- Medical Program
2.5 ozPending program becoming live
Get approved by a doctor, then apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Only those with a valid medical marijuana certificate and card may consume cannabis legally in Mississippi. Adult use is currently illegal, and cannabis has been decriminalized in Mississippi.
House Bill 1231, Harper Grace’s Act, legalized CBD oil.
Initiative 65 legalizes medical marijuana.
The Mississippi Supreme Court overturns Initiative 65. The decision cited a fundamental flaw in the state’s ballot initiative process, making it impossible for any citizen-initiated measure to qualify for the ballot.
Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves signed a bill to legalize medical marijuana on February 2nd, 2022.
Recreational cannabis use is illegal in Mississippi. The Mississippi Marijuana Legalization Amendment will be voted for in 2022.
The Mississippi law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
Initial patient certifications must be done in person – however, Leafwell can organise your appointment via our website, and guide you through the state applications. Renewals and follow-ups can be completed online. Here’s how to complete your initial consultation and get approved
Telemedicine is allowed once an in-person consultation has taken place. So initial certifications must be in-person and follow ups and renewals with the same provider can be completed online.
Medical card holders may carry up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis every 14 days (2 weeks).
Growing cannabis plants is illegal in Mississippi.
Mississippi does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and so does not recognize medical marijuana cards or certificates from other states.
A Mississippi medical marijuana card will be recognized in other states with a medical marijuana program that allows for reciprocity.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is acceptable) – just that the state’s medical marijuana laws protect you to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and intend to purchase medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also accountable to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing visiting patient application to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
Employers are not required to accommodate the use of medical marijuana at their place of employment, and the rules will be further refined in due course.
Medical cannabis in Mississippi must be tested for cannabinoid content, pesticides, mycotoxins, pollutants, and mold.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy or another legally designated space to buy cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can do so.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or other such healthcare space is also unlawful. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense, keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.