Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!
Register online with Leafwell
You will be able to speak to a doctor and qualify for a North Dakota medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $199, and you are only billed if approved.
During your appointment, a Leafwell physician will ask you questions based on your medical history and provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.
Receive your certificate from Leafwell
If you are approved, your certificate will automatically be inputted into the North Dakota’s Department of Health (DoH) and medical marijuana registry, the Division of Medical Marijuana.
Complete the Application on the Government Website
This process takes place on the North Dakota government website. You will need to upload your ID and fill in the application, and there is a $50 application fee.
Receive your Medical Marijuana Card from North Dakota
If approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail within seven days from the state (please note that Leafwell does not send you a card). Your certificate will be valid for one year from the date of issue.
You can also download an electronic copy of your MMJ card and use your mobile phone (smartphone) as an ID Card via the new feature from the government.
Trusted by 200k patients
Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.
Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!
Fast, easy application process.
Benefits of Getting a North Dakota Medical Card
A valid medical cannabis certificate from a licensed physician and MMJ card is currently the only way to consume cannabis in North Dakota legally.
For those without a medical marijuana card, possession of 1 ounce or less is a misdemeanor and can bring up to 30 days’ incarceration and/or a maximum fine of $1,500. Anything more, and it’s a felony, with an incarceration period of between 5 and 10 years and a maximum fine of $10,000 (for between 1 oz and less than 500 g) or $20,000 for possession of any amount over 500 g.
About Medical Marijuana in North Dakota
Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana in North Dakota.
2016 – North Dakota voters approve of Measure 5, known as the "North Dakota Compassion Act." State Bill 2344 (SB 2344) removes the ability for people to grow their cannabis.
2017 – the Medical Marijuana Program in North Dakota was established and implemented
Towns and cities in North Dakota can choose to “opt-out” and ban, limit or restrict the number of medical marijuana dispensaries. We do not know of any towns or cities in North Dakota that have done so yet.
Information for caregivers:
The person you care for is legally entitled to use medical marijuana.
You must meet the legal definition of a primary caregiver under North Dakota law. Minor patients are those aged under 19.
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Fibrosis and Cirrhosis of the Liver
- Lewy Body Dementia (LBD)
Possession and Growing
As an MMJ cardholder in North Dakota, you are permitted to possess up to 3 oz. per month of cannabis flower.
Here’s some more detailed information for patients:
- Cannabis flower and dried leaves – up to 3 oz. per month (but you can only purchase 2.5oz at a time). The physician may increase the possession limit to 6 oz for cancer patients.
- Cannabis Concentrates – up to 4,000 mg of THC per month. This includes edibles, tinctures, oils, pills/capsules, and other forms of concentrated cannabis.
Minor patients (under 19) cannot use dried leaves and flowers, nor can they use products with more than 6% THC.
Patients must have a specific certification from their physician to consume herbal cannabis formulations via combustion. Otherwise, patients can only obtain cannabis-infused tinctures, capsules, patches, or topical.
You cannot cultivate marijuana in North Dakota even if you have an MMJ Card. This provision was removed by lawmakers by the passage of SB 2344.
Sign up to the state website
Complete and apply the BioTrackTHC system. You will be asked for your name, address, date of birth, phone number, and email address. You will also need to upload a passport-style photograph, driver’s license, or ND state ID card in .pdf, .jpeg, or .png format.
Provide the patient's unique medical marijuana barcode
An applicant must enter the patient’s 10-digit alphanumeric barcode number and click the "verify" button to match the appropriate patient to the designated caregiver. Once there is a correct match, the patient’s name, date of birth, and email address will populate in the fields. The patient barcode number is generated and assigned when patients complete and submit their application, and this means that the patient must complete their initial application first.
Pass a criminal records check
All designated caregivers must pass a criminal history record check with their initial application and every other year after that. Per NDCC Chapter 19-24.1, anybody who applies as a designated caregiver must not have been convicted of a drug misdemeanor within the five years preceding the date of application or a felony offense (in a lifetime).
North Dakota does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards.
North Dakota medical marijuana cards are seen as valid by some other states with medical marijuana reciprocity.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently asked questions in North Dakota
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Chronic Pain
- Cirrhosis (caused by Hepatitis C)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Failure to Thrive/Cachexia/Wasting Syndrome
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Spinal Stenosis
- Complete and submit an application via the BioTrackTHC system. You will be asked for your name, address, date of birth, phone number and email address. You will also need to upload a passport-style photograph, driver’s license or ND state ID card in .pdf, .jpeg or .png format.
- An applicant must enter the patient’s 10-digit alphanumeric barcode number and click the "verify" button to match the appropriate patient to the designated caregiver. Once there is a correct match the patient’s name, date of birth and email address will populate in the fields. The patient barcode number is generated and assigned when a patient completes and submits their patient application. This means that the patient must complete their initial application first.
- All designated caregivers must pass a criminal history record check with their initial application and every other year after that. Per NDCC Chapter 19-24.1, anybody who applies as a designated caregiver must not have been convicted of a drug misdemeanor within the five years preceding the date of application or of a felony offense (in a lifetime).
- View and edit certain information on their account
- View and edit an application that was started but not submitted (Please Note: once an application is submitted, the applicant will not be able to edit their application. If a change needs to be made, please contact the Division of Medical) Marijuana
- View their submitted application and track where it is at in the review and approval process.
- Check the patient(s) 30-day maximum purchase limit balance.
- Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choosing a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (Leafwell is required by law to verify your identity). You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
- Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit). (You will receive a text message to your cell phone when the provider is ready to see you.) During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.
- If you are approved for a medical marijuana card, you’ll be sent a copy of your certificate letter via email. You can then use this certificate to apply to the North Dakota Medical Marijuana Program for your card.
How much does a North Dakota Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
It is not possible for a North Dakota patient to get qualified for a medical cannabis certificate online using Leafwell at the moment.
The state application fee for an ND medical marijuana card is $50.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in North Dakota?
In North Dakota, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in North Dakota?
You must be at least 19 years old in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card and certificate in North Dakota.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in North Dakota?
Medical marijuana patients in North Dakota can have a caregiver. Caregivers must be at least 21 years-old.
To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:
Log back in to the BioTrackTHC to:
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in North Dakota online?
We cannot undertake medical marijuana consultations for North Dakota patients online at this moment in time here at Leafwell. When it does become available, the steps are likely to be quite straightforward.
You must be at least 19 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in North Dakota. Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age.