- A medical card can save you money on every marijuana purchase.
- See a healthcare provider on your schedule.
- Pay only $199 for your appointment — and get your money back if not approved!
Register online with Leafwell
Book an appointment with a certified physician here at Leafwell. The certification costs $199.
Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor
During your appointment, a Leafwell physician will ask you questions based on your medical history and provide you with advice and guidance on whether medical marijuana is a good choice for you.
Receive your Certificate from Leafwell
Once approved, you will receive your medical marijuana approval email with further instruction. You must register with the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program. The state will contact your Leafwell physician to confirm your details.
Receive your Card from the State of Delaware
Get your MMJ card and start shopping at a dispensary. It can take between 7 days (1 week) and 35 days (just over a month) to get a medical marijuana card issued, although they are usually issued within 14 days (2 weeks).
Benefits of Having a Medical Card in Delaware
Recreational cannabis use is illegal in Delaware. The state decriminalized possessing up to an ounce in 2015, but residents can still face a $100 fine. As a result, medical cannabis purchases are the only legal access route.
Adult patients with qualifying conditions can enjoy several benefits of having a medical card in Delaware.
- Delaware medical cannabis program allows cardholders to purchase various products, including smokable marijuana, baked goods, infused candy, vapes, concentrates, and capsules.
- Patients can possess up to six ounces of medical cannabis per month without legal risks.
- Qualifying patients under 18 can access this healing therapy legally with caregiver consent and registration.
To qualify for a Delaware medical marijuana card, patients must be 18 or pediatric patients with parental consent. Patients must also receive a diagnosis for a qualifying medical condition and a written certification from a Delaware-licensed MD, DO, APRN, or PA. Finally, patients must apply for a card online or by mail, showing proof of Delaware residency.
Can Minors Get a Medical Card in Delaware?
Qualified pediatric patients under 18 cannot purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary. However, their parents or legal guardian can submit a pediatric patient application to receive a Responsible Party ID card, which authorizes the parent or guardian to buy medical marijuana for their child.
Children under 18 can only receive a pediatric medical marijuana card if their referring physician is a pediatric neurologist, gastroenterologist, oncologist, psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, or palliative care specialist. One of these doctors must also certify that the patient has a terminal illness, intractable epilepsy, or a chronic debilitating disease where conventional treatment has failed. Severe debilitating autism is included in the pediatric qualifying conditions.
A designated caregiver is someone authorized to obtain medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary and assist in dispensing and administering it to a registered patient. Caregivers must apply for a registry identification card that allows them to purchase up to three ounces of medical marijuana every 14 days on behalf of their patient.
Caregivers must apply for a registry card and obtain a state and federal background check, which costs $65 and is valid for three years.
Applicants must meet the following qualifications to qualify for a designated caregiver card:
- Be 21 or be a minor child’s parent or legal guardian
- Have not been convicted of an excluded felony offense
- Have agreed to assist with a patient’s medical use of marijuana and assist no more than five qualifying patients
- Be a Delaware resident with proof of residency (Delaware Driver’s license or state ID)
- Complete the Designated Caregiver Application, which costs $50 and requires the patient’s 10-digit registry number
A caregiver may have up to five patients and must have an ID for each patient.
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Autism/Asperger Syndrome
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain, Muscle Pain and Other Types of Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Fibrosis and Cirrhosis of the Liver
What You’ll Need to Apply
Patients must be Delaware residents to obtain a Delaware medical marijuana card and provide the following documents:
- Proof of age and residency, including a current Delaware photo ID.
- Medical records uploaded to the state website.
- Health care practitioner certification stating the patient will receive therapeutic benefits from medical marijuana use. The statement must specify the patient’s debilitating condition.
Leafwell’s consultation fee is $199, and the state application fee is $50. The state offers a sliding payment scale for patients who demonstrate financial need.
For caregivers, the cost for the application is $50, with an additional $65 background check.
Medical Marijuana Reciprocity
Delaware does not have medical marijuana reciprocity agreements with other states, meaning out-of-state cardholders cannot purchase from dispensaries while visiting. Several other states, however, will accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards: These states include:
- Alaska ^
- Arkansas *
- California ^
- Colorado ^
- Connecticut ^
- Hawaii *
- Illinois ^
- Maryland ^ (as of July 2023)
- Michigan (qualifying state must also have reciprocity with Michigan)
- Missouri ^
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey *
- New Mexico * (recreational cannabis is legal in NM)
- New York ^
- Oklahoma *
- Oregon ^
- Pennsylvania (minors only)
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands *
- Utah (max. 45 days, after which the patient must apply for a Utah MMJ card)
- Vermont ^
- Virginia ^
- Washington ^
- Washington D.C.
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Where to Buy Medical Marijuana in DE
Registered medical marijuana patients with a Delaware medical marijuana card and their caregivers can legally obtain medical-grade marijuana from properly permitted compassion centers. A complete list of licensed compassion centers is available here.
Delaware does not permit medical cannabis patients and caregivers to grow or cultivate marijuana.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Laws to Know
- Medical marijuana is legal in Delaware for qualifying patients.
- Cardholders can access various products, including flower, edibles, vapes, and concentrates.
- Medical cannabis patients can possess up to six ounces of marijuana per month.
- Delaware does not accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards or allow marijuana cultivation, even with a medical marijuana card.
- Pediatric patients can access medical marijuana, but they must meet more stringent requirements and can only possess oils containing at least 15% CBD and no more than 7% THC.
- Patients with anxiety diagnoses can obtain a CBD-rich registry card, accessing CBD-dominant strains only.
Check Leafwell’s Delaware laws page for more in-depth coverage of the state’s medical marijuana rules for patients and caregivers. And if you’re ready to apply for your Delaware MMJ card, schedule a telemedicine appointment with Leafwell today.
ArticlesSee more posts
The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Telehealth services like Leafwell make it easy to get a medical marijuana card, but meeting with a cannabis doctor is only the first part of the process.
What Is It Like to See a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
What is it like to see a medical marijuana doctor? Learn more about the process, and what to expect during your Leafwell visit, in our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Delaware Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?
An online consultation with a licensed healthcare provider for a Delaware medical marijuana card costs $199 with Leafwell. Patients must also pay a separate $50 fee with their state application to the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program.
Here’s an overview of the fees:
- $199 Initial certificate from Leafwell
- $199 Renewal certificate from Leafwell
- $50 State application fee*
($25 reduced fee available with Low Income Charge Request Letter. Requires proof of gross household income at or below 138% of the poverty level.)
The consultation fee includes a 1-year certification, and you’ll only be charged if approved. Plus, now you can sign up with a friend and each save 10% on your consultation with Leafwell.
*State fees are not included with Leafwell fees and are paid directly to the state.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Delaware?
In Delaware, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Anxiety (CBD-rich card only)
- Autism with aggressive behavior
- Chronic debilitating migraine
- Decompensated cirrhosis (often a side-effect of Hepatitis C)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal illness
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures for more than three months, or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects
- Intractable Nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
How does the online evaluation process work for getting a medical marijuana certificate in Delaware?
There are three simple steps to seeing a Leafwell provider in Delaware to obtain your medical marijuana card:
- Create a Leafwell account using a valid email address and choose a password. You’ll then be asked to complete a brief questionnaire of personal and health information and to either take or upload a photograph of identification (Leafwell is required by law to verify your identity). You will need a smartphone, computer, or tablet with a reliable internet connection and a working camera to be seen by a Leafwell provider.
- Next, you will be taken to the virtual waiting room where you’ll be connected with a Leafwell provider for a video chat (i.e., a virtual doctor’s visit). (You will receive a text message to your cell phone when the provider is ready to see you.) During the video chat, the provider will assess your health situation to determine if you qualify for a medical marijuana certification.
- If you are approved for a medical marijuana card, your Leafwell physician will confirm your details with the state. After that, you can complete your state registration and pay the $50 registration fee.
How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Delaware?
You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Delaware. Caregivers must be 21 years of age.
Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Delaware?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Delaware can have a caregiver.
- Caregivers must be at least 21 years old and a Delaware resident.
- Caregivers can manage up to 5 patients. If the patient lacks legal capacity it can be a parent, guardian, or legal custodian.
- A caregiver may be a registered qualifying patient.
- The caregiver is required to do a state and federal background check which costs $65 and is good for three years. No convictions of an excluded felony offense (Class A or B crime, e.g. violent crime.)
- Qualified pediatric patients under the age of 18 cannot purchase medical marijuana from the dispensary. The parent or legal guardian will get a Responsible Party ID card which will authorize them to purchase medical marijuana for their child.
To become a Caregiver in Delaware, follow these steps:
- Complete the caregiver application in its entirety. You will need the patient’s 10-digit registry number to apply. If you plan to be a designated caregiver for multiple patients, you must complete an application for each patient. Applications can be completed online.
- Complete the patient application in its entirety. You can apply online. If you will require a caregiver, ensure that the caregiver completes a caregiver application. Information on how a caregiver can apply can be found here.
- Pay the $50.00 non-refundable fee. There is also a $65.00 for a required background check. If you apply online, there will be a section for payment options. If you are mailing your application, please include a check or money order for $50.00, payable to the State of Delaware.
- You must upload a copy of your Delaware-issued driver’s license or state-issued ID with your application.
How do I apply for the state program in Delaware?
Here’s what you need to do after you’ve been approved by a Leafwell physician:
- Register with the state
- Click here to begin.
- Click on New Program Participants.
- Enter your name, and email and create a password.
- After completing this one-time registration process and verifying your account via e-mail, you can log in.
- Log In
- Log in using the e-mail address and password you established during the registration process.
- Select Patient Application under Applications tab.
- Upload a photo of yourself.
- Fill in all the necessary boxes including Delaware state ID information.
- Fill in the Patient Release Request Form
- Fill in your name, qualifying condition, and Physician’s name – you will find this on your confirmation email from Leafwell after your appointment.
- Date and electronically or manually sign.
- OPTIONAL: Fill out Caregiver Authorization form if applicable
- The patient application fee is $50.00.
- The caregiver application fee is $125.00.
- Patient’s Attestation Statement
- Read the statement and select the radio button to confirm each of the additional statements.
- Click ‘+Upload’ to upload a copy of your identification.
- Once all sections are complete, review the application, sign/date the application, and click ‘Save’ to save and transmit the application.