- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $149 for your appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Register online with Leafwell
You can speak to a doctor and qualify for a West Virginia medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $199, and you are only billed if approved.
Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor
Attend your appointment and discuss why you would like an MMJ Card with your physician. The doctor will review your medical records and ask you questions based on your medical history. They will provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.
Doctor Submits Certification to the State of West Virginia
Once approved, your medical marijuana physician will enter your information directly into the state’s online licensing and registration system.
Download Your Medical Card
Once approved, you can download a digital copy of your card from the state website. The approval process takes 30-60 days, and the card is valid for one year.
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in West Virginia
Applying for a West Virginia medical marijuana card is the only way residents can legally purchase and consume cannabis in the state. Recreational sales and home cultivation of cannabis remain illegal under state law.
Purchase and Possession Limits
Medical cannabis patients in West Virginia can purchase up to a 30-day supply of medical cannabis products from licensed dispensaries. State law does not specify how much cannabis constitutes a 30-day supply, but your doctor or physician may recommend an amount based on your medical condition and medical history.
West Virginia residents aged 18 and up diagnosed with at least one qualifying medical condition may be eligible to apply for a medical cannabis card. First, they must register for a consultation with a state-licensed healthcare provider and get approved. With Leafwell, patients can complete this consultation online via telemedicine.
See below for a complete list of qualifying conditions and step-by-step instructions for the application process.
Can Minors Get a Medical Card in West Virginia?
Yes. But for an individual under 18 to obtain a West Virginia medical card, they will need a caregiver to apply on their behalf. Caregivers for minor patients must be one of the following:
- A parent or legal guardian of the patient
- An individual designated by a parent or legal guardian
- An individual approved by the bureau if no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available
West Virginia defines a caregiver as someone at least 21 years or older who has been approved to obtain medical cannabis from state dispensaries and deliver it to a patient. Patients may not designate more than two caregivers; a caregiver may not serve more than five patients at once.
Caregivers must apply online for a separate identification card and undergo a criminal background check. Caregivers must not have been convicted of a drug felony within the past five years. There is a $50 nonrefundable application fee.
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Eating Disorders (e.g. Anorexia, Bulimia, Obesity)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Muscle Spasms
- Neuropathy (Nerve Pain)
- Palliative Care (Admittance Into Hospice)
- Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
What You’ll Need to Apply
To register for your West Virginia MMJ card, you will need to provide medical records, identification documentation, and payment for state fees. You should gather the following:
- A signed medical certification issued by a practitioner and submitted to the state (this can be obtained with Leafwell)
- Valid, unexpired driver’s license
- State-issued ID card
- Proof of residency
- Utility bills
- Correspondence with a state department
- Bank statements
- Mortgage or rental agreements
- $50 for state processing fees
- A digital photograph (which will be used on the card)
Online consultation with one of Leafwell’s healthcare providers costs $149. However, you will not be charged if you do not qualify for your MMJ card.
The state also charges a $50 nonrefundable fee each time you apply. This fee may be waived if your household income is twice that of the federal poverty level.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
West Virginia does not currently accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards. The state could create reciprocity agreements with similarly regulated states to allow terminally ill cancer patients to purchase medical cannabis. No such agreements have been made as of December 2022.
The following states, however, accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Connecticut ^
- Delaware ^
- Hawaii *
- Illinois ^
- Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
- Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
- Missouri ^
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
- New York ^
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Pennsylvania (minors only)
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
- Vermont ^
- Virginia ^
- Washington ^
- Washington D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in WV
Patients with valid MMJ cards can purchase cannabis at any state dispensary. Click here to access a list of dispensaries curated by the West Virginia Office of Medical Cannabis.
Home cultivation of cannabis is not permitted for medical marijuana patients under West Virginia law.
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
Below are a few need-to-know medical marijuana laws enforced in West Virginia. Check out our West Virginia law page for more in-depth coverage of state laws.
- Patients can not consume cannabis in public places.
- Patients can not drive or operate motor vehicles under the influence of cannabis.
- Patients cannot cultivate cannabis.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a West Virginia Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
Online consultation with one of Leafwell’s healthcare providers costs $149. However, you will not be charged if you do not qualify for your medical cannabis card.
West Virginia also charges a $50 nonrefundable fee each time you apply. This fee may be waived if your household income is twice that of the federal poverty level.
What conditions qualify for a medical cannabis card in West Virginia?
The following conditions may qualify you for a West Virginia medical cannabis certificate and card:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with an objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Huntington’s disease (HD)
- Intractable seizures
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
- Sickle cell anemia
- Terminal illness (defined as a medical prognosis of life expectancy of approximately one year or less if the illness runs its normal course)
How does the online evaluation process work for getting a Medical Marijuana certificate Letter/Medical Certificate in West Virginia?
There are four simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in West Virginia to obtain your medical marijuana card:
1. Register online with Leafwell
You can speak to a doctor and qualify for a West Virginia medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $199. You are only billed if approved.
2. Attend your appointment and discuss with your physician why you would like an MMJ Card
The doctor will review your medical records and ask you questions based on your medical history. They will provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.
3. Receive your certificate from Leafwell
This is a certificate which says that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ Card.
4. Complete the medical marijuana Application on the government website
After your appointment, you’ll receive the next steps to help guide you through the state process. Once approved, you can download your card from the website. Approval takes 30-60 days. The card is valid for 1 year.
How old do I have to be to apply for a medical cannabis card in West Virginia?
West Virginia residents aged 18 and up diagnosed with at least one qualifying medical condition may be eligible to apply for a medical cannabis card.
Patients under 18 must have a caregiver to apply on their behalf. Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age and approved to obtain medical cannabis from state dispensaries and deliver it to a patient.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in West Virginia?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in West Virginia can have a caregiver. Caregivers must submit an application after the patient is approved.
- Minimum 21 years old
- Certain circumstances may allow for someone under 21 years old to be a caregiver. The patient and caregiver will need to contact the program.
- A background check is required.
- Caregivers may serve up to five (5) patients. Patients may have up to two (2) caregivers.
- $50 nonrefundable fee. The bureau may waive or reduce the fee in cases of demonstrated financial hardship.
Here’s how to apply as a caregiver:
- Complete the Patient Authorization for Designation of Caregiver form. The form must be notarized.
- Complete the Criminal Background Check Rights Acknowledgement form.
- The caregiver or parent/guardian will apply after the patient has received his/her approval from OMC.
- You will need to create an account with the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Portal by entering your email address and creating a password for the account. If you have an existing account, sign in and skip to step 7.
- Enter your registration information.
- Once you have entered the registration information and submitted, you will receive an email from Complia with a link to verify your account. When you click on the link, you will be automatically directed back to the website.
- To request another verification email, please visit https://wvpublic.mycomplia.com/#!/resendVerifyAccountEmail.
- Once your account is verified, sign in to your account to start the application.
- Click on +Create New Application.
- Click on New Caregiver Registration and then click Create Application.
- Provide the requested information.
- Caregivers are required to submit a $50.00 processing fee for the application unless requesting a waiver based on financial hardship.
- You will need to upload a copy of the Patient Authorization for Designation of Caregiver and the Criminal Background Check Rights Acknowledgement forms as part of the application
- You will also be required to submit fingerprints for a criminal background check through IdentoGo.
How do I apply for the state program in West Virginia?
Our healthcare provider will submit your certification directly into the state’s online licensing and registration system. After we submit your information, it can take between 30 and 60 days before your application is approved. Once approved, you can download a digital copy of your medical cannabis card (valid for one year).