Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

You’re applying for

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to get a medical card in Oklahoma.

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    You can speak to a doctor and qualify for an Oklahoma medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $99, and you are only billed if approved.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor and Get Approved

    Discuss why you require medical cannabis with your qualifying, OK-licensed MMJ physician. If approved, you’ll receive your certificate. This certificate says that your doctor recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws, and this certificate is required to apply for your MMJ Card.

  3. 3

    Complete the Application through OMMA

    Apply to the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority online. You will need to upload various pieces of ID and your medical marijuana doctor’s certificate from Leafwell as part of the application. You must do this within 30 days of being approved by Leafwell.

  4. 4

    Receive Your Card From Oklahoma State

    If approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail within 14 business days. Your certificate will be valid for two years from the date of issue. Please note that the state, not Leafwell, sends medical marijuana cards.

Trusted by 200k patients

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Benefits of Getting a Oklahoma Medical Card

Having a valid physician’s medical cannabis certificate and medical marijuana card is the only way to consume cannabis legally in Oklahoma.

About Medical Marijuana in Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s medical cannabis law does not include any qualifying conditions. This makes it one of the most lenient medical marijuana programs in the United States and may account for why one in 13 Oklahomans have a medical marijuana card.

Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana laws and legislation in Oklahoma:

  • 1933 – outlawed all forms of marijuana.
  • June 26, 2018 – voters legalized medical marijuana. The state became the quickest ever to implement an effective medical cannabis law and started accepting applications two months later.
  • September 24, 2018 – reduced the penalty for simple possession of marijuana to a fine, capped at $400 (previously, it had been $1,200 and six months in jail.

Under Oklahoma’s SQ 788 and the emergency medical marijuana rules, patients who hold a medical marijuana card have the right to:

  • Enroll in school without rejection based only on cardholder status.
  • Rent an apartment without eviction or rejection based solely on patient status.
  • Work at their place of employment without discrimination for having a card or testing positive for marijuana.
  • Receive healthcare without disqualification merely due to medical marijuana treatment.
  • Visit or have custody of their child without denial only based on patient status.
  • Hold a state-issued license without suspension on the sole basis of cardholder status.

How to qualify

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma, you must be a legal resident of Oklahoma. Patients must be aged 18 or over to apply for a medical marijuana card for themselves. Minors (anyone under the age of 18) must have caregivers apply on their behalf.

  1. Information for caregivers:

    The state website does not provide details about what they require from caregivers when they apply, but at the point of application, you must include the medical marijuana license number for the patient for whom you will be acting as a caregiver. Caregivers must be aged 21 years or older and there is no caregiver application fee.

Medical Conditions

There are no specific qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Oklahoma. This is a decision made by your qualifying medical marijuana physician. Book an appointment to see if you qualify.


Possession and Growing

As an MMJ cardholder in Oklahoma, you are permitted to posses up to 3oz of marijuana on your possession of flower, up to 8oz of marijuana in your home of flower, up to 1oz concentrated marijuana or up to 72oz of edible marijuana.

Recreational marijuana is illegal. Possession without a license is a fine-only misdemeanor up to 1.5oz.

Qualifying patients can grow cannabis in Oklahoma. Those possessing a state-issued license may possess up to six mature marijuana plants and up to six seedling (immature) plants.


Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Oklahoma can have a caregiver.

You qualify as a primary caregiver under Oklahoma marijuana law if:

  1. 01

    You are over 21

  2. 02

    You are stated on the caregiver designation form

  3. 03

    You carry your caregiver card and state ID

Reciprocity

If you hold a medical marijuana card elsewhere, you can apply for a temporary card during your stay in Oklahoma. The medical marijuana certificate & MMJ card will be valid for 30 days and cannot exceed the expiration of the out-of-state MMJ card. Temporary Oklahoma MMJ licenses can be renewed.

This reciprocity is one key benefit for medical marijuana users. Unlike recreational cannabis users, medical marijuana users with a medical marijuana card can travel to the states listed above and purchase the medical marijuana they require while they are out of state.

Patients who qualify for a medical marijuana card in another state may apply for a temporary medical marijuana card in Oklahoma. Residents who live in another state with a valid MMJ license in their home state may apply for a temporary license to "buy, use, and grow" medical marijuana from an Oklahoma dispensary.

Oklahoma Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts

Frequently asked questions in Oklahoma

    How much does an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

    Medical marijuana certificate on its own = $99 at Leafwell

    State application fee = $100*

    Renewal fee = $99

    * Individuals who provide acceptable proof of Medicaid (SoonerCare) or Medicare enrollment or status as a 100% disabled veteran will pay a reduced fee of $20.

    Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

    What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma?

    Oklahoma’s law does not include any qualifying conditions. This makes it one of the most lenient medical marijuana programs in the United States and may account for why one in 13 Oklahomans have a medical marijuana card.

    Instead, each individual medical marijuana doctor is able to issue certificates based on their own judgement – much like they do when prescribing traditional medications.

    If you’re not sure if your condition can be helped by medical marijuana, we recommend you do some research on our conditions page. After that if you feel that you could benefit from cannabis, book an appointment with one of our online medical marijuana doctors and speak with them about your condition and your research. Then they can either approve or deny you based on their medical experience and your anecdotal evidence.

    How often do I need to renew my Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card and can I do it online?

    Oklahoma medical marijuana certificates are valid for two years. When you use Leafwell to obtain your certificate, we’ll send you a reminder email one month before your card is due to expire to make sure you have plenty of time to submit your renewal application online.

    How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma?

    You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma.

    Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Oklahoma?

    Yes, Oklahoma has a caregiver program. Minors (those aged under 18 who need medicinal cannabis) must have a caregiver unless they are legally emancipated.

    Adults may choose whether or not they require a caregiver. According to Oklahoma law, a caregiver must be a family member or assistant who regularly looks after the medical marijuana patient for whom they are applying to be caregiver.

    Caregivers must fill out an application form giving their details and ID, and information about the patient (who should also have a completed application form). The forms can be found here:

    https://oklahoma.gov/omma/patients-caregivers/caregiver-application-information.html

    How do I apply for the state program in Oklahoma?

    Please note:

    The OMMA has launched a new licensing software, Thentia. Click here to visit the new patient portal.

    For a video of the NEW patient registration process, click here.

    Before you start, have these supporting documents ready:

    • Leafwell Physician Recommendation Form
      • This must be dated within 30 days
      • If you want someone to get a caregiver’s license, the bottom section must be signed by the physician
    • Digital photo (plain, pale background, no glasses/hats, top of head and top of shoulders in shot, clear photo)
    • Proof of Identity (one document required)
      • Unexpired OK driver’s license or ID card – front and back, in color
      • US passport
      • Tribal ID accepted by Department of of Public Safety
    • Proof of Residency (one document required) OK driver’s license or ID card – front and back, in color
      • Utility bill for the calendar month before the application submission date (no cell phone or internet bills)
      • Residential property deed to OK property
      • Current rental agreement for OK residential property
    • Optional – proof of Medicaid/Medicare/Disabled Verteran Status
    • Debit or Credit card for application fee (Visa, Mastercard or Discover)

    Getting Your Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card

    1. Register an account for the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program.
      1. Go to the OMMA licensing portal and click "Access portal" to apply for a license.
    2. Click "Sign up now" to create a new account.
      1. Enter a valid email address and click "Send verification code."
      2. Check your email for a verification code.
      3. Enter the code and click "Verify code."
      4. Create a new password and enter your first and last name. Click Create.
    3. Click "Patient Portal" to start a NEW patient application.
    4. Click "Create a New Profile"
      1. Enter legal name, click "Save and Continue"
      2. On the Patient Profile page, click "Select" next to your name.
    5. This brings you to the Dashboard. You can now select "Apply for a new license."
      1. Find your application type and click "Select this Application."
      2. The next page shows the Application Instructions and lists the required documentation. Review the information and click "Save and Continue."
      3. Enter your personal information.
      4. Select your “Identity Document Type” and enter the requested information.
      5. Upload the front and back of your Proof of Identity.
      6. Upload a digital photograph for your patient ID card. Adjust photo as needed.
      7. Enter the information printed on your Leafwell Physician Recommendation Form.
        1. Please make sure the signature date is no more than 30 days from when you submit your application.
        2. Upload your Leafwell Physician Recommendation Form
      8. If you are enrolled in Medicaid, Medicare, or have 100% Disabled Veterans status select “Yes” and upload supporting documentation.
      9. Complete Attestations section.
      10. Review application. You can click "View All Pages" or "Next Page" to review the application information.
    6. Make Payment. On the Payment page, you can review your fee breakdown and payment options.
      1. Enter Payment Information.
      2. Fill in your card information, then click "Next."
      3. Confirm your payment information is correct and click "Submit Payment."
    7. The screen will display "Submitted" when you have completed the application submission. You can visit the dashboard to check your status and view your payments. You do NOT need to mail in your application because it was submitted electronically. You will receive a submission confirmation and payment receipt via email.
    8. Once the application has been submitted, it will be reviewed by the OMMA.If approved, an approval letter with your license will be mailed via US Mail within 14 business days of the application submission date.
      1. If an application is incomplete, you will receive an email stating the reason(s). Log back into your account to make corrections
      2. If an application is denied because all requirements have not been met, a denial letter stating the reason(s) for denial will be mailed within 14 business days of submission.
    9. Purchase medical marijuana products from a licensed dispensary. Present your medical marijuana identification card and another form of identification any time you purchase medical marijuana at a dispensary or have marijuana taken to a processor to be concentrated.

    Click here for a detailed step-by-step video!

    OMMA recommends using Chrome, Edge or Firefox as your browser. Please DO NOT use Internet Explorer.