- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $149 for your appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Register Online with Leafwell
Create an account online, and then you can speak to a doctor and qualify for an Iowa medical marijuana card. Your medical marijuana recommendation costs $149 and you’re only billed if approved.
Discuss Medical Marijuana and Cannabidiol (CBD) with your Doctor
The doctor will review your medical records and ask you questions based on your medical history. They will provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical cannabis and CBD are good choices for you.
Receive Your Certificate From Leafwell
This certificate says that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws, and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ card.
Apply for a Card with the State of Iowa
After your appointment, you’ll receive the following steps to guide you through the state process. Once approved, the state will mail your card, valid for one year.
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Iowa
You must have a valid medical cannabis card and certificate to possess cannabis in Iowa legally. Recreational marijuana is not legal in Iowa, nor is CBD flower.
Patients can buy products containing up to 4.5 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in a 90-day window. Qualifying physicians can recommend more THC for terminally ill patients or others who haven’t been helped enough by 4.5 grams per 90 days with a waiver form. (You can get this waiver from Leafwell.)
Approved cannabidiol products all come from one manufacturer. They are available in four different CBD-to-THC ratios:
Approved medical administration methods include:
- Nebulizable (used in a nebulizer, which converts liquid medication into a breathable mist)
- Topical forms
- Transdermal patches
- Vaporizable (Vapes)
Anyone who is at least 18 can get an Iowa medical marijuana card for themselves as long as they’re a resident of the state and have a qualifying condition.
Can Minors Get a Medical Card in Iowa?
Those under 18 or needing assistance accessing medical cannabis will need a caregiver, who will need to register at the same time as the patient.
Parents, legal guardians, and anyone 18 or older who is a resident of Iowa or a neighboring state and has been designated by the patient as a caretaker can apply for a registration card, allowing them to obtain medicinal cannabis and administer it to a patient.
To apply, a caregiver must:
- Be listed on the healthcare practitioner form as the designated primary caregiver.
- Complete the registration application online.
- Apply and pay a $25 non-refundable fee.
- The Office of Medical Cannabidiol will review and email you once you’re approved — the email will include a temporary card, and a permanent card will be mailed out afterward.
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Autism/Asperger Syndrome
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBDs)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
What You’ll Need to Apply
To apply for your MMJ card in Iowa, you must show your signed certificate, which provides proof of your condition, and valid identification documents. You should gather the following:
- Photo ID, such as a driver’s license or state ID card. Out-of-state IDs are not accepted.
- Proof of residency, such as a utility bill, bank statement, or correspondence with the state department.
- A signed medical cannabis certificate (which can be obtained via Leafwell).
- A digital photograph.
An online consultation with Leafwell to get your medical marijuana recommendation costs $149.
The state fee for a medical cannabis card is $100 ($25 reduced fee for qualifying patients) for a one-year registration. You must renew the card annually. A renewal with Leafwell costs $149.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Iowa does not accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards at dispensaries. However, cannabis cardholders from other states can possess products that fall within the Iowa guidelines.
While Iowa does not practice medical marijuana reciprocity, several other states do, and they will recognize an Iowa medical marijuana card. The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Connecticut ^
- Hawaii *
- Illinois ^
- Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
- Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
- Missouri ^
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
- New York ^
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Pennsylvania (minors only)
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
- Vermont ^
- Virginia ^
- Washington ^
- Washington, D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in IA
In all states with a regulated medical or adult-use program, the only way to purchase marijuana products is via a legally-licensed dispensary, pharmacy, or another legally designated space to buy cannabis.
In Iowa, medical marijuana patients may acquire cannabis at one of five medical cannabidiol dispensaries that are licensed state-wide. Only one approved provider creates cannabis products, which are available in various CBD-to-THC ratios and delivery formats.
When seeking medical marijuana, it’s a good idea to talk to dispensary staff and ask plenty of questions. These trained professionals can assist you in identifying the best cannabis products for specific health conditions and address any questions or concerns.
It is illegal to grow medical marijuana in Iowa.
Iowa Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
Iowa has some of the most strict laws concerning cannabis on both the recreational and medical front. Adult-use cannabis is entirely illegal, and the first offense for possession is punishable by up to six months in jail or a $1,000 fine. Medical CBD obtained from or produced elsewhere besides the sole licensed producer in Iowa is treated as unlicensed marijuana.
If you’re ready to secure your Iowa MMJ card, connect with one of Leafwell’s virtual physicians today.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does an Iowa Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
An online consultation with a licensed healthcare provider for an Iowa medical marijuana card costs $149 with Leafwell. Patients must also pay a separate $100 fee with their state application to the Iowa Office of Medical Cannabidiol.
Here’s the fee overview:
- $149 Initial certificate from Leafwell
- $149 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
- $100 State application fee*
($25 reduced fee with proof of SSDI, SSI, Medicaid, or Hawk-I)
The consultation fee includes a one-year certification, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Iowa?
In Iowa, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Cancer – if the illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, cachexia or severe wasting.
- Chronic pain
- Corticobasal Degeneration
- Crohn’s disease
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS) with severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe, intractable autism with self-injurious or aggressive behaviors
- Ulcerative colitis
- Any terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of under one year – if the illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, cachexia or severe wasting
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Iowa online?
There are four simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Iowa to obtain your medical marijuana card:
- Register online with Leafwell
Create an account online, then you can speak to a doctor and qualify for an Iowa medical marijuana card. You are only billed if approved.
- Attend your appointment and discuss with your physician why you would like an MMJ Card
The doctor will review your medical records and ask you questions based on your medical history. They will provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.
- Receive your certificate from Leafwell
This is a certificate which says that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ Card.
- Complete the Medical Marijuana Application
After your appointment, you’ll receive the next steps to help guide you through the state process. Once approved, the state will mail you your card. (Please note: Leafwell will not be sending you the card – this is the state of Iowa’s responsibility). The card is valid for 1 year.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Iowa?
You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Iowa for yourself. Caregivers must also be 18 years of age.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Iowa?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Iowa can have a caregiver. Caregivers will complete their own application and must also be listed on the patient’s Healthcare Practitioner Certification form.
- Be listed on the Healthcare Practitioner Certification form as the designated primary caregiver.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Be a resident of Iowa or a bordering state (Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota, or Wisconsin).
- If caring for more than one patient, you must submit a separate application for each patient.
To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:
- You will need your associated patient’s completed Healthcare Practitioner Certification form with you listed as a caregiver on page 1.
- Click on the Online Caregiver Registration button found on this page.
- Select if you are a new or renewing caregiver.
- If renewing, you’ll be asked for your registration number and email address. The registration number can be found on your previously issued card.
- Select if you are applying as a caregiver for a minor or adult patient.
- If for an adult patient, your associated patient must have a currently issued card for you to be approved. You’ll be asked to provide their registration number on the application.
- If for a minor patient, they do not need to apply as a patient. You will be issued a card on their behalf when approved.
- Fill out the online application.
- If applying to be a caregiver for an adult patient, you’ll enter their registration number on the application.
- If applying to be a caregiver for a minor patient, you’ll have a section to complete their demographic information.
- Upload required images.
- The patient’s completed healthcare practitioner form with you listed as a primary caregiver on page 1.
- A photo of the front of your valid driver’s license or state-issued non-operator’s ID.
- Electronically sign the attestation and submit.
- Once you click submit, an attestation statement will appear. Enter the same email you used on the application, and check the box to complete the electronic signature.
- Complete your payment.
- After signing the attestation and submitting you’ll be directed to a payment screen to pay the $25 caregiver registration fee.
- When your application is reviewed you will receive an email stating that you are either approved or pending information.
- If Approved, you’ll receive an approval email with your valid digital card attached as a PDF. Your permanent card will be mailed to the address on your application.
- If Pending Information, you’ll receive an email stating which items are missing, and you can upload the missing items or make a payment using a link in that email.
How do I apply for the state program in Iowa?
After you’ve been approved by a Leafwell physician, you will receive your Healthcare Practitioner Certification Form via email and you can then apply to the state. This process is the same for new and renewal patients.
You will also need:
- Photo ID (Iowa Driver’s License or Non-operator State ID)
- Payment method (debit, credit or e-check)
- Proof of eligibility for reduced fee if applicable
Here’s what to do next to apply online as an adult patient (the state recommends you use Chrome, Safari, Firefox or Edge).
- Click here and click on Online Patient Registration (the big blue button)
- Fill out the online Adult Patient Application
- Upload the following:
- The valid photo ID (driver’s license or non-operator’s card – must be IO cards)
- Your Healthcare Practitioner Certificate (emailed to you from Leafwell)
- Optional – waiver form
- Optional – Reduced fee verification – if you do this, tick the ‘I qualify for the reduced fee’ box
- Once submitted, read the terms and conditions, check the box and enter your email
- Pay the fee and enter your contact information
- Receive an email saying you’ve been approved
- They will also email you if there is missing information
- A temporary card will be emailed to you
- A hard copy of your card will be mailed to you a few weeks later.
Minors don’t need to apply themselves. Instead, caregivers can apply using the ‘Online Caregiver Registration’ button found here.