- Medical Program
Get your medical card online in minutes!Get started
12%Varies by municipality
12 plantsMax 6 mature
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma. Delta-8, delta-10, and other minor cannabinoids manufactured from hemp-derived CBD are also permitted in the state under federal law. However, recreational cannabis possession and use is illegal. Penalties for possessing cannabis can result in a year of incarceration or a fine of up to $1,000. Restrictions also remain on public consumption and driving while intoxicated.
There are many benefits to obtaining your medical cannabis card in Oklahoma. Recreational cannabis remains illegal, so getting your MMJ card allows you to buy cannabis from a dispensary and grow your cannabis at home. Having a medical card also affords some employee protections and other patient rights.
Oklahoma’s medical marijuana program was established in 2019 with the passage of HB 26126. Medical cannabis patients can possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis at their residence, up to 3 ounces of cannabis on their person, up to 1 ounce of cannabis concentrate, and up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana.
Home growing is permitted for certified patients or caregivers. Cardholders pay a 4.50% state tax, 7% excise tax, and local taxes at the register, which usually comes to around 12% of taxes for medical patients, which is relatively low compared to other medical programs in the country. To apply for a medical card, you must be a resident and 18 years or older. Minor patients must have a registered caregiver (18 years or older) apply on their behalf.
Recreational cannabis is illegal in the state, and penalties for possession, cultivation, sale, and distribution include imprisonment and fines. Jail time can range from one year to a life sentence. Fines vary from $1,000 to $50,000 depending on the severity of the crime. In 2023, voters rejected a bill to establish a recreational, adult-use cannabis program in Oklahoma. The bill faced heavy opposition from law enforcement, faith leaders, and prosecutors.
Medical marijuana programs vary quite a bit from state to state. If you are visiting or planning to apply for certification, knowing and understanding the laws and regulations of a specific state’s program is essential.
Oklahoma state law does not specify qualifying conditions. This openness makes it one of the most lenient medical marijuana programs in the United States. It may explain why participation in Oklahoma’s medical marijuana program is high compared to other states.
Each medical marijuana doctor can issue a certificate based on their professional judgment — much like they do when prescribing traditional medications. If you’re not sure if your condition can be helped by medical marijuana, we recommend you research our conditions pages.
Telemedicine is allowed for medical marijuana certification in Oklahoma. If you could benefit from cannabis, book an appointment with one of our online medical marijuana doctors and speak with them about your condition and health goals. Leafwell’s team of professionals will help you step-by-step through the application process and answer any questions you may have.
Out-of-state medical cards are recognized in Oklahoma. Non-Oklahoma residents of any age with a state-issued medical marijuana license must apply for a visitor’s permit valid for up to 30 days to access medical cannabis in Oklahoma. These other states and U.S. territories also have reciprocity laws:
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for the duration of their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Cultivation is legal in Oklahoma for medical cannabis card holders or caregivers. Certified patients or caregivers can grow up to six mature marijuana plants and up to six seedling plants. Cultivation is illegal for Oklahomans without a medical card and can incur harsh penalties.
Medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma, but recreational cannabis is not. Cannabis products that contain CBD and cannabinoids manufactured from hemp-derived CBD, such as delta-8 THC, THC-O, and HHC, are also legal in Oklahoma as permitted by federal law.
Cultivation, possession, or use of cannabis without a medical card is still criminalized.