- Fully legal
3 oz3 oz every 30 days purchase limit
6 oz1 oz purchase limit
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Both medical and adult use of cannabis is legal in New Jersey. N.J. has a medical marijuana program.
Governor Jon Corzine signed several bills into law on his last day in office, including S. 119, the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act, permitting the use of medical cannabis.
“Medical use” means the acquisition, possession, cultivation, manufacture, use, delivery, transfer, or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia relating to a qualifying patient’s consumption of marijuana to alleviate the symptoms or effects of the patient’s debilitating medical condition.”
Under New Jersey’s medical-marijuana law, up to six alternative treatment centers receive contracts from the state. These centers, which must be nonprofit, have the exclusive right to produce and sell medical marijuana in New Jersey.
2017 – 2019
Legislative debate on recreational cannabis legalization, with efforts to legalize recreational cannabis failing
NJ A21 (20R) legalizes recreational cannabis. The Bill is now passed after clearing up laws regarding underage penalties.
April 21, 2022 – Legal recreational, adult-use cannabis sales begin. Those aged 21 or over may legally purchase cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
The New Jersey law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
With Leafwell, you can get your New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:
You must be 18 or older to qualify for medical marijuana in New Jersey for yourself, but those under 18 can qualify as minors if they have a caregiver. There was significant controversy in New Jersey regarding medical marijuana for children in New Jersey (“Pot for Tots“), but provisions were made in 2013. It is now possible for those under 18 to qualify for medicinal cannabis in N.J.
A patient certified for medicinal marijuana may elect to have up to two caregivers if needed. A caregiver can be used if a patient’s condition is too severe to the point where they cannot physically go to their alternative treatment center (ATC) alone. Caregivers must be aged 18 or over. Further guidelines can be read here.
“The use of medical marijuana shall be permitted on school grounds, on a school bus, on a field trip, and at a school-sponsored function to authorized students enrolled in Department of Children and Families (DCF) Regional Schools.
As defined in this policy, a parent, guardian, or primary caregiver shall be the only individual who may administer medical marijuana to their child.
A student 18 years of age or older may self-administer medical marijuana according to the conditions of this policy.
Medical marijuana shall be in a non-smokable and non-inhalation form for students.” See here for more information.
Benefits of being certified for medical cannabis and having a valid medical marijuana I.D. card in New Jersey include a special checkout line in dispensaries specifically for medical cardholders; no sales taxes on dispensary purchases; higher purchase limits; fewer restrictions in terms of purchasable THC products; lower age restrictions (18 as opposed to 21); better deals on products at dispensaries; arguably better, more well-developed legal protection.
Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.
Yes, telemedicine is legal in New Jersey, and you can get certified for cannabis online.
It is illegal to cultivate cannabis in New Jersey, even if you have a valid medical marijuana card.
New Jersey recognizes medical marijuana cards from other states in the U.S. (including its territories), and New Jersey has medical marijuana reciprocity. Those aged 21 or over with valid I.D.s can now purchase cannabis from a licensed dispensary in New Jersey without a medical marijuana identification card.
A New Jersey medical marijuana card is recognized by some other states with medical marijuana reciprocity, and New Jersey itself is a state that has medical marijuana reciprocity. However, most states do not have such laws on their books.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is acceptable) – just that the state’s medical marijuana laws protect you to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and intend to purchase medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also accountable to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing visiting patients to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
New Jersey employers may not refuse to hire or take any adverse action against employees based solely on their use (or non-use) of recreational or medical cannabis. An employer may not terminate an employee solely because they fail a drug test due to cannabis use. However, this does not permit cannabis use when at work, and service must not affect safety or performance. State medical cannabis laws do not necessarily protect those who are working under the rules of the federal government.
The Alternative Treatment Center permit number (ATC) will be labeled clearly on each sample container. The sample container should also be marked with a description and quantity of its content. In the cannabis laboratory, the samples will be tested for pests, pesticides, mold, heavy metals, and mildew. The ATC that is being tested is required to pay for the cost of all lab analyses.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy or another legally designated space to buy cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can do so. In New Jersey, dispensaries are referred to as “Alternative Treatment Centers.” Recreational cannabis enthusiasts aged 21 or over with valid I.D. may purchase marijuana at a licensed dispensary.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or other such healthcare space is also illegal. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense, generally keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.