Fast, easy and affordable

Get your medical marijuana card online in minutes.

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to Get a Medical Card in Georgia.

  1. 1

    Register Online with Leafwell

    You can speak to a doctor and qualify for a Georgia medical marijuana card online. The cost of the online consultation is $149, and you are only billed if approved.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with Your Doctor

    Attend your appointment and discuss with your physician why you would like an MMJ card.

    The doctor will ask you questions based on your medical history and provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you. You will need to sign a waiver, alongside this physician, as part of the process.

  3. 3

    Receive Your Certificate From Leafwell

    Our physician will pass your information to the Georgia Low THC Oil Registry portal if approved. The Georgia Department of Public Health will then reach out to you to request your certificate and your signed and notarised waiver. Please note: there are no dispensaries open in Georgia at the time of writing.

  4. 4

    Apply for a Card with the State of Georgia

    Once approved, they will let you know when your MMJ card has been printed.

    You will be asked to arrange a pick-up time and place to go and get your new Georgia medical marijuana card. At this time, you will pay $25 for the card. There are 20 Public Health Offices in Georgia, and you can pick your card up from the one most convenient to you. Your card will be valid for two years from the date issued.

Trusted by 300k+ patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Dave Sampson

Billings, MT

Fast, easy application process.

Benefits of Getting a Georgia Medical Card

Having a valid MMJ certificate and medical card is the only way to legally utilize cannabis in Georgia.

About Medical Marijuana in Georgia

The medical marijuana program in Georgia is a Low-THC program. Products can contain up to 5% THC and no higher. It’s restrictive but it’s a step towards a broader medical cannabis program.

In February 1980, the Georgia Senate and House passed Mona Taft’s bill to legalize medical marijuana for people diagnosed with glaucoma and cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy and radiation. However, no patient was ever supplied with the product they needed.

HB1, the Haleigh’s Hope Act passed in 2015, allowing the purchase of medical cannabis oil with up to 5% THC. More conditions were approved in 2017 and 2018, and a full approval was signed into law in April 2019, formally allowing in-state cultivation of cannabis and sale of low-THC oil.


diamond icon

How to Qualify

To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card and certificate in Georgia, you must be a legal state resident 18 or older.

  1. Caregivers must also be 18.


    Primary caregivers can apply if:
    hands-icon

    The person you care for is legally entitled to use medical marijuana.

    You meet the legal definition of a primary caregiver under Georgia law.


Medical Conditions

In Georgia, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana recommendation:

woman-leafs
Possession and Growing

As an MMJ cardholder in Georgia, you are permitted to possess up to 20 fl oz of low THC oil. This oil can contain no more than 5% THC.

Georgia does not have a full medical marijuana program but rather a low THC Oil Registry. It’s very restrictive in the types of products that a medical marijuana user can purchase and use. There are currently no open dispensaries.

You cannot buy cannabis flower, edibles, or vape oil.

It is illegal to cultivate cannabis in Georgia, even for medical cannabis patients.


diamond icon

Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Georgia can have a caregiver.

You qualify as a primary caregiver under Georgia marijuana law if:

  1. 01

    The patient is a minor under 18, or the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis.

  2. 02

    You attend the appointment with Leafwell, alongside the person using the medical marijuana.

  3. 03

    You approve of the card being in your name. More than one caregiver can get a card for the same patient.

card-reciprocity
Reciprocity

Arizona, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, US Virgin Islands,Utah and Washington DC recognize a valid medical card and recommendation letter from Georgia.

This reciprocity is one key benefit for medical marijuana users. Unlike recreational cannabis users, medical marijuana users with a medical marijuana card can travel to the states listed above and purchase the medical marijuana they require while they are out of state.

Georgia Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts
diamond icon

Frequently asked questions in Georgia

How much does a Georgia Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

Medical marijuana certificate letter on its own = $149 at Leafwell

Georgia application fee = $25

Renewal fee = $149 at Leafwell

Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Georgia?

In Georgia, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

  • AIDS/HIV
  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
  • Autism (must be severe if patient is under 18)
  • Cancer (end stage or when treatment produces related wasting illness or nausea and vomiting)
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Epidermolysis bullosa
  • Intractable pain
  • Mitochondrial Disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizure disorders (including those caused by epilepsy and head trauma)
  • Sickle Cell Disease
  • Terminal condition
  • Tourette’s Syndrome
How often do I need to renew my Georgia Medical Marijuana Card and can I do it online?

Georgia medical marijuana certificates are valid for two years. When you use Leafwell to obtain your certificate, we’ll send you a reminder email one month before your card is due to expire to make sure you have plenty of time to submit your renewal application online.

How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Georgia?

You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Georgia.

How do I apply for the state program in Georgia?
  1. Once approved you will receive an email with your approval certificate and a waiver
  2. You must sign the waiver in the presence of a notary (or using an online notary service)
    1. Try these services:
      1. One Notary
      2. Notarize
      3. Online Notary
    2. Once notarized, please email a copy of the waiver to documents@secure.leafwell.co – this is a secure email account where we will attach the completed waiver to your patient profile.
  3. The Leafwell physician will submit your details to Georgia’s Low THC program on your behalf
  4. Your application will be reviewed and the state will contact you within 4-6 weeks to request the certificate and signed waiver provided after your consultation with Leafwell.
  5. If approved the state will contact you within 15 business days.
  6. Arrange to pick up your card from one of several public health offices geographically spread around the state.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Georgia?

Yes, medical marijuana patients in Georgia can have a caregiver. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

  1. Attend the appointment with the Leafwell physician, alongside the patient
  2. If approved, our physician will submit your details as the caregiver to the registry
  3. A caregiver application is $25, payable to the state