Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to get a medical card in Texas.

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    You can speak to a doctor, qualify for a Texas medical marijuana card online and submit your payment details. You are only billed if approved.

  2. 2

    You’re Added to the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) Once Approved.

    After your call, our physician will complete some administrative tasks to add you to the Compassionate Use Registry (CUP) in Texas, aka CURT.

  3. 3

    Medical Patients Can Buy CBD-Rich Marijuana

    Once you’ve been registered, your details will be validated by the state, and you will be able to fulfill your prescription using your preferred dispensary. There is no physical card in Texas, so you won’t need to wait for anything posted or emailed to you by Leafwell.

Trusted by 300k+ patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Dave Sampson

Billings, MT

Fast, easy application process.

Benefits of Getting a Texas Medical Card

Registering to CURT is the only way to legally access medical, CBD-rich cannabis in the state of Texas.

About Medical Marijuana in Texas

The Texas Compassionate Use Program is a low-THC program. THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) is the psychoactive component of cannabis. Even though it has significant therapeutic uses, states like Texas have curtailed use. Cannabidiol (CBD), which is non-intoxicating, is the compound most states have somewhat opened up to.

As an MMJ Cardholder in Texas, you are permitted to possess:

  • Any amount of low-THC, high-CBD oil
  • Low-THC is considered 1% THC  (the old limit was 0.5%) or less for medical patients – anything above this is considered "marijuana" or "THC oil."
  • Products cannot be smoked, even if they are less than 1% THC

Marijuana is not recreationally legal in Texas, and laws are stringent. For non-medical users, the maximum THC percentage is 0.3%.


diamond icon

How to qualify

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Texas, you must be a legal resident of Texas. You will also be asked to provide your Texas Driver’s License Number or Texas State ID number.

Patients must be 18 to apply for a medical marijuana card.

There is no registration fee or program to sign up to. However, the state will retain your information in the Compassionate Use Registry (CURT) after your physician has entered this information, following your approval.

  1. Information for caregivers
    hands-icon

    Texas does not have an official MMJ caregiver program at this moment in time.


Medical Conditions

According to Texas law, the following debilitating conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certification in Texas:

woman-leafs
Possession and Growing

Registered medical CBD users may possess any amount of low-THC (under 1%), CBD-rich cannabis, or hemp oil.

For non-medical users, possession of up to two ounces is a class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in prison and/or a fine of up to $2000.

It is illegal to cultivate marijuana plants in Texas.


diamond icon

Caregivers

Texas doesn't have a caregiver program.

Texas does not have an official MMJ caregiver program at this moment in time. However, minors can qualify for medical cannabis, and a parent or guardian must be listed on their initial application.

  1. 01

    Texas does not have an official MMJ caregiver program at this moment in time.

card-reciprocity
Reciprocity

Texas does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards or cannabis certifications.

As Texas does not have an identification card system, there is no way for a Texas medical CBD registration to be recognized in other states with reciprocity.

Texas Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts
diamond icon

Frequently asked questions in Texas

How much does a Texas Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

An online consultation with a Texas-licensed physician with Leafwell is $199. Texas does not have any medical marijuana certificates, cards or identification cards. Patients are registered onto the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT).

The physician will enter your details into CURT after the appointment if you are approved. There is no state fee.

Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Texas?

In Texas, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

  • A seizure disorder (e.g. Epilepsy)
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
  • An incurable neurodegenerative disease
  • Autism
  • Cancer
  • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Spasticity, such as that caused by conditions like Parkinson’s Disease
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Texas online?

After you’ve spoken to a Leafwell physician and been approved for the Texas Low THC program, you don’t need to do anything.

The next steps are for your physician. The physician will:

  1. Enter your details in their physician profile within the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas – otherwise known as CURT
  2. Once your details have been entered, the state will verify that the details are correct

To purchase your medicine, go to your local dispensary and show them your state ID. The dispensary can access CURT and confirm your status as a valid patient in the state.

How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Texas?

You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Texas. Caregivers must also be 18 years of age.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Texas?

Texas does not currently have an official MMJ Caregiver program. However, minors can qualify for medical cannabis, and a parent or guardian must be listed on their initial application.

Minors suffering from terminal or chronic conditions like cancer, epilepsy or any other long-term neurological condition that affects quality of life, and some kinds of autism may qualify a minor for an MMJ card.

How do I apply for the state program in Texas?

After you’ve spoken to a Leafwell physician and been approved for the Texas Low THC program, you don’t need to do anything.

The next steps are for your physician. The physician will:

  1. Enter your details in their physician profile within the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas – otherwise known as CURT
  2. Once your details have been entered, the state will verify that the details are correct

To purchase your medicine, go to your local dispensary and show them your state ID. The dispensary can access CURT and confirm your status as a valid patient in the state.