Renewals only

Renew your medical marijuana card in minutes.

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Apply now


How to get a medical card in Florida - Renewals only

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    The consultation fee is $125 for an examination. At this time, we only see patients in the following counties: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Flagler, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Orange, Osceola, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, St. Johns, Sarasota, Seminole, and Volusia.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor

    Attend your medical cannabis evaluation appointment and get a medical cannabis certificate. Speak to your physician, bringing with you all necessary documentation (ID, proof of address, medical records).

  3. 3

    Receive Your Certificate From Leafwell and Finish Your Application with the Office of Medical Marijuana Use

    The easiest way to apply for your Florida medical marijuana card is online. Log into the Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) website here: https://knowthefactsmmj.com/.

    The payment will take 5 days from submission to be fully processed. The application review period may take up to 5 business days. Expect the application review process from start to end to take 10 business days in total.

  4. 4

    Get Your Card Renewed By the State of Florida

    Once you have been certified and registered onto the OMMU, you can shop at a dispensary!

Trusted by 300k+ patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Dave Sampson

Billings, MT

Fast, easy application process.

Benefits of Getting a Florida Medical Card

Getting a medical marijuana certificate and having a valid medical marijuana card is the only way to legally consume cannabis in Florida. Should Florida ever legalize recreational cannabis, it is likely it will be far more restricted (and taxed more heavily) than medical cannabis.

About Medical Marijuana in Florida

After the initial success in 2014, campaigners with the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative worked to get Amendment 2 approved.

After medical marijuana first became legal, some cities within Florida initially banned medical marijuana dispensaries. These cities include Boca Raton, Coral Gables, and Delray Beach. However, these cities have one by one reversed their decision. Coral Gables changed course in 2017. And early in 2020, Boca Raton and Delray reversed their decisions and allowed medical marijuana.

Online renewals are available in the following counties until November 30th due to Hurricane Ian:

Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Flagler, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Orange, Osceola, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, St. Johns, Sarasota, Seminole, and Volusia.

Only medical cannabis is permissible in Miami. In June 2015, Miami-Dade County commissioners approved by a 10–3 vote a plan to allow civil citations to be issued for possession of up to 20 grams of cannabis. Persons issued a citation are required to pay a $100 fine or perform two days of community service.

Did you know, Orlando is one of the more cannabis-friendly cities in Florida? Still, you cannot smoke cannabis in public, and those who wish to use smokeable preparations need a physician’s form stating they can do so.

Tampa too is one of the more cannabis-friendly cities in Florida, with several jurisdictions decriminalizing cannabis, but there are groups in Tampa that are opposed to recreational cannabis.


diamond icon

How to qualify

Some patients may be eligible for an MMJ Card but unable to apply for one themselves.

  1. Information for caregivers
    hands-icon

    Should the patient be a minor under the age of 18, or if the patient needs assistance accessing medical cannabis, a caregiver can be assigned to complete the process on their behalf.


Medical Conditions

In Florida, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana recommendation:

Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those above.

woman-leafs
Possession and Growing

A qualified physician may order up to six 35-day supplies of smokable medical marijuana.

A 35-day order may not exceed 2.5 ounces. Patients may only possess up to 4 ounces of medical marijuana in a form for smoking at any given time.

There is a limit of 10% THC on medical marijuana products.

Those who wish to smoke cannabis (combustion) will require a special dispensation form from a physician that recommends this ingestion method.

In light of the Coronavirus pandemic, medical marijuana was declared an essential business by Governor Ros DeSantis and permits not only the continuing operation of dispensaries across the state but also the delivery of products, making it easier than ever for those who carry an MMJ card to legally obtain cannabis from the safety of their home.

Cultivating cannabis is illegal in the state of Florida. Only a limited number of businesses hold licenses to cultivate cannabis.


diamond icon

Caregivers

In Florida, you can get a medical marijuana card for a minor with parental/guardian consent.

Medical marijuana has been proven to be effective for many conditions suffered by children. The Leafwell providers understand this and frequently work with parents to help them get their children the medical care they need.

To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

  1. 01

    Retrieve your login credentials for the Medical Marijuana Use Registry from your email. https://knowthefactsmmj.com/patients/cards/#apply

  2. 02

    Access the “Your Card” page in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry to complete your online application. https://mmuregistry.flhealth.gov/. You must apply to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR) to become a legal medical marijuana caregiver. https://knowthefactsmmj.com/patients/cards/#how-to-apply

  3. 03

    Supply all necessary documentation and submit your payment information for the $75 processing fee.

  4. 04

    Once qualified, you will be sent a medical marijuana card.

    Please note: at the moment, we can only renew existing medical marijuana patients via telehealth, not process new applications.

card-reciprocity
Reciprocity

Florida does not recognize medical marijuana cards, recommendations or certificates from other states, and does not have reciprocity.

Other states with reciprocity may, however, recognize a Florida medical cannabis card. These include:

  • Arizona
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Washington, D.C.

The following states accept out-of-state applications:

  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Hawaii
  • West Virginia (cancer patients only)
Florida Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts
diamond icon

Frequently asked questions in Florida

How much does a Florida medical marijuana certificate and card cost?

We can only certify existing Florida patients for medical marijuana in the following counties at this time: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Flagler, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Orange, Osceola, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, St. Johns, Sarasota, Seminole and Volusia.

Medical marijuana certificate on its own = $125 at Leafwell

State application fee = $75. There is a $2.75 processing fee.

Renewal fee = $125

What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?

In Florida, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

  • AIDS/HIV
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Pain (Nonmalignant) caused by a qualifying medical condition or that originates from a qualifying medical condition and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
  • Parkinson’s Disease (PD)
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Terminal Condition that is diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification
  • Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those above
What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Florida online?

You can get certified for medical marijuana online with Leafwell in Florida if you live in these counties: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Flagler, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Orange, Osceola, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, St. Johns, Sarasota, Seminole and Volusia.

In general, you will need to:

  1. Schedule an appointment with a Florida-licensed physician.
  2. Register with the Florida MMJ Program
  3. Wait for your medical marijuana card.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?

You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida. Caregivers must be 21 years of age.

Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Florida?

Yes, medical marijuana patients in Florida can have a caregiver. The caregiver fills out their own application form, and must be listed on the patient’s application form as well.

Caregivers and patients must renew their physician’s recommendation/certification 45 days prior to the card expiration date. To apply as a caregiver, follow this process:

  1. Retrieve your login credentials for the Medical Marijuana Use Registry from your email. https://knowthefactsmmj.com/patients/cards/#apply
  2. Access the “Your Card” page in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry to complete your online application. https://mmuregistry.flhealth.gov/. You must apply to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR) to become a legal medical marijuana caregiver. https://knowthefactsmmj.com/patients/cards/#how-to-apply
  3. Supply all necessary documentation and submit your payment information for the $75 processing fee.
  4. Once qualified, you will be sent a medical marijuana card.

Please note: at the moment, we can only renew existing medical marijuana patients via telehealth, not process new applications.

How do I apply for the state program in Florida?

Have the following ready before you begin your application:

  • Photo ID
    • The Registry is connected to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ (FLHSMV) demographic database. If there is a match to the information in your profile, your state ID or driver’s license photo can be automatically added to your application and approved.
  • Proof of Residency Documentation
  • $75 payment fee (Plus $2.75 convenience fee)

Here is the process for applying in Florida.

For detailed instructions with images for step 1, click here.

For detailed instructions with images for steps 2 onwards, click here

  1. After your appointment with a Leafwell physician, you will receive 2x emails with the subject line “Medical Marijuana Use Registry New User Account” (here’s a walkthrough for step 1)
    1. One email contains your username (your email address)
    2. The second email contains a temporary password – these passwords are case sensitive
    3. Click the link in the email to log into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry https://mmuregistry.flhealth.gov/.
    4. Click login in the top left and then enter your email, password and click log in button
    5. You will then be able to set your own password – type the temporary password into the ‘current password’ box then set your own
    6. Once this is done, you will be automatically redirected to your registry homepage
  2. Click on ‘Your Card’ and then click ‘Begin Initial Application’ (here’s the walkthrough for steps 2 onwards)
  3. Click ‘Supply a Photo’ to either supply your State ID photo, or to supply your own passport style photo to your application.
    1. Clicking “Check My State ID” will upload your driver’s license photo from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ (FLHSMV) demographic database.
    2. Clicking “Supply My Own” will allow you to upload your own photo from your device. (Using the FLHSMV sourced data will automatically approve the photo and may cut down on processing time, while supplying your own photo may increase the processing time.)
  4. Upload your Proof of Residency documentation.
    1. Click “Check State Residency Status” to obtain your Driver License or Florida State ID from FLHSMV
    2. OR click “Supply My Own” to supply your own proof of residency document
    3. Review all data to make sure it is accurate. Then click “Apply.
  5. Electronically sign your application and click ‘Submit My Card Application
  6. Pay the application fee.
  7. Click “Print for your Records” to print the confirmation of the payment for your records.
  8. The entire application review process takes a total of 10 business days from the date of submission. One the application is approved you will receive an electronic temporary card to use whilst the physical official card is printed. Within 5 business days the official card is mailed to you.