Coming soon

Get your medical marijuana card in minutes.

You’re applying for

Get approved or your money back

Secure & HIPAA compliant

Trusted by 300k patients

Join the waitlist


How to get a medical card in Alabama - Coming Soon

  1. 1

    Register online with Leafwell

    You cannot get certified for medical marijuana online at this moment in time in Alabama. However, you join the waitlist and we hope to open soon.

  2. 2

    Discuss Medical Marijuana with your Doctor

    Once your appointment has been booked, you can complete your medical marijuana evaluation with a licensed physician.

  3. 3

    Receive your certificate from Leafwell

    Once approved, you’ll be certified by the doctor and receive your certificate.

  4. 4

    Apply for a Card with the State of Alabama

    With the doctor’s approval, you’ll receive your card from the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH).

Trusted by 200k patients

Aaron Belcher

Reno, NV

Talk about EASY!! The whole process took 15 minutes, including the call with the Doctor!!! Amazing!

Aubrey Rhodes

New Haven, CT

Shocked how easy! Kind and understanding, definitely the best way to get your med card.

Danielle Rossi

Cambridge, MA

Incredibly calm and easy experience, will only use Leafwell moving forward and would recommend to anyone!

Benefits of Getting an Alabama Medical Card

Having a valid physician’s medical marijuana certificate and MMJ card is the only way to consume cannabis in Alabama legally.

About Medical Marijuana in Alabama

Alabama’s first cannabis law is known as Carly’s Law and was enacted in 2014. It led to Leni’s Law in 2016 which expanded access dramatically.

  • 2014 – Governor Robert Bentley signs Carly’s Law, which permits the University of Alabama at Birmingham to provide non-psychoactive CBD oil to children with debilitating seizures as a clinical study. THC limits could not exceed 3%.
  • 2016 – Governor Bentley signs Leni’s Law, expanding the affirmative defense to include any individual with a debilitating disease or condition involving seizures. THC content was not allowed to exceed 3%.
  • 2021 – Governor Key Ivey signs Senate Bill 46, the Darren Wesley ‘Ato’ Hall Compassion Act.

Non-medical, recreational, adult use of cannabis is currently illegal in Alabama. Penalties for possession can still be harsh. First-time possession of personal amounts is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in prison, a fine of up to $6000, and a mandatory six-month driver’s license suspension. There were attempts to legalize adult-use cannabis for those aged 21 or over in 2019, but this proved unsuccessful.


How to qualify

It’s not possible to qualify for medical marijuana online in Alabama. You will need to book an appointment and speak to a physician in-person for a medical cannabis evaluation.

You will also need to have a valid ID, proof of residency in Alabama, and medical records as evidence for your condition.

You must be 19 to qualify for medical marijuana for yourself in Alabama.

  1. Information for caregivers:

    Those under 19 will need a caregiver, who should be 21, or the parent or legal guardian of the minor requires medical cannabis.


Medical Conditions

Alabama law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:

Possession and Growing

Doctors can recommend medical cannabis for up to 12 months at a time. In most cases, the daily dosage can’t exceed 50 milligrams of THC or 75 mg per day if the doctor considers it medically appropriate.

Registered patients are permitted to possess a maximum of "70 daily dosages" of medical cannabis at one time. Doses of authorized cannabis products are capped at a maximum of 50 milligrams for the first 90 days.

Products are available in the following forms:

  • Oral tablet, capsule, or tincture
  • Non-sugar coated gelatinous cube, cuboid, or lozenge
  • Gel, oil, cream, or other topical preparation
  • Transdermal patch
  • Nebulizer
  • Liquid or oil only for an inhaler
  • Suppository

Cultivating cannabis is illegal in Alabama, even for medical marijuana patients.


Caregivers

Medical Marijuana patients in Alabama can have a caregiver.

You qualify as a primary caregiver under Alabama marijuana law if:

  1. 01

    you are at least 21 or are the patient’s parent or guardian

Reciprocity

Alabama does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards.

Dispensaries may recognize an Alabama medical marijuana card with medicinal cannabis reciprocity in other states.

The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:

  • Arizona
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Washington, D.C.
Alabama Cannabis Laws
Articles
See more posts

Frequently asked questions in Alabama

    How much does an Alabama Medical Marijuana certificate and card cost?

    We do not provide medical marijuana certificates or cards online for Alabama patients yet. Medical marijuana will likely not be available in Alabama until 2023.

    The application fee for the state is $65.

    What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Alabama?

    In Alabama, the following conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana certificate and card:

    • AIDS/HIV
    • Autism spectrum disorder
    • Cancer-related cachexia, nausea or vomiting, weight loss, or chronic pain
    • Chronic pain
    • Crohn’s Disease
    • Depression
    • Epilepsy or a condition causing seizures
    • Panic disorder
    • Parkinson’s Disease
    • Persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment. Exceptions include: nausea related to pregnancy, cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome or cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
    • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
    • Sickle cell anemia
    • Spasticity associated with a motion neuron disease, including Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis aka Lou Gehrig’s Disease
    • Spasticity associated with multiple sclerosis or a spinal cord injury
    • Terminal illness
    • Tourette’s syndrome
    What do I need to know about applying for my Medical Cannabis Card in Alabama online?

    It is not possible to qualify for a medical marijuana certificate online in Alabama at this time. As this program is new, we have no further details at this time.

    How old do I have to be to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Alabama?

    You must be aged at least 19 in order to qualify for a medical marijuana certificate and card for yourself. Those aged under 19 will need to have a caregiver.

    Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Alabama?

    Yes. Caregivers must be aged 21 or over. Leafwell cannot certify Alabama patients or caregivers at this moment in time.