Do You Have to Be 18 to Buy CBD?

CBD in medical cross neon sign

Table of contents

  1. Age Requirements to Buy CBD Products
  2. States with No Age Restrictions on CBD Sales
  3. States with Age Restrictions on CBD
  4. What About Marijuana-Based CBD?
  5. Best CBD Products to Try as a Beginner
  6. The Bottom Line

In the United States, whether or not you’re legally allowed to buy CBD depends on what state you live in.

The federal government does not place age restrictions on purchasing CBD products. Any age limits are set by the states themselves. Some state laws require you to be 18 years old or over, while others require you to be 21 years old or over. Some states have no CBD age restrictions at all.

Download Free Guide to CBD

Age Requirements to Buy CBD Products

The Farm Bill, which legislates CBD and hemp products, does not place an age restriction on buying CBD. This means that there is no federal law that sets a minimum age for buying CBD. Such restrictions are put in place by the states themselves.

In some states, you need to be 21, and in others, only 18. Some states have no age restrictions on CBD purchases. However, CBD needs to be derived from hemp rather than marijuana, as marijuana-derived CBD is illegal. Additionally, it needs to contain less than 0.3% THC.

Editor’s Note: Rules and regulations surrounding cannabis use change often. The information provided below is subject to change.

States with No Age Restrictions on CBD Sales

Alabama. In Alabama, you must be registered as a medicinal cannabis patient, but there is no age restriction. However, selling CBD outside of these medical restrictions is illegal.

Arkansas. In Arkansas, you do not need a license to obtain CBD. However, if you wish to sell or grow CBD products, then you do need a license. CBD products must be derived from hemp.

Arizona. CBD is available for purchase at any age in Arizona, as long as it is derived from hemp.

Iowa. Providing the CBD products are made from hemp, there are no age restrictions on these products in Iowa.

Other states with no age restrictions are:

States with Age Restrictions on CBD

States Where You Must Be 18 Years Old

California. Although there are currently efforts to legalize CBD products in California fully, you currently must be at least 18 years old to purchase them.

Colorado. Both hemp-derived CBD and hemp flower can be purchased legally in Colorado, as long as you are 18 years old or over. In Colorado, the hemp must contain less than 0.3% total THC.

Connecticut. You need a license to grow, sell, or test CBD products in Connecticut, and you must be at least 18 to apply for this. You also need a separate license to purchase CBD, which you can obtain once you are 18.

Delaware. If you are 18 or older, you can purchase hemp-derived and marijuana-derived CBD with a medical license. Once you are 18, you can buy hemp-derived CBD if you do not have this license.

Florida. If you are 18 years old or over, you can grow hemp, create CBD products, and buy CBD products without a license.

Georgia. CBD products are illegal in Georgia unless you have extreme medical conditions. You must be 18 or older to qualify for this.

Hawaii. You must be 18 or older to purchase CBD in Hawaii, although some stores may require that you are 21 or older.

Idaho. In Idaho, CBD products must have 0% THC content, and you must be at least 18 years old to purchase CBD in Idaho. Depending on your specific jurisdiction, you may need to be over 21 years old.

Kansas. Like Idaho, CBD products must have absolutely no THC in them for the product to be legal in Kansas. Additionally, these products can only be used for medicinal purposes; you must be 18 years old or older.

Kentucky. To purchase CBD in Kentucky, you must be 18 years old or older and have a doctor’s recommendation. The CBD must be sourced from hemp.

Louisiana. If you are 18 or older, you do not need any license to purchase CBD products in Louisiana.

Other states that require you to be older than 18 to purchase CBD are:

  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina (with prescription)
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States Where You Must Be 21 Years Old

Alaska. You do not need a license in Alaska to purchase CBD, but you must be at least 21 years old. Few people are prepared to go through this process because there is a lengthy procedure that CBD products have to go through before they reach the shelves in Alaska. Because of this, CBD products can be challenging to obtain in Alaska.

Illinois. In Illinois, anyone 21 years of age or older can purchase hemp and its products. CBD can be derived from marijuana and hemp plants for recreational and medicinal purposes.

Indiana. CBD must only be used for medicinal purposes in Indiana. However, the state has no medical marijuana program.

Maine. Hemp-derived products are legal in Maine; you must be at least 21 years old to purchase them.

Other states that require you to be at least 21 years old to purchase CBD are:

  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Utah

What About Marijuana-Based CBD?

Marijuana-derived CBD is illegal in most states as CBD products must contain less than 0.03% THC.

Best CBD Products to Try as a Beginner

There are many different ways to try cannabis, and some of the most common are CBD oils or tinctures, smoking, and edibles.

Oils and Tinctures

Oils and tinctures are easy ways to try using cannabis. These methods do not harm your lung health as smoking might. Additionally, when using cannabis via this method (“sublingual” or under the tongue), the effects are felt relatively quickly, as the cannabinoids are absorbed directly into the bloodstream.

Smoking

Smoking cannabis is probably the most well-known method of cannabis ingestion. The effects of cannabis are felt almost immediately, as the cannabinoids are absorbed directly into the blood. However, smoking can damage your lungs, cause coughing, and result in a sore throat. For these reasons, smoking cannabis is not the recommended method.

Edibles

Cannabis can be added to foods to make edibles like, for example, CBD gummies. Edibles are often very potent, giving strong effects. One caveat is that taking too much CBD when consuming edibles can be easy, resulting in an unpleasant experience. It can also take up to two hours for the effects of cannabis to be felt as the cannabinoids have to be metabolized before they are released into the bloodstream.

The Bottom Line

At a federal level, there are no CBD age limit requirements. Hemp-derived CBD products are legal in all states as long as they contain less than 0.03% THC, but certain states require you to be 18 or 21 years of age or older to purchase CBD products.

If you’re interested in obtaining a medical marijuana card in your state, connect with Leafwell’s team today to get your application started.

Get Your Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Keep Reading