- An MMJ certificate is the only way to possess marijuana in Kentucky legally.
- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $199 for the appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Book an Appointment with Leafwell
Speak to a Leafwell healthcare provider to get approved for a Kentucky medical marijuana certificate online.
The consultation costs $199, and you’ll get your money back if you’re not approved.
Print Your MMJ Certificate
Once approved, you can download and print your written medical marijuana certification in compliance with Executive Order 2022-798.
There is no state application or medical card at this time.
Keep Your Written Certificate with You
You will need to carry your certification with you at all times when carrying medical marijuana products.
About Medical Marijuana in Kentucky
Kentucky Governor Andy Beshear provided medical cannabis patients with the state’s first significant legal protections for medical marijuana users upon issuing Executive Order 2022-798 in November 2022.
This Executive Order, which went into effect on January 1, 2023, allows for full, conditional pardons to those accused of marijuana possession.
The conditions for the pardon stipulate that patients must purchase cannabis legally outside of Kentucky.
Patients must have written proof of purchase that includes the date of purchase and the physical address of the location where they purchased the cannabis.
Individuals must be diagnosed with a qualifying condition and can possess no more than eight ounces of medical cannabis.
Patients must also have a healthcare provider-written certification when possessing cannabis. This certification form is not an MMJ card because medical marijuana is still illegal in Kentucky.
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Kentucky
Because cannabis is against the law in Kentucky, individuals charged with illegal cannabis possession currently face up to 45 days in jail.
Obtaining medical certification through the process outlined by Executive Order 2022-798 is the only way to avoid the legal consequences of possession. You are eligible for the possession pardon if you adhere to each requirement.
Patients at least 18 diagnosed with at least one of the qualifying conditions must receive a written certification from a licensed healthcare provider to get approved for medical marijuana in Kentucky.
Because Kentucky does not have its own medical marijuana program, patients will not receive a state medical card, nor will they have to pay state registration fees or a Kentucky-specific cannabis sales tax.
Patients must, however, always keep a copy of their written certification when cannabis is in their possession.
Can Minors Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Kentucky?
Minors can get certified for medical marijuana possession in Kentucky.
Caregivers over 21 can purchase medical cannabis on behalf of the qualifying underage patient.
The caregiver’s name must be included on the written certification as proof of the caregiver’s responsibility.
Parents or legal guardians of underaged patients are not required to register as caregivers and don’t have to carry a certification.
Caregivers must be over 21 and bear significant responsibility for the medical marijuana patient they’re caring for.
The caregiver must provide their name, address, and phone number to Leafwell.
Prospective caregivers should also be aware that their names will be listed on the certificate, and they will be responsible for ensuring that the certification form is in their possession at all necessary times.
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
What You’ll Need to Apply
You’ll need the following to get approved for a KY medical marijuana certificate:
- Basic patient information.
- Current address and contact information.
- State-issued identification (KY driver’s license or ID card).
- For minors, their caregiver’s ID will be required alongside the minor patient’s U.S. passport or birth certificate.
Certification through Leafwell costs $199. You’ll get your money back if you’re not approved.
Because Kentucky does not have its own medical marijuana program, there are no state applications or registration fees.
Certificates are valid for one year.
Leafwell can also help you to renew your KY MMJ certificate.
We recommend renewing at least 30 days before it expires to continue purchasing marijuana products without disruption.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Kentucky does not offer medical marijuana reciprocity to cardholders from states with medical programs.
That said, other states have either legalized the recreational use of marijuana or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Connecticut ^
- Delaware ^
- Hawaii *
- Illinois ^
- Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
- Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
- Missouri ^
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
- New York ^
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Pennsylvania (minors only)
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
- Vermont ^
- Virginia ^
- Washington ^
- Washington D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in KY
Because cannabis is illegal in Kentucky, there is nowhere within the state for patients to purchase marijuana.
The Executive Order states that patients must legally purchase cannabis through a licensed provider within the United States but outside of Kentucky.
Once certified, you must do your due diligence to determine where to purchase cannabis legally.
While neighboring state Ohio has its own medical program, for example, the state’s program is only eligible for Ohio residents.
Some states accept out-of-state medical cards through reciprocity programs, but the current certification process in Kentucky is not part of an overall medical cannabis program.
The safest way to purchase marijuana as a Kentucky resident would be to purchase cannabis in a state with recreational marijuana while strictly following each step of the Kentucky certification process.
Patients are not allowed to grow their own marijuana plants in Kentucky.
Kentucky Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
Marijuana remains illegal in Kentucky as of 2023, but there are signs of progress.
In addition to Governor Beshear’s Executive Order allowing for legal protections for medical marijuana patients with qualifying conditions, some state lawmakers are working to pass laws providing Kentucky with its own medical marijuana program.
On March 14, 2023, the Kentucky State Senate advanced a bill through the Licensing and Occupations Committee to allow patients with qualifying conditions to buy cannabis with legally established Kentucky dispensaries starting in 2025.
Should the bill advance past a general vote on the Senate floor, it would be sent over to the House, which previously passed its own medical marijuana initiative in 2020.
While these legislative attempts are strong signs of progress, cannabis is still illegal in Kentucky.
Patients who certify using the process outlined in Governor Beshear’s Executive Order must carefully adhere to current regulations.
Below are a few need-to-know medical marijuana laws in Kentucky:
- Although patients may be able to receive certification for medical cannabis use, marijuana itself remains illegal, both recreationally and medically.
- Patients may not possess more than eight ounces of cannabis.
- Patients or their designated caregiver must keep their certification form with them whenever cannabis is in their possession.
- Patients must follow all guidelines from the Executive Order when purchasing cannabis to receive legal protection from possession charges.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Kentucky medical marijuana certificate and card cost?
The cost of an online consultation to obtain your Kentucky medical marijuana certificate is $199, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
Please note: Currently, there is no state medical marijuana program or card. A Kentucky medical marijuana certificate only allows the legal possession of up to 8 oz. of marijuana purchased from out-of-state.
What medical conditions qualify for a medical marijuana card in Kentucky?
Kentucky Executive Order 2022-798 lists the following medical conditions as qualifying for a medical certificate:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), aka Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Huntington’s disease (HD)
- Intractable, severe, and chronic pain
- Intractable seizures
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease (PD)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle cell anemia
- Terminal illness
What do I need to know about applying for my medical cannabis card in Kentucky online?
There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider to obtain your Kentucky medical marijuana certificate online:
- Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choose a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (Leafwell is required by law to verify your identity). You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
- Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room, where you’ll be connected Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit). (You will receive a text message to your cell phone when the provider is ready to see you.) During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.
- If you are approved for a medical marijuana card, you will receive your medical cannabis certificate via email.
- Print out this certificate and carry it with you at all times.
How old do I have to be to apply for a medical marijuana card in Kentucky?
The Executive Order 2022-798 does not refer to an age limit – it is standard for anyone under the age of 18 to require a caregiver, however. Caregivers themselves must be 21 years or older and have a significant responsibility for managing the well-being of the individual. Anyone over the age of 18 can apply on their own behalf.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Kentucky?
- Must be 21 and responsible for managing the patient’s well-being.
- The caregiver’s name, address, and phone number must be listed on the patient’s certificate.
- Caregivers must carry a copy of the written certification if in possession of medical cannabis.