurance documents.
Get Started

Next Steps After Approval

Congrats on getting your medical certification! You’re almost there, but there are a few more steps to get your Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card. Let’s dive in!

  • Before You Start: What You’ll Need
    • A credit or debit card for payment
    • A valid photo ID
  • Complete Application: Log into the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program (OMMA) to submit your doctor’s recommendation, state application, and payment.
  • Get Card: After your Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority application is submitted, you will receive an approval email and a patient license identification card in the mail within 14 business days.
  • Start Shopping: Visit a dispensary when you receive your card and buy products.

How to Renew Your Card

Legal Topics

Under Oklahoma law concerning medical marijuana use, medical marijuana patients with a card have the right to:

  • Enroll in school without rejection based only on cardholder status.
  • Rent an apartment without eviction or refusal based solely on patient status.
  • Work at their place of employment without discrimination for having a card or testing positive for marijuana.
  • Receive healthcare without disqualification merely due to the medical use of marijuana.
  • Visit or have custody of their child without denial based on patient status.
  • Hold a state-issued license without suspension on the sole basis of cardholder status.

However, an Oklahoma medical marijuana patient identification card does not necessarily give you the right to:

  • Use or possess marijuana at your place of employment without recourse.
  • Work, live, or learn somewhere that could face loss of a monetary or licensing benefit under federal law due to your patient status. Those in some federal jobs may find that their patient status clashes with federal laws. This exception also applies to those who require a commercial driver’s license.
  • Sell or distribute marijuana to others without a commercial medical cannabis license.
  • Own a firearm — many states prohibit those with a medical marijuana card from owning a weapon.

Caregivers

Caregiver licenses are available to family members or assistants who regularly look after a medical marijuana patient for whom they are applying to be a caregiver. It allows the caregiver to buy, transport, possess, and administer medical marijuana or medical marijuana products to licensed medical cannabis patients.

Minor medical marijuana patients will require parent/legal guardian consent. You can read more below about the process of becoming a caregiver for someone with a medical card.

Reciprocity

Oklahoma supports an unusual form of reciprocity, allowing visiting licensed patients to access medical cannabis when in the state. According to state law, residents living in another state with a valid MMJ license in their home state may apply for a temporary license to “buy, use, and grow” medical marijuana from an Oklahoma dispensary.

The medical marijuana certificate and MMJ card will be valid for 30 days and cannot exceed the expiration of the out-of-state MMJ card. Visitors can renew their Oklahoma MMJ license every 30 days.

Several other states also practice medical marijuana reciprocity and will recognize an Oklahoma medical marijuana card. The following states will accept or recognize the out-of-state medical card of an Oklahoma resident:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas *
  • Guam
  • Hawaii *
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey *
  • New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
  • Pennsylvania (minors only)
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • U.S. Virgin Islands *
  • Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
  • Washington D.C.

States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.

FAQs

How much does an Oklahoma medical marijuana certificate and card cost?

An online consultation for an Oklahoma medical marijuana card costs $59 and includes a 2-year certification. You’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation.

Patients will also pay a separate $100 fee to the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.

Here’s an overview of the fees:

  • $59 Initial certificate from Leafwell
  • $59 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
  • $118 Minors certification (includes two recommendations)
  • $100 State application fee*
    ($20 reduced fee available with proof of Medicaid [SoonerCare], Medicare enrollment, or 100% disabled Veteran status)

*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.

What medical conditions qualify for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma’s law does not include any qualifying conditions. Instead, medical marijuana doctors can issue certificates based on their judgment—much like they do when prescribing traditional medications.

How often do I need to renew my Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card and can I do it online?

Oklahoma medical marijuana certificates are valid for two years and can be renewed online. We recommend renewing 14 days before your expiration date to avoid a lapse in coverage.

A renewal consultation with Leafwell costs $59 and you’ll only be charged if approved.

Here’s a summary of the renewal process:

  1. Sign in to your Leafwell account or register as a renewal patient here.
  2. Speak to an Oklahoma-licensed physician online.
  3. Get approved and download your Physician Recommendation Form.
  4. Log into your OMMA account to submit your renewal application and application fee within 30 days.
  5. After your application is submitted, you’ll receive an approval letter and a new license in the mail within 14 business days (usually within 2-5 days).

How old do I have to be to apply for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma?

You must be 18 or older to apply for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma.

Minors may apply with consent from a custodial parent or legal guardian.

Caregivers must be at least 18 years old.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Oklahoma?

Yes, medical marijuana patients in Oklahoma can have a designated caregiver. Caregivers must submit their own application to OMMA after their patient has successfully registered first.

Caregiver Requirements:

  • Minimum 18 years of age and an Oklahoma resident.
  • A caregiver can also be patient.
  • Caregivers may have up to five licensed patients.
  • Patients can only have one licensed caregiver.
    • Licensed minor patients may have up to two designated licensed caregivers.
  • The qualifying physician must sign the Certification of Necessity of a Caregiver section of the patient’s Physician Recommendation Form (provided by Leafwell).

Here’s how the caregiver process works:

  1. Create an account with OMMA.
    1. The patient must register first in order for a caregiver to be assigned.
    2. Caregiver applicants must provide proof of identity, proof of residency, and an acceptable photo.
  2. Complete the Caregiver Designation Form.
    1. Caregivers and patients must each sign a completed form.
    2. For minors, a parent/legal guardian must sign the form.
    3. You will need the patient’s medical marijuana license number.
  3. Submit the online application and receive your caregiver license.
    1. There is no application fee for caregivers.
    2. Caregiver applications can be submitted at any time during the term of a patient’s license.
    3. Caregiver licenses are valid until the expiration date for the associated licensed patient(s), not exceeding two years.

State Resources:

How do I apply for the state program in Oklahoma?

After you speak with a Leafwell physician about cannabis treatment and get a certification that you qualify for medical cannabis, you need to register with the state program. As long as you have everything ready we’ll go into this below), registering to use medical marijuana in Oklahoma will only take new patients a few minutes.

Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:

  • Recommendation Form from a Leafwell Physician
    • This must be dated within 30 days
    • If you want someone to get a caregiver’s license, the bottom section must be signed by the physician
  • Digital photo (plain, pale background, no glasses/hats, top of head and top of shoulders in shot, clear photo)
  • Proof of Identity (one document required)
    • Unexpired OK driver’s license or ID card – front and back, in color
    • U.S. passport
    • Tribal ID accepted by the Department of Public Safety
  • Proof of Residency (one document required) OK driver’s license or ID card – front and back, in color
    • Utility bill for the calendar month before the application submission date (no cell phone or internet bills)
    • Residential property deed to an OK property
    • Current rental agreement for OK residential property
  • Optional – proof of Medicaid/Medicare/Disabled Veteran Status
  • Debit or Credit card for application fee (Visa, Mastercard or Discover)

Getting Your Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card

  1. Register with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) using the licensing portal. Click “Access portal” to get started.
  2. Click “Sign up now” to create a new account, and then click “Patient Portal” to start a new patient application. Next, click “Create a New Profile,” enter your name, and you’ll be brought to the Dashboard. You can now select “Apply for a new license.”
  3. Find your application type and click “Select this Application.” There will be application instructions and a list of required documentation on the next page for you to review.
  4. Complete the application by entering information and uploading documents as prompted.
  5. Review your application before paying the state application fee. Once your payment and application have been submitted, the screen will display “Submitted.” You’ll also receive a submission confirmation and payment receipt via email.
  6. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program will review your application within 14 business days. If approved, an approval letter with your license will be mailed out. You will be notified if your application is incomplete or denied, at which point you can log into your state account to make corrections.
  7. Purchase medical marijuana products from a licensed dispensary. Present your medical marijuana identification card and another form of identification any time you purchase medical marijuana at a dispensary or have marijuana taken to a processor to be concentrated.

Click here for a detailed step-by-step video!

OMMA recommends using Chrome, Edge, or Firefox as your browser. Please DO NOT use Internet Explorer.