- Medical Program
Table of contents
Medical cannabis is legal in Florida, but recreational marijuana use remains prohibited.
Former Governor Rick Scott signed Senate Bill 1030 into law in 2014, known as the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act. This legislation legalized low-THC, high-CBD cannabis oil produced from the strain of cannabis known as Charlotte’s Web.
The Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative — Amendment 2 — was implemented in 2016 and legalized medical marijuana treatment in Florida.
A legislative session in June 2017 resulted in the passage of Senate Bill 8A, the Medical Use of Marijuana Act, which added guidelines for medical marijuana accessibility in the state. It also established the Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) and officially created the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
Patients with a physician’s recommendation or certified caregivers can obtain medical cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries. The Florida state government changed possession limits in an August 2022 emergency ruling.
The emergency ruling allows qualified physicians to issue up to three 70-day supply limits for marijuana and six 35-day supply limits for smokable cannabis products.
The equivalent daily dose and 70-day supply limits for approved routes of administration are:
|Cannabis Product||Daily Limit||Maximum Per 70- or 35-Day Period|
|Edibles||60 mg THC||4,200 mg THC per 70-day supply|
|Vapes||350 mg THC||24,500 mg THC per 70-day supply|
|Oral Capsules/Tinctures||200 mg THC||14,000 mg THC per 70-day supply|
|Sublingual Tinctures||190 mg THC||13,300 mg THC per 70-day supply|
|Suppositories||195 mg THC||13,650 mg THC per 70-day supply|
|Topical Creams||150 mg THC||10,500 mg THC per 70-day supply|
|Smokeable||2.025 g||4 ounces per 35-day period|
Physicians may request an exception to the medical cannabis limits with the OMMU.
Florida law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
In addition, physicians can approve patients for medical cannabis if they have a terminal condition diagnosed by another physician.
Florida’s medical marijuana program only allows telehealth consultations for patients who were previously certified by a Leafwell physician. Unfortunately, Leafwell cannot help first-time patients in the Sunshine State via our online medical platform.
Patients that are new to the medical marijuana program must obtain a recommendation from a qualified physician in person who is registered with the OMMU. Patients must apply for a Medical Marijuana Use Registry Identification Card through the OMMU after receiving a medical cannabis recommendation.
Patients must continue to meet medical standards for the qualification and be seen by their prescribing physician every 30 weeks.
Florida does not have medical marijuana reciprocity, meaning it doesn’t recognize medical marijuana cards from other states. Out-of-state patients must obtain a Florida medical marijuana card to use medical cannabis within the state legally.
That said, several other states recognize a Delaware medical marijuana card:
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application for their stay.
States marked with ^ have adult use programs but do not accept out-of-state cards.
Medical cannabis patients cannot use marijuana in certain places, including:
Using low-THC CBD products is allowed.
You can carry medical cannabis with you if you have a medical card, but you cannot use it publicly.
Medical marijuana use prohibits you from obtaining a weapons permit in Florida, as the federal government considers medical marijuana as a Schedule 1 controlled substance, which is against federal law.
It is illegal to grow cannabis in Florida, even with a valid medical marijuana card. Patients must purchase medical cannabis from a licensed Florida Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (dispensary).
While medical marijuana is legal in Florida for qualified patients with specific conditions, recreational use remains illegal. Cultivating cannabis at home is prohibited, even for medical marijuana patients. It’s essential to stay informed about Florida’s marijuana laws and the potential consequences of breaking them to ensure you’re using cannabis responsibly and legally.
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Florida can have a caregiver. Caregivers will complete their own application form and must also be listed on the patient’s application form. Caregivers and patients must renew their physician’s recommendation/certification 45 days prior to the card expiration date.
Here’s how to apply as a caregiver:
Please note: at the moment, we can only renew existing medical marijuana patients previously approved with Leafwell via telehealth and not process initial applications.
Some states recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards, allowing non-resident patients to purchase medicine. This is called medical marijuana reciprocity.
The following states accept out-of-state medical cannabis cards, including a Florida medical marijuana card:
States marked with * require visitors to complete a visiting patient application.
The following states have recreational cannabis for those 21 and older but do not accept out-of-state cards:
Have the following ready before you begin your application:
For detailed instructions with images for step 1, click here.
For detailed instructions with images for steps 2 onwards, click here.